We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at the Grand del Mar because my husband was attending a conference at the hotel. We booked a different hotel for our last three nights in San Diego but wished we had just stayed at the Grand del Mar as it was a fantastic experience. We were stunned by the level of service at this hotel. Most of the staff could not do enough to help you and constantly offered us service above and beyond that required.
We were very impressed by the room. It was extremely comfortable and quiet and exceptionally well cleaned. The bathtub and shower were both large and comfortable. More water pressure would be nice in the shower but I do understand the need to conserve water.
The public areas of the hotel are very attractive as well. We played golf on the very nice golf course. Fortunately we were able to get the twilight rate as the regular rate is extremely expensive. The golf course was empty and I suspect that is because of the high prices. If you are willing to pay to golf bring your own clubs because the rentals are $85 for a round which is very steep.
I spent two wonderful afternoons at the tranquility pool and enjoyed it very much. A chair cover and towels are laid out for you when you arrive and you will be offered a glass of ice water as well. Through out the day small drinks and frozen grapes are also offered. I had lunch out at the pool one afternoon and while good it was not worth $25 for a salad and a diet coke. There is a sign restricting access to adults only. For some reason a number of families ignored this and walked through but none stayed. There is also a sign stating no cell phones but most (to my disgust!) also chose to ignore this. It is not very tranquil to have a loud one-sided conversion going on beside you. The polite people got up and left the area when they got a call. I would love to see people leave the phones in their rooms and enjoy an afternoon not connected.
I had breakfast at the resort three mornings and was shocked by the prices. The orange juice was the best I have ever had but at $6 it should be. One day my breakfast was $34 including a tip for an omlet, coffee and juice (yes that is the price for one person). The service is outstanding but this is too much for a meal. Breakfast at the golf course grill is a better deal and just as tasty with the added bonus of the view of the course. The resort is quite a distance from other restaurants or I would have left the resort for my meals because of the excessive prices.
Overall it is a fantastic hotel with great service but the extras such as food and golf are too high even for a high end resort. I can not imagine what it would cost to feed a family while on vacation at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontario_Sun_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    105
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
446
596
29
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

My wife, children loved to stay this hotel more.
Definitely I will visit again.
Kind staff, woderful room & other facillities (swimming pool, tennis court, restaurants..)
I like this hotel more than I can write here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeoulDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

This was one of the BEST hotels that we have ever stayed at. We came upon this place after having a HORRIBLE experience at Paradise Point in Mission Bay. We called them early in the morning after waking up at Paradise to homeless people outside our bungalow among a hundred of other things! We told them of our situation and they were able to help tremendously. They were so helpful. She stated that we should be able to get into our room by noon. (and we did not pay much more per night as we were at Paradise).

Everyone there was so kind and helpful, down to the very last detail. You can tell the hotel management wants to have their guests treated like royalty no matter who you are and you definitely feel like that. All the staff was just simply wonderful! The rooms were quite amazing. the linens on the bedding was SO soft and the bed was ultra comfortable. The decor was beautiful throughout the hotel and very charming. The pool area was quite nice as well. The kids enjoyed having the pool basically to themselves during the week before the weekend crown arrived. The weather was quite cool while we were there, but it did not keep them out of the pool as they were able to swim with the heat turned up!!! We did eat at the restaurant once and then were out and about most of the other times, so I am not sure how to rate the restaurants. The only thing thatI wished for was an in room coffee maker...with three little ones, I needed my pick me up more than usual and 6 dollars a coffee was quite costly.

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!! This was true paradise!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windycty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

My entire family loved this hotel. It was certainly expensive, but still represented good value for the money. The rooms are large and comfortable, according great views, even the shampoos and soaps were outstanding. I loved the hospitality of the staff. They are youthful and friendly-- I don't think I saw an employee at the hotel who looked older than 30. The staff were well trained, professional, truly outstanding. The hotel grounds were delightful. My children left saying that they couldn't wait to return. I am a critical traveller and cannot think of one complaint about this property.

In fact, when we were checking out, I asked to speak to the manager to offer my compliments and also intended to send a glowing letter to the owner. I almost wish that I had not done this because during the conversation, I learned that the hotel is owned by Doug Manchester. He is a controversial businessperson who has made media headlines because of his financing of conservative social policy issues. Of course, everyone has a right to support what they wish. But had I know this beforehand, I probably would not have chosen to support this business, worrying that my money was being used, in part, to support causes I do not believe in. I was sort of heartbroken because this is a property I would have liked to return to, but probably will not because the owner is very public about his views, and making them so public sort of ties this to his business in a way that private behavior would not.

Of course, TripAdvisor is not about politics and the hotel is fabulous. I share this only because I wish I had known this information before my booking (I had read about Doug Manchester, but didn't know this was one of his hotels). . .many might not care about such matters in selecting a hotel. Details on both sides of the issues can be found by googling the owners name.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDP_MSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed here recently for a weekend retreat with colleagues and was literally blown away by the care and attention to guests from the moment we arrived. I firmly believe that every staff member is committed to making your stay a truly pleasurable experience and they showed it! The rooms are extremely clean and spacious. Ate at both Amaya and Addison - delicious but not spectacular. The spa is not to be missed! If you do not leave relaxed, you have way too much stress in your life!! GO!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surferboyLaHabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

From the moment you arrive you become the Queen (King). The one bedroom suite is perfect for 2 adults, 2 teens as the each half of the room has it's own entrance/exit. You can close the bedroom door and the suite becomes your own. In the morning when the teenagers are asleep you can come and go without disturbing them. Also very pet friendly as they even give you dog beds, bowls and toys for the pups. Service is amazing in every area, everyone there is menat to serve you. They never make you feel that any request is a burden. The prices are very reasonable as I have stayed in so much less for more money. Take a vacation at the Grand Del Mar, you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying at some great resorts, and this one is right up there near the top. Set on a hillside overlooking a golf course, this Italian styled hotel is a treasure of a modern day hotel done beautifully to mimic an “Old World” European grand hotel.

From the moment you enter the hotel, you will be impressed with the grandeur of the hotel and of the amazing architectural details used, that clearly show that no corners were cut when building this almost new hotel.

All the standard rooms seem to be the same, just with different views. We had a Fairway view room that overlooked a garden courtyard with the fairway off in the distance. The room was very large, formal but with modern touches. Once again the details in the room were impressive including extra moldings, ceiling stencils, and antique air vents. All the furniture was comfortable including the spacious curved couch that gave a splash of modern décor, in an otherwise more traditionally elegant room setting. The large bathroom was full of marble and included a deep soaking tub, separate shower, and separate water closet. There were also three mirrors framed with faux gold edges that some may consider over the top décor. This type of thing pops up in a few areas of the hotel. Our only complaint about the room was that the balcony did not have any furniture to sit outside and enjoy the view. It seemed that most balconies at the hotel lacked furniture.

All the public areas of the hotel are stunning, some with amazing woodwork. It is all very impressive and fun just to walk around and discover each room and area of the hotel. The hotel information states that the design of the hotel is modeled after the work of Addison Minzer, the famed Palm Beach architect of The Breakers, and it is easy to see why. The exterior of the hotel is also very attractive. Walking around the hotel property is a must and it gives you the chance to enjoy the fountains, statues, and even an antique fire truck. The overall effect is a luxury old European resort, but completely modern and in excellent shape.

We had breakfast each morning in Amaya which is a little less formal looking then other areas of the hotel and has outdoor seating available. The food and service were very good. We used the adult lap pool which is in a nice courtyard surrounded by the hotel on three sides. The family pools are in a more open area with nice views of the hillside and golf course. The gym is very nice with enough equipment to complete a full workout. Next to the gym is a full luxurious spa that is only available for a fee if you are not having a treatment. Since the hotel provides free internet, it is an even trade I guess.

Although the hotel is not near anything, everything is easy to get to within a half an hour. We enjoyed making our way back at the end of our day to a beautiful and quiet oasis that was well worth a little extra drive. Not to be left out was the always friendly and helpful staff. We wish we could have more opportunities to visit this truly amazing resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130-4901 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing