We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st trip to San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #46 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice location on Shelter Island. Parking is only $5 a day, which is much cheaper than other hotels in San Diego. They have happy hour in the bar every day from 4-7. Half price appetizers and discounts on beer and wine. We took advantage of that almost every day of our trip. The rooms are average, but clean. We used the pool and jacuzzi all but one day of our trip. Nothing fancy but it was very relaxing. Complimentary breakfast every morning was decent as well. Seems they go all out on the weekends, it's more basic on the weekdays, but either way a free hot breakfast. Everyone was very pleasant that worked there. I have no complaints and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is really about 10-15 minutes of anything in San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived early due to heading off to a baseball game at Petco Park but the staff on reception were very accommodating and checked us in, even organising a room change as we asked for a harbour view room.

The room was excellent, very big, clean and with an amazing view.

We ate in the bar and took advantage of happy hour. The food was superb!!

We would definately stay here again, especially if there is a concert on next door. We were able to sit outside, enjoy good food and a couple of drinks and listen to the Doobey Brothers. One word of caution however, the bar does get very busy if there is a concert on so if you want to eat in the bar or restaurant best book a table early.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff here goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is a very nice buffet breakfast in the morning, not just the pastry and cereal type. The room was clean and even though it is an older hotel, you didn't really see signs of wear in the carpet, walls, etc.. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiegChinoValleyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! We aim for total guest satisfaction every day and it is wonderful to hear when we succeed. We are so glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and found our staff friendly and ready to assist. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice location on Shelter Island. Nice room overlooking the marina. We could hear the concert next door from our balcony. The concert ended by 9:30 so no complaints of noise. Comfortable beds though the pillows could be better. Nice breakfast buffet...loved the bacon! Easy parking. Good location to head either downtown or out to Point Loma.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and view of the marina. In response to feedback from our guests, such as yours, we have begun placing firmer pillows on each bed along with the soft pillows, so that each guest can choose the one that suits them best. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Staff friendly and always there to assist. Facility is very handicapped accessible. The restaurant was an unexpected plus. Excellent food and moderate pricing. We were there to attend a concert at eh venue next door, very convenient. We will definitely stay here when we are in San Diego.

Room Tip: Both the By and Marina sides are great. If you want less direct sun you may want the Marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you had a "great stay" with us and "enjoyed every aspect of your stay". We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Bay Club is centrally located, just 10 minutes from the airport. From check-in to check-out, the staff went out of their way every day to make our stay in San Diego special. They all had tips and tricks for local sightseeing, and a store of patience for confusion seldom encountered. It was like staying with old friends. Wait and bar staff seemed to remember everyone from the first encounter and treated newcomers and marina regulars equally well. Our room was spacious and well-appointed for two adults and two kids, and the room staff were quiet, thorough and very accommodating. The view on our harbour-side room changed constantly.
Extras we hadn't counted on: the quality and variety of the buffet breakfast every morning, the menu in the dining room where we ate 5 out of 7 nights, the spotless laundry room which meant we could pack light with only carry-on and come home with clean clothes, the concerts that floated over the pool every night from Humphrey's next door, the great local restaurants within walking distance. What else can I say? We had a great time and we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room on the south side, and though the sun hits that side early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave a five-star review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on being a guest-oriented establishment and it is wonderful to hear that our staff worked in sync to ensure you had a great experience. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was out in San Diego for business again. Check-in went quick and easy. Got my room at the AAA rate as the hotel was nearly booked so my corporate rate was not available. I really like the location of the hotel as its right on the water and near many restaurants. The breakfast buffet was plentiful in the morning. Also had cocktails here every night. Every employee was very courteous and a pleasure to deal with. The room was great and a lot of room. Only issue I had was the alarm clock was running very slow (battery backup must have been dead) so by the time I left, it was 2 hours behind. It became more of a running joke to myself. I told the front desk about it at checkout and they said they would replace it.

Thursday night, we were able to sit outside and watch the Doobie Bros concert next door at Humphreys. Can't beat that.

I will certainly be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchoiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel ... and for allowing us to welcome you back visit after visit! It is wonderful to hear that you had "yet another great stay here". We are sorry about the clock radio in your room not keeping time correctly, but certainly glad to hear -- not only that you were able to find humor -- but also you reported it to us at check out so that it could be promptly remedied. We truly appreciate your repeat patronage of our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Warmly, Aaron Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#115 of 286 in San Diego
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing