We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is old San Diego at its finest. The staff where amazing and friendly. The bed was soft and like sleeping in my own bed. The room was large with a huge window that opened up three ways to the bay. All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend highly

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We enjoy staying at the Bay Club because of it's terrific location and comfortable rooms. Being right in Shelter Island provides such beautiful surroundings, and great spot for walking and exercise. My only suggestion would be to provide more soap for washing in the rooms. We will indeed come back again since some of our kids and grandkids live near there and we love the location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We come to San Diego about every other month from Phoenix. We love staying at the Bay Club Hotel!! The new renovations are beautiful. We love the friendly staff and the views are so amazing!!! This will be our number one choice every time we visit San Diego!!!

Room Tip: The marina side is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The view just takes your breath away! Wall to wall windows with a sliding glass door that opens up to the spacious patio overlooking the marina. We had one of the newly renovated rooms and it was beautiful, bright and airy. After the renovations are complete this hotel will receive an "excellent" rating. A very friendly, helpful staff and a hot breakfast every morning makes for a great start to the day. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi in the evening and had cocktails in the bar by the fireplace afterward so the end of the day was perfect! And the bed was extremely comfortable. We absolutely cannot wait to return to San Diego and Bay Club Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanblueandgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our room was just renovated, so it was spotless. We had a king second floor facing the marina. The view was nice. The bartender, John, got to know us when we stopped in for our evening cocktail - great guy! I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel. Reasonable price, great location, friendly staff!

Room Tip: Loved 2nd floor marina view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved our two overnight stays! They have a beautiful marina to view on one side and on the other, a beautiful bay with a long walking path. They have a terrific hot breakfast and a timely, free shuttle to the airport. The bed was comfortable and the room large and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Been coming to this charming Bayfront Hotel for years! I have consistantly been pleased with the level of service, warmth and class, the Resort operates by. Lately, there have been a few disappointments with their current 'staffing' that are making our ongoing choice of this property, 'dicey'. There are after all, other hotels up & down the Island from which to patronize including the one @ very end of the cul de sac, which has recently undergone massive rennovation & is getting rave reviews. When staying at the 'BC' we always love 'Joe' the friendly Front Desk guy - he is consistantly helpful, cheerful and kind; has shuttled us to and from the Airport likewise, on many occassions. Always has a smile, and a pleasant tone, a true asset to the Hotel. THEN there is another longtime (female) Deskperson 'Patty' - who usually looks like she's swallowed a lemon whole - via her surly, impatient demeanor. No one needs this as a 'first impression' (or last) when dealing with Front Desk staff, truly. She often acts as if you're 'bothering her' upon the slightest request which I was rudely dismissed by, and has limited Public Relations skills @ best - as I myself work within that Industry. We're amazed at how she remains an (ongoing) part of the BC team for so long, considering! Another fantastic 'BC' Employee whom me and my family used to adore over in the restaurant as (1) example, was abrubtly dismissed last Spring for a minor infraction by comparison, to dim Customer-Relations skills. So how is it I wonder, Mngmnt. can overlook 'this' particular woman, working right on the front-lines of the Hotel....? Seems very in-consistant in policy. A class in 'Warmth 101' - might be a good place to begin though personalities are born, not made. We're loyal to the Bay Club over the years but were very put off by our Valentine's Day-Wknd. encounter w/ this woman and simply suggest, that Corp. Mngmnt. do better. We expect much better - or frankly our money will spend better, elsewhere. NO one likes a sour-puss at the front desk. If it's "too much for you to handle graciously, do the Guests a favor & stay out of public view".

Room Tip: Anything facing the Bayfront, where boat-watching from the Rooms is an activity all unto itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 278 in San Diego
1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#47 of 278 in San Diego
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $132 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing