We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #52 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ynez, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“better than hoped for”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hotle was recommended by a friend who used to work there many years ago. Was concerned things might have changed. Room was nice, view of habor entrance and navy base I enjoyed. Dining was excellent: food was outstanding and view of marina couldn't be beat.

Room Tip: Marina view for quiet, harbor view for big boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    488
    133
    48
    20
See reviews for
406
611
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had my reservations about staying 3 nights at the Bay Club, but was pleasantly surprised. The location at Shelter Island provides a 'resort like' feel and is a great spot for those who like to walk/run in the mornings and be a bit removed from the city.

The complimentary morning breakfasts certainly help prepare you for local attractions, with bacon, eggs, sausages, toast, cereals and oats. The changing hot breakfast item progressively improved throughout our stay, from a miscellaneous omlette hash to french toast before pancakes on our last day!

It is a great base and close location for those going to San Diego Zoo and Sea World. We even caught a snippet of the James Blunt concert that was on at the nearby Harvey's hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor to avoid sound of footsteps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Located on Shelter Island this is our favorite hotel in San Diego. Rooms with a view of the marina (beautiful at Christmas when all the boats are decorated) or a view of the bay and the city lights. The marina rooms are the most quiet but with the bay view rooms you can watch the ships going in and out of the harbor and all the sailboats. And at night a beautiful view of the city lights. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a small hotel and you are treated like family. Each room comes with their buffet breakfast which includes eggs, bacon, sauage, potatoes,sometimes pancakes or waffles, toast, muffins, cereal (hot and cold) and juice. Many tables with a view of the marina or you can sit out on the patio. Servers make sure you have refills on your beverages. On weekends you can have a drink from the bar. Also on weekends breakfast is served until 10:30 AM. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwilson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Bay Club Hotel & Marina has a lot to offer for the price. The rooms are standard, but quite spacious and very clean. Each room has a balcony and refrigerator, perfect for enjoying a drink or two while watching the sunset. Or, if you rather a sunset view on the ocean, Sunset Cliffs is a mere 7 minute drive away (and totally worth it!). This location is worth the stay in contrast to the other local "fancy" hotels for two things: an excellent (and free) daily breakfast buffet and free wireless internet. The staff was also very accomodating. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpb33333, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Bay Club! We have to agree with you that the sunset at Sunset Cliffs is like no other... We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Warmest Regards, Tim Brogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We spent a week in San Diego on a sight seeing trip and 4 of the nights were at this Hotel.
The service was excellent. The rooms and hotel very clean.I did have to ask a waitress
to wipe down the arm of a chair on the patio, but that was really a small annoyance.
The included buffet breakfast was good and the free transport to and from the airport was excellent. For $5.00 they gave us a lift to the downtown area. We were very happy with the furnishings in the room. We found the room/meal package to be somewhat expensive so
we chose to eat out. We had a room on the west side (facing the marina) and also a room
on the east side (facing the street and Downtown) both are O.K.We will go there next time

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crellis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpb33333, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Diego! Warmest Regards, Tim Brogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I stayed at the Bay Club Hotel and Marina in San Diego for three days and could not have been more pleased with the service, the food, the hotel quality, and the price. The reason for my stay was I was attending a training conference at a near by hotel which had a terrible rating according to the reviews on Trip Advisor. After searching for alternate hotels in the area, I found the reviews rated the Bay Club Hotel very high. After all was said and done, I even got a marina view room for about $10.00 less than the conference hotel.

The only real down side to the hotel was the fact that they charge you $5.00 per night for parking, but the parking was adequate and easily accessed.

The buffet breakfast, which was inlcuded with the room price, was excellent (except for the first day when the potatoes tasted like they had been sitting on the warmer for about three hours). The service staff was very efficient and my room was always cleaned by the time I returned to the hotel at noon. The front desk staff were always cheerful, friendly, and very willing to assist with any needs, i.e., off site eating establishments.

Since the hotel is located at the marina, it is just a couple of miles from the airport and Old Town, I will definately use the Bay Club Hotel for my base any time I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omnefos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpb33333, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you during your recent business trip to San Diego! We genuinely value your business and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip! Warmest Regards, Tim Brogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a place that throws out the welcome mat for us every time we stay. They are friendly and go over and beyond what most hotels do for their guests. They serve a delicious breakfast daily and have hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. The staff knows our name and makes sure we have everything we need to make our stay comfortable. You can hear the evening concerts next door at Humphrey's from the pool on summer evenings. I wanted everyone I know to see why I have been raving about this place for the past 6 years, so I let The Bay Club host my retirement party last June. Now my friends are going back to relax and experience this warm atmosphere again. We consider this our home away from home!

Room Tip: When you call say the Wrays sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnawray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpb33333, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We do our best to make each guest feel like part of our "Bay Club family" and are happy to hear that you do. We are also glad that your retirement party was a success last year and are honored that you chose our hotel as the venue. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Warmest Regards, Tim Brogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#60 of 278 in San Diego
1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing