We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place with great people”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The facility is great, the staff was top shelf, location is awesome, will go back just to stay there, very nice area of San Diego, beach across the street with nightly beach fires, great food and drink in hotel, awesome food at nearby Point Loma Seafood, free breakfast was great, the entire staff was friendly, helpful, not pushy at all but there whenever you need them, great value for

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear "Ghostroller",

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! It is so nice to hear that you found our staff to be "top shelf" and our location "awesome". We look forward to your next visit with us!

Warmly,

Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    490
    134
    48
    20
See reviews for
408
616
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Bay Club several times over the years and have always enjoyed that time. The last visit was about 5 years ago. We were very disappointed with this visit. During this stay the adjoning hotel (Humphres) on consecutive nights had concert bands playing so loud that we could not enjoy sitting on our rooms deck and enjoy the evenings. When I questioned your front desk I was told "that is was all o.k. with your hotel.......besides it only lasts until 10:30 pm to 11 pm" ? Note, that the noise was so loud that we could not shut it out by closing the windows.
Also the quality of your breakfast buffet was not as good as in the past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear "Bob O.",

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Bay Club Hotel. While I am certainly glad to hear that you have stayed with us several times over the years and "always enjoyed that time", I was very disappointed to learn that your most recent stay did not go so well. I do apologize that the music from the lounge next door was a disturbance to you. I am also sorry that the person with whom you spoke at the front desk did not better explain how we typically handle these situations. We would have been happy to call next door to find out if they could lower the volume. If not, we certainly would have been happy to find you another room nearby. A 3-star rating on TripAdvisor is rare for us, and disheartening. I can assure you we take feedback from our guests very seriously and are focused on resolving problems when they are brought to our attention promptly.

When planning your next visit, please contact me directly so that I may personally handle your reservation and ensure we find the room that is just right for you.

Thank you again for your time. I look forward to hearing from you, and to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
(619) 224-8888 ext 318
aaron@bayclubhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked the Bay Club for ten nights and we could not have been happier with our choice. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly and professional. the room was clean and it had a great view of the harbor where we could watch ships and boats pass by from our balcony. The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinners we had at the hotel were excellent. Far enough away from downtown to avoid the noise but within 10-15 minutes from everything in the city.
We would without a doubt stay there again.

Joe & Lynn G.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppa1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear "poppa1014",

Thank you so much for your recent five-star review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be "friendly and professional" and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as lunch and dinner in our restaurant. We are so glad to have made your anniversary trip a special one. We aim for the highest levels of guest satisfaction and it is very rewarding to hear when we succeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego! It was truly a pleasure having you with us.

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great setting on San Diego bay. Was able to enjoy the views of downtown San Diego and watch the ships coming and going. Very nice breakfast provided every day. We enjoyed the Happy Hour at the lounge. In fact made it our dinner. Staff went above and beyond to change our room when we first arrived. Ordered a shirt for me i saw in the gift shop but did not have my size. Shipped back home to me. We will be back again .

Room Tip: Bay side much better view and warmer. Wind comes acoss the Marnia when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STANLEE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear "STANLEE W",

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a five-star review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary visit with us and that we were able to get you into the room that suited you best. It was our pleasure to order the shirt that you had wanted. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to America's Finest City!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

While trying to find a hotel in San Diego that didn't break the bank, I came across the Bay Club which offered great rates and plenty to offer. After staying there for 3 nights, I can say that it definately met all my expectations and more. Free hot breakfast every morning was a definate plus as well as parking for only $5.00 compared to most others @ $20.00 a night. All staff are very nice and willing to answer any questions that you might have. Free airport shuttle was fast and always on time. Next door is Humphreys Concerts and from our pool, I was able to relax and have a drink while listening to "Grouplove" the first night and then the rocker "George Thorogood" the next night. The naval military base is right across the bay so you can watch helicopters take off all day as well as fighter jets taking off and landing. Cruise ships also pass by the bay and you can see them from your room as well as naval aircraft carriers. Definately will stay here again. The hotel is older, but is very clean. Only problem that we could find is that the air-conditioning unit sends out a somewhat musty smelll while running.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duker6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear "Duker6278",

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a "great value" and that we met all your "expectations and more". We also appreciate your letting us know about the air conditioner in your room so that we can look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in San Diego. Buffet breakfast was very good; great selections and more than enough choices and food. Highly recommend. First time for us on Shelter Island and the Bay Club was a great first time choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanT56737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear "JanT56737",

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five-star review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found us to be a "great value", a "wonderful place to stay" and a "great first time choice"! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Bay Club.
Had a beautiful, clean, and large room on the second floor overlooking the marina.
This desert dweller loves the sight of boats and water.
Hotel staff is great. And complimentary buffet breakfast was perfect.
My husband said the waffles tasted like cake and he was right, yum.

Room Tip: Marina side second floor quiet and night lights are pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear "Robin D",

We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave a five-star review of our hotel. It is feedback from our guests, such as yours, that allow us to maintain the highest levels of guest service. It is great to hear that you had a "great stay" and "enjoyed everything" about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#58 of 278 in San Diego
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#33 of 278 in San Diego
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing