We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! I can see why this hotel is one of the top hotels in CA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Ana
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! I can see why this hotel is one of the top hotels in CA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been truly amazed with the Grand Del Mar from the very start on the drive in. It is inland and hidden so it will be a place that will allow you to truly relax. They have two pools one for children and one for adults. The adult pool is a tranquility pool that does not allow cell phone usage so you will truly have an opportunity to be one with your thoughts. The service at the pool was excellent and the lava flow was perfect. If you want to wander around the property you can do so on the trails. One of the trails was not available on my visit but that was okay since the hotel property was large enough to take my walk. When you go to lunch make sure that you order the shrimp as your appetizer as the red sauce had a truly amazing taste that required me to dip the bread when no one was looking. :-) I would also make sure you order the cheesecake and a cappuccino to finish off the lunch.
Now as far as the spa is concerned you need to get a facial (yes you too guys) and ask for Jen. OMG, I told Jen that I did not know whether or not I was asleep or awake. Amazing! The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were perfect and if you want to just hang out in that area you can.

I did not play golf while I was here, but loved looking at the course from the room and know that the balls would have gone straight since these holes near the hotel were soo wide. Have fun and enjoy yourselves.

Green Features: I loved that some folks brought their dogs. Didn't hear any dogs, but did see them.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    110
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
464
623
32
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent July 4 of last year in a Toscana suite. We are a family of 5 -- with twin 6-year-olds and a 3-year old toddler. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating, the rooms were so comfortable and beautiful and the food was simply fantastic. One night we stayed in and ordered room service -- we asked for candles and special breads and the hotel staff outdid themselves. And then the hotel topped itself -- they put on a 4th of July beyond anything my husband and I have ever seen anywhere. There was a fabulous country rock-n-roll band that performed the pledge of allegiance to music followed by a fireworks display only seen in dreams or movies. An extravagant buffet and music went on into the night. The suite had a kitchenette - fully appointed - and a dining room. At one point I realized that the dining room table finish was incredible -- no matter what my kids spilled on it - the liquid beaded up. Before we left I asked the concierge if she could find out what they had done to finish the table -- this is something I could certainly use at home!! We checked out on a Saturday -- can you imagine my surprise and delight when a hotel engineer called me --- on Sunday!! --- to tell me about the table and send me a tear sheet?! The hotel may be pricey -- but we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We prefer a high room with a balcony. But that's just us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the time of our arrival to the time of our departure this resort was top notch and well deserving of its five star reputation. We were at the hotel for our honeymoon and we could not have spent it at a better place! The service was excellent, the pools were beautiful and relaxing (in fact we were enamored that the tranquility pool has classical music playing under water), and the rooms were divine. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we really enjoyed ourselves. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalitoWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been going to the GDM every year for five years and NEVER get tired of it - we continue to be in awe of the beauty of the resort and the incredible hospitality of the staff. Its a place for families or couples or any combination. Tennis, swim, horseback-riding, spa, fine food, etc, etc. So many activities- something for everyone in the most welcoming and elegant atmosphere. What we love the most is that while its a very luxurious and high-end hotel, it is NEVER pretentious. Our family has so many memories here - a great place to gather and just enjoy and of course San Diego is one of the best destinations in the country and in our view the Grand Del Mar is the only place to stay. Be prepared to be wowed !

Room Tip: The Villas are absolutely incredible but really, ALL their rooms are just exquisite in furnishings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpUpAwayLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Del Mar has become the location of my annual birthday getaway! From the moment you pull up, the beauty of this resort is evident as well as high level
of service which starts at the door. Everyone is almost tripping over themselves trying to accommodate you.

I recommend staying in a Terrace King room which is especially fabulous for the fact that is opens directly to the adult relaxation pool, so nice to have private access! The room is just how you'd imagine a guest room if you were staying at The White House, grand on every level. High ceilings, richly appointed, best ever hotel bed, large bathroom with extra deep sunken tub, heaven, heaven, heaven.

The relaxation pool is gorgeous too, kept at just the right temperature and even has underwater music playing for your swimming enjoyment. The policy at the pool is supposed to be quiet, however both visits here I have been disappointed that staff did not enforce this policy and I could clearly hear conversations with ear plugs in. Also I found the pool service to be lacking as they never came around to inform that the kitchen was closing or to announce a last call. I wanted to order food but was 15 minutes too late.

On the flip side, I overheard/saw a spa attendant bring over gluten-free muffins to a guest which I quickly inquired about. She was kind enough to go and bring me back some as well, on the house no less...Now THAT is service!

If they could just step up the pool service to match the staff at the rest of the hotel and could keep the adult pool truly quiet, I'd probably never leave. Staying here is a MUST-DO if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiegomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 1 night this week, the resort was nice & the room was wonderful.
The problem with this hotel is....it's not suitable for family with kids (esp if you have toddlers)..the guests were giving us certain uncomfortable looks when one of our kids was crying (maybe that has never happened to them..having a kid crying around them). Then when my toddler was running into the cafe, the guests were giving the similar uncoomfortable looks...ok, we get it....you just want the quiet or peaceful stay.
The worts was the next morning when my eldest (he's 5 y.o) was moving the balcony chair so he could drink his milk properly in his chair, one of thelady guest (from downstair) was screaming to us: stop moving that chair, please!
It was 8:15am...with the checkout time at 11 am, one would need time to wake up, shower or swimming then eat breakfast...maybe this lady was a late riser..total snob! If u want a complete peace of urself, why not stay at the villa instead...
The kiddy pool was nice...until one waiter approached me & with his serious look, he said: you can not sit in this chair, because this section is already reserved by other guests, meaning it would be prepared 30 mins prior, so you need to move to the other part. If you want to sit here, you would need to wait if they cancel.
I was blown away...with his rude words & judgemental look (maybe because we're asians?!?!). I decided not to level down & move to the other section...
The "reserved" section had no sign only towels being laid out, i thought it was prepared for guests, any guests!
And who the heck cares if they cancel...you should just said it nicely, not as if we don't pay the same dollars as others...
I was pissed & asked my sons to get off from pool, packed our bags & checked out asap!!! What a disrespectful manner coming from a waiter of such grand hotel...
I leave you with this tips:
1) you need to whisper when you talk in balcony to avoid weird/annoyed stare
2) you need to low your expectations in order to enjoy this hotel with your lil kids....
Sorry, the hotel was nice and glam, but the level of the service is not that nice..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mummy_of_tw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay. Families are celebrated at The Grand Del Mar, and we are committed to ensuring guests of all ages enjoy their time with us. From wild animal visits and movie nights to sand castle building and the Explorer’s Club, family-friendly fun is a key component of our activity offerings. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We took my mother in law here for her birthday. First the good--the hotel was exquisite--an incredibly beautiful Tuscan style resort with very ornate décor set in a beautiful canyon. The resort got off to a great start by letting my 5 year old daughter pick a treasure from a pirate treasure chest and they also left her a big cookie in our room upon arrival (which some people may not like, but we were OK with it). The food in Amaya and Club M was also very good albeit very pricey (entrees at Amaya were $20 to $50 and I suspect the budget conscious will go off property). We also had two memorable customer service experiences with Garrison (a waiter) and Dave (a Bellman) putting in perfect performances.

The bad--the hotel is pricey and you are nickeled and dimed for everything even though people have to pay a resort fee of $50 per day (our package waived this fee). Want to print a boarding pass? Pay. Want to use a computer in the business center? Pay. Want a plain bagel and a glass of orange juice? $10. The list goes on. In my view, if resort fees are standard, this kind of stuff should be included.

The bad--we had two very significant customer service failures at the hotel. At the pool, our towels were taken away while we were swimming. The problem was that my room key was thrown away/lost in the process. The pool manager went to get us a new one, but changed the key codes as a security precaution. The problem was...we had a grandmother wandering the resort and she now could not get into her room. My wife had to leave the pool and find her (the mother in law did not have a cell phone) and give her a new key. The problem was that my mother in law had wandered off to the golf resort and it took my wife 2 hours to track her down (she found her futilely trying to get in her room with the old key). The net effect was that my wife had lost an entire afternoon of precious time with her family and my elderly and infirm MIL wandered the resort homeless. The hotel did not seem to understand what they had done saying "it happens" and saying "we will take care of you at club M" where we were dining that night. We went to club M and had dinner. When the bill came, only our drinks were comped (two Diet Cokes and a glass of wine).

We were annoyed, but just let it slide and went to SeaWorld and LEGOLAND. On our final night, we started putting our 5 year old to bed at 7 PM (her normal bed time). During this process, very loud music started playing outside. The hotel was hosting a charity event with a band and large sound system literally 30 yards from our window. The music was so loud, the glass in our windows rattled. We put up with this until 9 PM when I called to complain. The volume went down a little, but not enough for sleep. I went downstairs and confronted the manager. I gave him a hard time about hosting a concert at a hotel at night and told him he should warn guests before they check in if they are going to host a night concert. I also reminded him of our poor treatment at the pool and asked for this nights stay to be free. He apologized profusely and graciously agreed to my request which saved me over $800 on two rooms.

The bottom line--this is a truly beautiful if pricey hotel. Service (excluding the notable failures) is very good. The hotel management seems a little lacking in empathy, but recovers nicely when you explain the consequences of their actions.

Room Tip: Ask about concerts at the hotel and stay on the other side of the property if you can. They will no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your mother-in-law’s birthday at The Grand Del Mar and sharing your review. It is wonderful to hear you took advantage of our Extra Grand Package offering a $50 resort credit per stay for use in The Spa, The Grand Golf Club or six dining venues. We want to assure you that this credit was not applied to a resort fee. We never charge a resort fee and are proud to offer a host of complimentary services and amenities, including in-room wired and wireless Internet access, transportation within a 14-mile radius, fitness classes and fitness center use, in-room bottled waters and espresso machines, self-parking and The Grand Beach Service among others.

We also offer complimentary boarding pass printing. If you were charged for this service, please respond to our private message at your convenience. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns and look forward to welcoming you and your family back during your next trip to San Diego – another treasure and cookie await your daughter’s return!

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing