We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and excellent service, especially from shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #49 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed the stay, it was a beautiful location,
We enjoyed hot served breakfast and shuttle service.
We will certainly recommand other friends and family.
It was very convinient to the airport.
Niely maintained landscape.

Rooms were large and beautiful view from the window.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pravingohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
There are newer reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The view was great, the service was fantastic. The dinner was very good and the only thing I would suggest for the breakfast is that the potatoes could have been warmer. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrilliantBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very friendly staff and an exceptionally friendly waitress/bartender in their on-site restaurant. Nice decor, clean rooms. Buffet breakfast wasn't the best, but it was free. They have a few hot items, as well as muffins, fresh fruit, bread for toast, and cold cereal. For a fee, you can order bacon, eggs and a a couple other items not offered. My husband loves boats so it was great to look out of our room window and see the marina.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyparrotbreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Great location! Close to downtown, Sea World, and other tourist attractions. Can walk across the street to the park. My husband loves to watch the cruise ships and smaller boats there and from our room.
Free breakfast is good and wait staff is great.
Had problem with the cable tv in our room during our stay, but we were given a credit on our final bill. Staff did all they could to remedy the situation and their efforts were appreciated. Cable man was arriving as we were checking out. Nice that management was trying to fix the problem, instead of just ignoring it.
Even with the cable glitch, had a nice stay. Will stay there again if we have an opportunity

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironmdn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First, the hotel is in the best location between the bay and marina. You can't get a bad view but I prefer the upper rooms. The hotel is clean and pretty much updated. Breakfast is included with a different menu each day.
My only compaint would be that bedding such as a mattress pad that covers the whole mattress is not there. The pad under the sheet doesn't cover the mattress and I don't like sheets on a bare mattress. The sheets and towels were in good shape or new and average or above average quailty. The water pressure is good and plenty of hot water.Service from the hotel staff was OK. Requests aren't taken too serious and you may have to ask and 2nd time for extra towels or bedding.
I would stay there again because of the location and the price. It's a cool hotel with ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good Hotel, friendly staff overall a Good experience!! You get what you Pay, nice if you don't want to stay downtown, rooms are ok and breakfast was included
Only a little noisy when it is fog outside and the Marine ships blow the horn at 4 am...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Idyllic setting, beautiful views over the marina. Staff friendly & accommodating to our every need. Room very well maintained, good decor, comfortable bed. Had dinner on our first night, very good waitress service, salad wonderful, food not too bad, lets it down a little, 3.5/5 standard.

Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $142 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing