We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great leisure stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
1 review
“Great leisure stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is a great hotel with first class service. I don't see how anyone can write the service was poor at this hotel. Everyone seemed very friendly and really went out of their way to help us. We were originally scheduled for a one day stay. After staying one day (Sunday), we left the hotel for a two day stay at the Ritz Carlton in Dana Point (ocean view room). While the view of the beach was great, the older rooms at the Ritz Carlton don't compare to the rooms of the Grand Del Mar. The Grand Del Mar rooms are first class. They have free internet service, beautiful furniture, great televisions, super nice bathrooms, and in room mini bars. We ended up leaving one day early from the Ritz Carlton and returned to the Grand Del Mar. At the Grand Del Mar, we had a fairway view room both days that was great (standard king room). Our $435.00 package (room was a little more because of fairway view) included a $65 breakfast credit and free valet parking. The second day we got the same room for $325.00 with no breakfast credit. You should be aware that San Diego has a 12.5 percent hotel/resort tax that gets added to your bill. I didn't play golf this trip, but I will next time. I never saw a lot of players on the course. I believe it would be a great course to play because it looks like a top notch course and I doubt there would be much of a wait between holes. The fitness center was really nice with a lot of high end equipment. The pools and grounds are beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    121
    39
    21
    16
See reviews for
496
665
35
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Guests of a wedding, and didn't want to leave! Most beautiful hotel in San Diego

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoCA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I spent our anniversary at The Grand Del Mar. It was absolutely amazing! Treatments at the spa followed by a relaxing afternoon and lunch at the pool was simply perfect. The pool attendents make sure your every want and need is attended to. The entire staff is wonderful and very welcoming. We've already booked our next visit for December to celebrate my birthday. I'm looking forward to making this our yearly getaway!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackielynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Eggo
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for our wedding weekend in October 2009. When you're engaged/getting married/newlywed, you get kinda used to getting away with special requests on things and it's quite the treat. However - nobody treats you as well as the Grand Del Mar.

The service on all levels [even/especially from those who didn't know about the wedding] was above and beyond anything I've experienced at any establishment. These people know how to treat their customers with respect and make them feel welcome.

Beyond the service - EVERYTHING about this place is amazing. I could walk the labyrinthian halls for hours just staring at all the beautiful appointments on the ceilings, walls and floors. Gorgeous place. The food at the restaurants, even the little cafe, was astonishingly good. Beds are crazy comfortable. Views are stunning. The spa has two of the best masseuses we've ever met by far. Can't wait to go back to see Madeline. She is amazing.

Short version? If you can afford to do so, stay at the Grand Del Mar. You will never be disappointed by this establishment or their amazing staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingforcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We went for a quiet getaway and we're very impressed with this hotel. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The adult pool is luxurious with comfortable padded lounge chairs, underwater music, and frozen grapes. Sunscreen, magazines and cold water always available. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lv4maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our 'home' during our visit to Comicon. The rooms we spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was magnificent. As beautiful as the hotel is, the staff was so much more. They bend over backwards to accommodate any of needs while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Absolutely beautiful & lovely. Relaxing. Free wi-fi, free water bottles,free valet parking. HUGE closet. 2nd TV in bathroom. Delux furniture. Beautiful pools. All surrounded by an award-winning golf course and very green rolling hills of Torrey Pine Reserve. A great bike trail and walking trail. A mere few minutes to a very swim-able beach.
It felt so far away and relaxing. Having spent a couple of weeks in Europe this past summer, I felt a renewed appreciation for what we have right here in so. cal - nature, uncrowded beaches... The Grand has an amazing staff. Very helpful in every which way without imposing. Loved the stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
943 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelPower, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing