We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely views, but slightly dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #52 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely views, but slightly dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a room on the top floor facing the marina. The room was very quiet with a lovely view over the large marina out the rear of the hotel. Our room was a very good size, had heaps of natural light (entire outside of room was glazed), and also had good lighting at night. The room did have the dreaded adjoining room door, but we never hard anyone next door via this door. The hotel room was however somewhat dated, this in no way affected the comfort of our stay. The bedding and some of the linen was well worn. The staff at the hotel were always extremely friendly. The hotel has two attached food areas, the bar and restaurant. Breakfast was held between both spaces and the free breakfast used non disposable plates, had table service and a limited but changing selection of hot food. The breakfast selection was not as great as some we have been to, but not a problem to get a good feed. In the evenings the hotel has a happy hour between (if my memory serves me correctly) 17:00 and 19:00 when there are free bar snacks some discounted drinks and very reasonably priced meals. The normal restaurant also has very reasonably priced meals helped by being able to ask for a 20% discount voucher from reception every time you go to the restaurant. The only other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel are attached to hotels and are few in number. The hotel has plenty of parking both outside the hotel and covered underground parking. The hotel is in a good location, but nothing is really within walking distance. The walk around the ocean side Shelter Island is very pleasant. There was a reasonable amount of air traffic from the nearby Navy base, but aircraft seemed to rarely pass over the marine side of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish for a city view pick an ocean side room, the city is however a long way away, on this si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    454
    126
    46
    20
See reviews for
386
571
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Loved our three night stay at Bay Club. The bay view from the second floor was terrific, so many boats! Everyone who works there was very friendly and helpful. It really felt like entering a home when you came into the lobby. The staff there is obviously proud of the place and they keep things very clean. We hope to go back again next time!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is in one of the most desirable locations in San Diego - Shelter Island. Absolutely beautiful setting, with the Marina one on side and the Big Bay (ocean) on the other. We stayed at the neighbor hotel, Island Palms, on a previous trip but thought we would try the Bay Club this time. Although the view of the Marina was spectacular, the rooms are screaming to be renovated. Old furniture, bed, carpet, bathroom tile grout dirty & unsealed... Bar area needs expanding to accommodate more people. This hotel was probably super sweet 25 years ago, but a major overhaul of the rooms and common areas is desperately needed. Next trip out, we will return to the new buildings at the Island Palms next door.

Room Tip: The hotel is only two stories. We prefer the marina view, but the other side looks out on the San D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice hotel...not too far from airport. Free shuttle. Rooms are very large, with mini fridges.
Beautiful location between bay ans marina. Nice free breakfast in the morning. Staff was all very warm and helpful.

Room Tip: Something on an upper floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSkykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed there two nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We came out from Colorado. The hotel was lovely. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. The pool and hot tub were very clean an we enjoyed using them both. The room was a little dated, as was the entire hotel, but clean and comfortable. Also, it was so nice to have a patio right outside our room to enjoy a water view and sunshine with our coffee in the morning.
Also, the complimentary hot breakfast was an added bonus. Not only was it delicious, but it helped us save a little money on one less meal out and having to find places to have breakfast seeing as we are not familiar with the area. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSM, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a our 5th or 6th stay at the Bay Club over the last 25 years. We've enjoyed it each time. The location and hot breakfast included is our biggest draw. It's off the beaten path on a nice, out of the way location, but close enough to all the San Diego Tourist Locations. Literally, less than 20-30 minutes to everything San Diego has to offer. We always select the 2nd floor (only has 2 floors) Bay View. You can clearly see the downtown city of San Diego and it looks great at night. If you are into relaxing with quiet strolls along the water edge, biking casually, or taking it easy just watching sail boats go by, this is a great place. The hotel itself is older but well maintained and kept. It's a smaller place - as compared to a high rise with hundreds of rooms. We consider it simple, friendly atmosphere, very friendly staff, and a nice place to come back to after a time roaming the city sights. As the years have gone by, we've only noticed slight changes, but nothing that is earth shaking... parking is now $5 a day; breakfast choices are slightly less than previous years but still, it's included in the price. It is a "buffet like, hot food choices, with a nice breakfast dining room with good views of the Marina. Rooms have a small refrigerator which comes in handy and the large, flat screed tv's. Each room has a comfortable size porch for relaxing and taking in the nice views. All-in-all, we like it and would come back time and time again. We've been coming for 25 years and nothing has changed our mind yet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The people at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly, in fact everyone at the Hotel was very friendly. Happy hour in the bar was excellent and the bartender, John, was funny and very efficient. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised how good the food was. The dinner rolls were some of the best we had ever had. The view of the harbor and downtown San Diego from our room couldn't be beat. The next time we visit San Diego we will be sure to stay at the Bay Club Hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a bigger balcony and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm-in-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina. Our scenic waterfront location is conveniently close to the airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence from 2011 through 2015. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, fantastic restaurant and lounge and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch plasma HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Don't forget to ask about our massage therapy services. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast from our brand new menu, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our fantastic selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our Dinner for 2 package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing