We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #50 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
“Relaxing Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I could not have chosen a better hotel for our vacation than the Bay Club Hotel. Shelter Island is a very relaxing spot, with walking trails and the harbor right across the street from the hotel. The staff at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful and the shuttle service can't be beat. The restaurant in the hotel was good and there were several other restaurants within walking distance. The room was a good size and clean and the views were great. My husband enjoyed watching the ships in the harbor from our balcony. We will definitely return to this hotel; I wish we could be there now!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    449
    122
    46
    20
See reviews for
383
564
42
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at the Bay Club was fantastic! The hotel is a little dated, however, the rooms were a great size, and the beds were comfortable. All of the rooms have a great view whether it is the marina or the bay. The location is excellent!! (We made smores across the way on the beach. There are bonfire pits!! ) Dinner at the restaurant was delicious, and the ingredients were extremely fresh. Clam chowder was phenomenal!! Breakfast and the service was delicious also! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in Bay Club for one night after a long flight from London. As a stopover before the start of our holiday it could not be beaten. Easy to get there, fab view of the marina and a good size room. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the views from the breakfast room were great - a lovely way to start a holiday. They did add a charge for the cot that I had requested in my booking. When we were not charged at any of the other hotels I booked this felt a little strange. But this is a minor gripe - all in all a great hotel. My only other slight ngetaive would be I'm not sure it is 'special' enough to spend 7/14 days there.

Room Tip: Marina side and high up - but most looked pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Bay club for our last 2 nights in the US. It was a nice way to end our trip. Check in was easy, and the staff were extremely helpful. We had a corner room on the second floor with great views. The room was large and plenty of room. Everything was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, enough to choose from including fresh fruit,cereal, eggs, sausage. We were fortunate enough to be able to use our hotel club points, and they had a special sale thru TA so we ended up only paying $180 for our two nights, so for us it was great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Bay Club and feel it is the only place we will stay when we return to San Diego. I booked a bay view room,( which was good size), and we were happy to see that our room had a city view, which we weren't expecting. It was beautiful at night. It was very easy to get to everything we wanted to do within minutes, so a great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly, in fact one let me take 2 shirts from the gift shop to try on in my room so I could choose the correct size. What service! Breakfast was enough to get us going in the morning, the fresh fruit was delicious! I hope we can return to San Diego and would definitely stay at the Bay Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

hotel has a great view. Breakfast and coffee need most improvement. the cleanliness of the room was sufficient. check in was terrible. check out was great. Amanda was what made the place tolerable, she pretty much helped us do everything we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Great views :) almost everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuval b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel has a superb staff, good breakfast, great view, delicious dinner menu, and a beautiful view of San Diego bay. . . .the water, plus naval vessels, and cruise ships. As an alternative, they offer a marina view, which is probably very quiet. The room rate was fair (check their specials!) and Shelter Island is close to many area attractions. Great happy hour with lower price drinks and half price appetizers. Their house wine is very good. The hotel is not new, but there are definitely some recent updates. Our second floor room had a small, private balcony. The view from the dining room and bar looks out over a marina. This was a quiet hotel and we like that aspect. We would recommend it to anyone traveling in the area. This hotel takes good care of their guests. Deloris M

Room Tip: If you want a good bay view, ask for the second floor. Room 203 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deloris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#4 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina. Our scenic waterfront location is conveniently close to the airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence from 2011 through 2015. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, fantastic restaurant and lounge and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch plasma HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Don't forget to ask about our massage therapy services. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast from our brand new menu, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our fantastic selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our Dinner for 2 package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing