We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place is absolutely ridiculous. This sprawling resort is pristine. The service is the best I have ever experienced. The housekeepers tie your power chords up with a nice bow!! chocolates or chocolate or chocolate covered oreos every night on your pillow, complimentary coffee and juice in the morning. I loved the adult only no cell phone whirlpool. Concierge and bellmen are extremely helpful. Courtesy car service into La Jolla or Del Mar. Simply Amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Grand Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night to celebrate our 13th anniversary. We had a "standard" King room with a nice walk out patio onto the grounds. The room was immaculate - very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was amazing - marble, with a huge tub and walk-in shower. We're really picky when it comes to cleanliness, and we were more than satisfied with the room! I was also pleasantly surprised how quite the room (and the rest of the grounds) were, especially with the number of families there during our stay.

We had a late lunch at the restaurant (Amaya) and enjoyed very good food and some nice mixed drinks. We were touched by the free anniversary dessert they gave us as well. The service at this restaurant was like the rest of the experience throughout the hotel: superb. The staff was all friendly, made sure we had everything we needed, helped us with directions and questions and really made us feel like VIPs.

The grounds are beautiful, and the pools are perfect. We spent the afternoon at the relaxation pool in the Spa - no kids under 16 allowed there. It was peaceful and beautiful. The other pool on the grounds is a ways away and geared towards families. We'll definitely go there next time we bring our kids.

We've stayed at some pretty nice places in the past and this experience is at the very top of our list. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jdboyd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place has the best combination of luxury and family friendly I've ever been. I'll take anytime on business or family travel. The most excellent service & accommodations. Great location, has a tight golf course and the pool situation is great for kids and has adult only pool as well.

Room Tip: With 3 kids 2 adjoining rooms works well
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Grand Del Mar is the type of a place where you know what you are in for the moment you drive in and the doors are opened by the welcoming valet staff. Everything is done with a smile and I found staff superbly trained yet very genuine in their approach.

We were upgraded to Palazzo Suite (thank you, Amex) which was larger than most NYC apartments at 1,500 sq ft. The furnishings are top notch; nothing looks or feels cheap. Great spacious bathrooms, equipped the right way. Everything is absolutely spotless.

The only tiny complaint is Concierge desk, where we observed an uneven level of recommendations. We have done all pre-arrival planning with Betty and she was absolutely fantastic! Her recommendations during our stay were also spot on. However, another Concierge sent us to San Diego Gas lamp district on Sunday night to an empty restaurant where only 1 more table was taken. The owner told us this was the case every Sunday. A good Concierge knows exactly this type of information and knows where to send guests when. Coincidentally, we saw this "Concierge" manning the front desk on the day of our departure. I realize that hotels get short staffed on occasion, but I have never seen this sort of substitution in my travels. This may explain the quality of the recommendation we received.

Minor glitches at Concierge desk notwithstanding, Grand Del Mar is an amazing place where we felt cared for and catered to every step of the way. There is no better place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank world_traveler_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Amazing hotel and staff at the Grand Del Mar. Fantastic Rooms, excellent food and atmosphere, we will definitely be staying there again soon ! The suites are out of this world and the hotel staff go above and beyond.

Room Tip: The suites are out of this world!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennlaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

When you think of 5 star resorts, The Grand Del Mar should be what you envision. From the beautifully manicured grounds to the superb service, your every want will be attended to here. It's not for the faint of wallet, but for a nice romantic quiet weekend away, is totally worth the splurge. There are multiple restaurants on site, a well appointed spa, and a roomy tub for you to take a nice bath in when all the golf and nearby hiking gets you in the mood for some relaxation. The location is not central San Diego, so you will definitely need a rental car if from out of town, but you can easily get to central SD, Gas lamp district, SD zoo in 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first visit to The Grand Del Mar resort and we can't wait to return. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the greater San Diego area. Elegant, romantic & peaceful describe the ambiance of this world class resort. The service was "top shelf" throughout our 3 night stay. We were greeted warmly by each and every employee we encountered during our visit. The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The golf course is beautiful! The pro shop staff (Ryan) and fore caddies (Conner & Scott) were very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Our room (number 273) had a great view of the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrfuzztop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $443 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing