We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, the 5 star reviews are right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Yep, the 5 star reviews are right!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Personally I think if you are able to afford even a night at this hotel, you should experience it once. It is super expensive, but I think worth it. The grounds and hotel public areas are incredible. Awesome pools, tennis courts, walking trail and views.
I'm so glad we had a $50 credit per day with Amex for breakfast, otherwise I would have skipped it. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace every morning was one of my favorite things ever! Even if no credit, make sure you eat outside there at least once! The waiters were all so nice and helpful, the food - delicious with fresh juices and smoothies and the best hash browns I've ever had.

We had to change rooms since for some reason our room and hallway smelled way too strongly of chlorine. The room itself (and we got an upgrade) was not all that big but had the highest ceilings, wonderful balcony and awesome, huge bathroom. The decor itself I found to be too much, (a lot of gold...gold frames surrounding the flat screen, etc.) but hey, at least the bed was super comfortable.

If you can, treat yourself to a spa treatment. On a Monday I had the entire spa to myself...Amazing experience! Elaine, the spa attendant treated me like a princess. Seriously that might have been the most relaxing day of my life.

Make sure to go walking/hiking at nearby Torrey Pines on the ocean, too.

This sure is the good life... too bad it was only 3 days!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
481
642
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Grand Del Mar in San Diego a 5 star hotel resort. Room rate via platinum Amex was 395.00/night and included a room upgrade, $50.00 daily breakfast credit, a $100.00 spa credit. We were upgraded to a Prado Suite. The room was one of the best we have ever stayed in at 1,000 sq. ft. Two bathrooms and a living room. Each night a little gift cookies candy etc. The appointments were outstanding. Valet parking was $30.00 a day. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I had a massage as part of the spa credit and as one would expect it was great. We played tennis and sat by the golf course. Two nights was not enough. This hotel is inland from Del Mar and is isolated from downtown San Diego but who cares.

Room Tip: The Prado was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I do travel a lot in North America and Europe . The Grand Del Mar is very good . Bulding , propety , services , restaurants , all very good . Maybe the swimingpool may be better . Not very offten you can see such a good hotel . The room was splendid , with a very roomy bathroom and elegant furniture .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The best place..The rooms, the staff, the location, the atmosphere the lemonade !! so good Lebron James got married there.awesome!
The staff is very attentive, the food is amazing, the grounds are beautifully manicured..Paradise in the desert!

Room Tip: If yo are a couple get the room with private access to the adult salt water pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlFridaychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great service and atmosphere I actually made friends with the gift job lady and bought several interesting gifts ..I have returned three times to this wonderful place from the past just love it. The weather was perfect for November and people were enjoying the sun and the sea , just thinking of this magical place makes want to start packing

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Attended our company's Christmas Party at the Grand Delmar and stayed the night, even though we live less than 25 minutes away. The extraordinary customer service started with the valet parking and ended with the valet parking. Getting the royal treatment was a very nice treat, and certainly the best I've experienced in this country. The hotel and ammenities were outstanding, and the rooms are quite nice and very very quiet. Soaking in the deep tub after a long day was extremely relaxing. The rapid fill of the tub was an unexpected surprise. The TV in the bathroom was nice, but when at a five star hotel it is better to appreciate the moment versus watching football. We had breakfast at the Amaya. it was a bit pricey; however, the quality and service were exceptional. I had the three egg omelet with a croisant which was exceptional. I was told the croisants were made at the hotel. My wife had the smoked salmon dish and she raved about it. I must add ... for my wife to rave about any dish, is noteworthy and rare. We were not impressed with the banquet cuisine; however, when serving to more than 100 people - our expectations not never too high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place is amazing. The staff and the attention to detail from the minute you walk into the lobby has been fantastic. The room is beautifully done and the bathroom is fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and scenic. It has been the a wonderful Christmas experience. If you are looking for a top notch vacation this is the place to come to. You'll be incredibly happy here.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing