We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable hotel in a nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #46 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Bay Club Hotel and found it perfect for our needs. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, immaculately clean, and quiet. We had a lovely view of the Marina - it was like looking out at a Monet painting every morning and evening. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Self-parking is convenient and reasonable. We were fortunate to be there the evening of the San Diego Bay "Parade of Lights", with 80 boats, fully decked out in Christmas lights and decorations, floating right past the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our week, and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaDawnD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    462
    129
    46
    20
See reviews for
392
584
46
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Quiet hotel. Room was very clean, although dated...bottom of doors chipped, bathroom grout, etc. Most rooms either have a nice view of the marina or of the bay. AC/Heater unit in the room sounded like a rocket launching every time it started. On the up side, the room heated up quickly. On the down side, it woke my wife and I up everytime it started overnight. Breakfast buffet offers lots of options, food quality is average...but was complimentary which was nice. $5 day to park is certainly reasonable, but interesting considering breakfast is free every day. They offer a free WiFi which was spotty in our room and won't let you download certain things (app updates, for example). However they are more than happy to sell you a premium WiFi for a per day charge. Again, not a huge deal, just frustrating when it lists "free WiFi". All in all, I may or may not stay here again...would depend on the deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a candid review of our hotel. In order for us to best serve our guests, it is important to hear not only what we do well but the areas in which we have opportunity for improvement. We are certainly glad to hear that you found our hotel quiet, very clean, with nice views and many options for breakfast. In fact, in regards to recent comments from our guests, you may be interested to know that we have changed our breakfast format to one with a fresh, daily hot special and sides accompanied by continental items (oatmeal, fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, toast, juices, etc.).

We are sorry to hear that you experienced challenges with our WiFi service. In order to ensure all of our guests have access to the service, our complimentary WiFi service is primarily designed for checking email and light web browsing. We do offer a paid option if you would like to download music, stream videos or other uses which require more bandwidth. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to San Diego.

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We always stay here when in San Diego, Everything about the place is great....location, parking, rooms, breakfast included, nice restaurant and bar. Room is spacious and bright with a view. Can't recommend it highly enough>

Room Tip: We like bayview w/porch on 2nd floor. Even close to elevator where we were is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelLesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great hopitality and a wonderful location. They were very knowledgable with all areas we asked about. They would call a cab for us when needed. Sunday evenings in December there is the parade of lights on the bay. Numerous boat are decorated and they parade in front of the hotel. It was very festive. It was a very clean hotel. The restaurant staff were also very accomodating with special requests.We would definitely stay again. We felt very comfortable there. Very much worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsylassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a nice quiet room on 2 floor with marina view. Room and hotel overall were very cleaned and well maintained . Staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Airport transportation is also complimentary. Location is also great: close to public transportation, downtown, airport. A lot of good restaurants in walking distance. Our favorite was Umi sushi. I would certainly recommend this hotel. Hotel parking is 5$/day which is pretty cheap.. Wifi is complementary too.
I was surprised they charge for local calls 50c

Room Tip: Marina view on 2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUFFALO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here over thanksgiving and we almost don't want to write a review, because we don't want everyone to find out about this place! It was very nice. Stayed alot of places in San Diego and this was by far the best. Awesome location on shelter island with walking distance to great food. Its a small place so don't have to deal with crowds of people. Parking was reasonable unlike alot of other places in San Diego. Room was modern, all amenities you need. Breakfast was great with a nice view of the harbor while you eat. The staff was SUPER friendly, always greeting you and smiling. Pool and hot tub are older, but work fine and were clean. We travel to San Diego 2 to 3 times a year and will be staying here very time from now on. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: The bridgatine and Miguel's are close with good food. And if you want a drink that will make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is our go-to place to stay when we visit our son and d-i-l in San Diego! The rooms are comfortable, the people are welcoming, the views are awesome! Every morning there is a freshly cooked breakfast awaiting you- eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, bagels, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee and more. We also enjoy eating nearby at the Bali Hai restaurant where we enjoy watching the sun set over the Bay and the lights come on over the city. There are unique shops in the area as well as stores for your basic needs. You feel like you're on your own little island!

Room Tip: We have stayed on the Bay side and on the Marina side- we like both! We do like the 2nd- 3rd floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave a five-star review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that we are your "go-to place to stay" when visiting San Diego! We aim to make every guest feel at home and we are so glad that you do. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all that Shelter Island has to offer. The next time you visit, be sure to stop by our Bay Club Bar & Grill, just off the lobby, and enjoy a sandwich, burger, steak, seafood, pasta ... no matter what you choose, you can't go wrong! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina. Our scenic waterfront location is conveniently close to the airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence from 2011 through 2015. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, fantastic restaurant and lounge and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch plasma HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Don't forget to ask about our massage therapy services. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast from our brand new menu, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our fantastic selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our Dinner for 2 package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing