We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying a couple of days in SD.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoying a couple of days in SD.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Even though it's in the middle of a remodel the staff was very friendly. The remodel will probably effect prices in the long run but the room cost was very reasonable considering the great location. Easy location to get to all of San diego's events from.

Room Tip: Even the partial view rooms, bayside, have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    490
    134
    48
    20
See reviews for
408
616
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the Bay Club for the first time. The location was great, service was great & the views were awesome. The only downside was the construction which did not bother us since we were gone for most of the day touring San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillywilly1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Speedy check in with a friendly receptionist. Room was lovely, fresh and airy. The bathroom and sink were separate which was convenient. The bed was also very comfy.
We ate in the restaurant the first night- the food was great and the waiter was super friendly and helpful. Tip- the mains come with soup or a salad and are great value.
The hotel has a lovely pool and hot tub overlooking the marina. Hot tub stays open til11.
There is a $5 charge for parking a night- think doing away with this would add to the hotel.
Breakfast was included and served a range of hot (eggs, bacon, sausages, French toast, potatoes, toast etc) and cold (fruit, mini-muffins, Danish etc) food. Tea, coffee and juice are served at your table. You can eat on the balcony facing the marina.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishments and there was some noise as we were eating breakfast but it was finished each evening we came back.
Receptionist helped with ideas of what to do and where to go to eat etc.
The views of the city are amazing. Th hotel is a 15-20 min drive to the city centre, zoo and sea world.
Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing front on second floor have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aindyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been staying at the Bay Club for over 15 years. We stay there at least twice year, so that should say something!. They are undergoing refurbishments currently. The room we stayed in had been updated with new carpeting, drapes, and bedding. The only down side to rooms with 2 queen beds is that there is only lighting for one side of the beds (middle area) and nightstand. I did bring in the small plastic table from the balcony for my husband to use as a place to set his book, water and book lights on his side of the bed. The grand daughter had the other bed, so no need for additional table on that side. A/C seemed quiet and worked on digital setting, not a dial, that's always a plus. Breakfast room was undergoing a "redo" so breakfast was set up in a conference room. Breakfast includes scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, breads., fruit and some muffins as well as juice and coffee. Just wish they had a frequent stayer program.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies, marina side is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Ca
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I paid the highest rate I have ever paid. Nothing was said about major construction being done (jack hammers, etc.) Had scheduled a business meeting in the D/R which was torn up. Forgot my toothbrush, went to the lobby store - no toiletries whatsoever (1st time since coming here), barely anything was in the store at all. I asked if they had a complimentary toothbrush for guests who forgot, "NO". Even the cheapest hotels offer this. I am so upset as I always recommend this hotel and it's the only hotel I ever stay at. So upset at how much I paid for this.

Room Tip: Don't forget to bring anything, especially if you don't have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRaffety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our first trip to San Diego, CA. I found this Hotel on a Hotel website and read the reviews. Everything was true about the description. We really liked our King size Bed/Room with a balcony that overlooked the pool and marina. This was a trip for my daughter and I and the room was full of big mirrors and even a magnified one in the bathroom. We loved that for getting dressed! It was very roomy with a very comfortable bed and nice furniture and a big flat screen TV too. The room was on the 2nd floor and I think there was only 3 or 4 floors at most, which always makes me feel safer. The pool area was very nice and clean with fresh towels available and a nice size hot tub too. Every morning breakfast was offered and was simply delicious (try the salsa!).Staff was exceptional and friendly! A very nice location with nice walking paths right by the Bay. We saw seals swimming there on a walk one day. It was a great price too! Later in the trip, we stayed at a higher end Hotel in the downtown area and didn't like it as much as we liked the room here. The only thing we noticed was that the lobby area was outdated, but when we were leaving the hotel in March, 2014, they had just began renovations and updates. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: King size Bed/Room on the second floor overlooking the pool and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived to find the lobby under renovations, but the staff got us checked in just fine in spite of the makeshift check in desk. Actually the renovations really didn't interfere with our stay at all since it was just in the lobby. We had a nice big room, and really enjoyed sitting on the deck staring at the boats in the marina. There is a concert venue not far from the hotel, Humphreys By the Bay (?)and we really enjoyed listening to the live music from the deck- got a free Rob Thomas concert which was a nice bonus. When we closed the sliding windows, the music didn't bother us at all but it added to the pleasant evenings on the deck. Great breakfast and we walked to a nice seafood place on Shelter Island for dinner one night from the hotel. A good value, not too fancy but neat and clean and a friendly staff and shuttle driver who dropped us off nr the Gas Lamp district for $10

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermomhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#58 of 278 in San Diego
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#32 of 278 in San Diego
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing