We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another rave review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another rave review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family stayed at this property for spring break. We were greeted by friendly and charming front desk employees and immediately offered fresh, cold beverages. My children were treated very kindly and dug through the "treasure chest" offered to them by the front desk employees. When we arrived in our room, two giant chocolate chip "welcome" cookies decorated like cats were waiting for my kids. That was definitely a highlight of the trip and a delightful way to start it off at the Del Mar. We found the food to be delicious, the staff to be of the highest quality and the kids' Explorer Club to be the best we've seen so far. We will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700mumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    105
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
446
596
29
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very pleased with our one-night stay at the Grand Del Mar. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities are amazing (some of the decor is a little over the top but fun to take in). Pools are great. Resort is kid friendly. Obviously not a budget hotel, but fair value. No resort fee (congratulations to the management for this!), reasonably prized breakfast at Amaya ($60 for two). This resort compares favorably to many Ritz Carlton Resorts that we have visited in the past (somehow feels one notch up from Ritz Resorts). Location is isolated, but this is part of the appeal. Hope to visit again soon and play some golf, as well.

Room Tip: Got the impression that all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIPMEISTER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop on a weeklong California trip and the perfect way to wind down a tiring trip. Rooms, pools, restaurants and all public areas are beautiful. We loved that they offered different activities at the resort, such as kayaking, fitness classes, etc. The fitness center is also very nice. We would love to come back soon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

It's a little out there in terms of location. Premises are kept really nice. Staff was ok not great. The room I stayed in was average, but I was expecting more. On positive side, rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldisatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to hear you found our grounds and room cleanliness exceptional, it is disappointing that every aspect of your stay wasn't as notable.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, I kindly invite you to respond to my direct message at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent three days at the Grand Del Mar and it is hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The Hotel and grounds are beautiful. We would leave out of the back of our room, which dumped into the gardens and just go for a walk around the grounds. My 9 year old daughter was in awe. The service on top of this, is what makes this place so special. It's spectacular yet down to earth, which to me make it's better than a Ritz from a service aspect. They never say "No", and genuinely seem to care about your enjoyment. It's as if everyone is invested in the property.

We have been to a lot of nice places, but I would say the Grand was heads and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

After a year, I was offered a free spa massage after my initial visit (see my original review).

The spa services were wonderful, I received a glass of champagne with lovely chocolates to accompany.

This spa is lovely. I had a wonderful return. I will be back.

Thank you for extending this offer to me.

Room Tip: Spa visit only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveZeroG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was not only incredibly nice, it was very family friendly. We didn't feel at all uncomfortable with our 2-year-old daughter at any of the restaurants or around the hotel. In addition, we called in advance to see if they would be able to let us check in early (we had a cranky, over-travelled toddler) and they accommodated us.
I have never stayed anywhere with such incredible service. Truly a remarkable resort, we hope to make an annual trip to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eydevlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130-4901 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing