We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for seeing San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #50 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Not having been to San Diego before, I looked for the most affordable hotel in a good location. It was just by luck (and other reviews) that I found The Bay Club. The hotel is on Shelter Island, a convenient location to see the sights from. It is an older hotel, but very well maintained. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. You have the option of either a bay view, or marina view. We opted for the bay view, and enjoyed watching the ships move about. Realize that you'll be looking over a parking lot, so a second floor room is best. By the way, it's a great walking area since the entire length of the shore line is a park. The staff at the hotel was excellent, all very helpful and attentive. And the breakfast is not the standard continental one that most hotels offer. It consistently offered scrambled eggs, fried potatos, fresh fruit, and often pancakes. Plus, you look out at the beautiful boats in the marina as you eat. A lovely place!

Room Tip: The second floor for viewing the marina/bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dflom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights during our wedding weekend. The place is WONDERFUL. The room was beautiful, the breakfast delicious and tasty, and last but not least the staff was amazing! We had about 20 rooms booked for guests for our wedding. The staff made sure we were taken care of. The were accomodating of early check-ins. At the last minute, they were able to get us a shuttle to the wedding site. The bellman spent lots of time talking to my fiance's folks who are older and do not travel much. The front desk staff knew who we were but were not intrusive. The day after the wedding, they called to confirm it was okay to clean our room. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the stay. For the view and the location and the breakfast, the rate is an absolute bargain! Can't wait to go back on our anniversary. Thank you!!! You exceeded every expectation.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank phxgal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We went and bought a fan to attept to cover all the lobby noise and peoples TV in next room. For the price of the room, expected better noise control then Motel 6.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank deberah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bay Club. It was quiet, pleasant, clean and well maintained. I don't like paying for parking, which was only $5 per day, but the fabulous hot buffet breakfast included w/ the room, made up for it. I did have an internet connection problem, but wasn't sure if it was me, or the hotel connection. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScarlettHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We traveled from Las Vegas to San Diego for a 3 night getaway and chose the Bay Club Hotel based off the reviews, location, pictures, and hotel ammenities. Once we arrived (a little early for check in) we had to wait for our room to be ready, no big deal, we got there at 1pm. Once the room was ready, we checked in, but we weren't happy with our 1st foor room.....so we asked if there was another Bay View room on2nd floor? We got our request immediately, and the bell hop helped us move everything! The 2nd floor room was gorgeous and had a panoramic view and walk out balcony (2 chairs and table). We had a KING bed and a rolling crib for our little one (13 months). The room was good size and felt spacious for us. Overall, we were very pleased with our room.

The Hotel was very, very clean and well organized. The Staff was excellent and super friendly......they always offered to help you or say "hi". Any requests for towels, soaps, ice, etc......were handled very quickly (5min) and with a smile.

The pool area is nice, clean and well maintained. Yes, the pool is on the small size, but the 3 days we were there NOBODY used it except for us! There is a rather large HOT TUB near the pool.......very nice. You have great views of the Marina while in the pool area.

The morning breakfast buffet was simple with 4 stations of hot foods, breads, cereals, fruits, coffee/juice/soda/water and was clean, well organized, plenty of seating inside and outside, friendly servers. We liked it very much and never had any issues. Perfect way to start off the day!!

Parking was plentiful (outside or under hotel in garage) and cost only $5.00/night!!

Location of the Bay Club Hotel to area attractions: Excellent!
We got to Gas Lamp Dist, The ZOO, Coronado Island, Mission Bay Beach and Mission Valley Mall quickly. Honestly, the location is ideal (in my opinion). You are "off the beaten path" but very quick drive or taxi to everything to do in San Diego. We walked for about 20 minutes and saw a lot of restaurants, shops, mini marts, liquor stores, donut shops, etc. So, there is stuff close to the hotel!

Overall, we give the hotel "2 thumbs up" or an A+ grade. The location and staff make all the difference.......both were excellent! Yes, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room, I prefer the Bay View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegaspeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

this place in located right on the bay, great room, underground parking garage(only $5 a day) free breakfast buffet. allaround great service, very friendly and helpful staff. i will stay here again and again. thx guys for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freonmanPhoenixAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We purchased this hotel through groupon, and our stay exceeded our expectations! We had a lovely room with a view of the harbor, and there was a walkway all along the San Diego Bay . Pool area was small, but tables were set up outside for our breakfast (included) and happy hour. A great hotel for the value we will be returning to, even without the Groupon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzibrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 279 in San Diego
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#114 of 279 in San Diego
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $122 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing