We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand is truly GRAND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Grand is truly GRAND”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 3 night in mid September, and simply put, this was one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at. Wish we had longer in the San Diego area. Our check in was easy, and Abicar(I think that was his name) made our entire experience memorable. We had a great room with a covered, outside balcony, which we sat on every morning for coffee and every night for wine. We dined at Amaya on our first night, and the food, wine and atmosphere were wonderful. My wife lost a bracelet at a restaurant in La Jollie on the first night, and the consierge sent a car back to pick it up......very service oriented. The Resort was magnificent, very close in proximity to great restaurants in Del Mar and La Jolle, and an easy ride into San Diego. I look forward to more visits in the future.....what a place!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a covered balcony that has chairs....not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeholdNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
481
642
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

3 nights/4 days. It was superb, gracious, beautiful and the food very good. I truly felt as though I relaxed and got away. Our kids felt extra pampered with their personalized cookie and enjoyed the smores at the campfire. We felt personal attention every step of the way. We had fun playing chess in the game room in the evenings, or strolling around the grounds and listening to evening music. We all loved our suite, it was beautiful. I loved the tub. The pools were fabulous, could not pull the kids away. Awesome golf course with a few golf celebrity spottings. Loved my massage, however I just couldn't find myself to spend $200 for a mani/pedi when a 10 minute drive gave me the same for $30 with the extras. We loved the restaurant on the grounds. also enjoyed the poolside food service as well as Amaya. Ifyou need time to be pampered and live in SoCal go to Grand Del Mar. If you are in Northern California, Meadwood still takes the cake. A Grand time indeed! It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalinamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here four days, three nights for a quick vacation and birthday celebration. I've stayed in many 4 Seasons and Ritz Carltons, but this is by far the best. This is a one-off independent property that claims 15 stars, a 5 star hotel, 5 star restaurant, and 5 star spa. The grounds and buildings are superb, gate guarded, very private and very tranquil. Separate pools for adults and children. Magnificent wrap around golf course. The concierge got us reservations and tables that I am sure we would never have been able to get ourselves. This was a goldilocks experience, everything was just right.

Room Tip: The top two stories out of three have verandas. Ask for the back side overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamv186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous time at this gorgeous hotel! The rooms are superb I love the Nespresso Coffee Makers in the room as you can have a great cup of espresso at any time. The bar and restaurant offer superb food and drink. The spa services are the best in the business. At this time of year the Summer clothes are on sale as they make room for the next line. The Designer bargains are a reason to go back when the season changes next. We are talking 80% off J Brand jeans. Multiple golf courses may be found if you like to swing a club. Sailing is a wonderful way to take in a Sunset. We were at the Del for a full moon which was an excellent show at the end of a perfect day.

Room Tip: Room 178 is close to the Spa, has a private garden patio in which espresso may be enjoyed and is a f...
See more room tips
Green Features: I insist on placing the same film on our windows at home as the Hotel Del has as it definitely makes the sunniest room feel a little cooler!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burgess5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Celebrated our 12th anniversary here. We are local, and just wanted a quick getaway with our 2 year old. We booked through American Express Fine Hotels and were upgraded upon check-in and were guaranteed 4pm check out.

Our Veranda Grand King room was gorgeous and huge. We enjoyed their spa, their pool, their in-room dining, the 5-star Addison 8-course meal and everything was spectacular.

We were there during the big Lebron weekend wedding and I was actually apprehensive at first, thinking that service would slack as seen with many hotels who are catering celebs. But The Grand Del Mar's staff were absolutely attentive to our needs and friendly. Kudos to them for not being bias towards "regular" guests.

We definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravelerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were at the Grand Del Mar the Friday that LeBron James and party arrived... My first comment is the staff handled the unusual large group of guests arriving without wanting to be noticed very well. My husband and I had a light dinner on the terrace and it was lovely, we were given the level of service and attention that we would expect any other night.
My only complaint (but also now knowing after the fact, trying to keep the location a secret) The Club M was closed (not mentioned on website) , booked by a private party.. was not made known to us until our arrival...
We walked thru the hotel, went thru the wine cellar/room.. a beautifully appointed area by the entrance to the Amaya restaurant..
It is not in Del Mar, but out in the semi country... This is a great place to get away, with nicely appointed rooms and amenities(pool, golf, equestrian riding, spa and restaurants).
As we do not live far this is a wonderful staycation destination.
I am going for the afternoon tea in a few weeks, and I am expecting only perfection and continued attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Grand Del Mar is a true 5 star experience. The grounds are beautiful, the staff excellent and the rooms luxurious. The hotel is really several experiences in one. Quite adult pool area with wonderful drink, food service. A beach like pool for families a tennis area and a golf area. You can select a room overlooking whichever you prefer. The Addison is a gourmet foodie delight. Drinks on the veranda overlooking the golf course. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing