We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love pool boys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love pool boys”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went for my niece's graduation from university in San Diego. I absolutely loved this hotel. The pool felt like silk and was the perfect temperature. I play 9 holes of golf and did really well until the sand traps on the 9th. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. I would love to go again but this was really a once in a lifetime for me so I'm happy I took advantage of it. Back to Bestwestern for me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
481
642
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spend around 90 nights a year in luxury hotels all over the world, and rarely does a property stand out. The Grand Del Mar is one that really does. Nestled in a beautiful location 25 mins from downtown San Diego and around 15 mins from La jolly. This place is perfection on steroids. The rooms are huge and fully appointed with everything you could want. The service is great but not over bearing and the setting is heavenly. I loved this place. Granted you are not in the middle of the city and need a car to go anywhere, but that is a small price to pay to experience this amazing place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this hotel on the Internet and booked our stay based on outstanding trip advisor reviews. What a find! Everything was perfect! The room, the service, the grounds, the restaurants, were everything you could possible want from a top resort. It is recently built but has old world charm. There are 2 pool areas, we opted for the relaxation pool near the spa which does not allow cell phones or children. When a cell phone conversation from one of the nearby balcony rooms could be overheard at the pool, security was sent to alert the woman that her conversation was disturbing the serenity of the relaxation pool. Now that's service! We could not get a last minute reservation at the top rated Addison restaurant and instead ate twice at the Amaya restaurant. Each meal was delicious and beautifully presented. We are sure to return here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a true Luxury Hotel. I stay in hotels often that are rated 4 and 5 star, and this room trumps just about any other. the location allows for large rooms (our bathroom was the size of a NYC hotel room) and they spared no expense. I would stay here again if i was in the area for sure.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms around the gardens are great. they are away from the pool area and have a nice l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludge999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First, this is our second stay at the GDM. We loved it so much we had to come back. This time, we went with 5 other couples all of whom have traveled extensively and have stayed in leading hotels all over the world. Every one of us said we could not think of one hotel that was better than the Grand del Mar. I defy anyone to find a single flaw in this spectacular resort. The Grand del Mar feels like a 'world away'... Thank you staff for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbk_ksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place was amazing. The property was gorgeous! Rooms large and comfortable, the bathrooms to die for! We had a small balcony with sliding doors and slept all nights with the doors open to the outside. Pure heaven! Milk chocolate dipped oreos or beautifully boxed chocolates were on the bed each night.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful with each and every request. Food at the restaurants was excellent. I took two of the workout classes that were held on a daily basis and enjoyed them both. Loved the instructors!

Wish we could have stayed longer but hope to be back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have to admit, my wife and I do not regularly stay in Five-Star establishments. Whatever you imagine that to be like The Grand Del Mar is that and more. I really cannot think of anything bad to say about our stay.

You are going to pay a premium to stay here (or any resort). For us, it was money well spent and we had the vacation of a lifetime.

I made my reservation online. After receiving the confirmation, I also got an email from the concierge. This started a thread of messages that lead to every activity and request I had for my trip being noted and planned (they even ask your shoe size for the slippers in your room and the spa).

Check-in was painless. They treated me like a valued guest from the moment the valet opened the door to my car. He took the bag and walked us to registration. The woman at registration was blindingly efficient with the business portion of our transaction and careful and thorough when reviewing our activities and preferences.

After asking if she could help in any other way, we were shown to our room. Many times website photos of hotel rooms give you the impression that the rooms are larger and nicer than they are. This is not the case at The Grand Del Mar. Important tip: get a Terrace Guest Room. You won’t regret it.

Everything about your stay will be personal. Each staff member we met asked about our stay, our activities, and if they could assist in anyway. Unlike customer service at many places, when these people offer to help they mean it. If the person you ask cannot handle your request, the person who can will appear instantly! Here are a couple of examples of the personal service and attention to detail we received.

Upon our arrival we requested a bucket of ice. The second night we requested a bucket of ice which they brought up to us. For the remainder of our stay a bucket of ice was placed in the room each evening, without a request. Like everyone, we leave the charging cables for electronics laying about in our room. Each time housekeeping came through they would wrap up each cable and tie it with a ribbon. Seriously, a ribbon (I have pictures).

We did not eat in every restaurant but we can personally recommend Amaya and Club M. Consult Yelp for restaurants off the property.

I don't know much about spa activities but I enjoyed my massage and manicure (my first one). I cannot comment on pool service because we did not use it. All the reservations through the concierge were exactly as requested. I used this trip as an opportunity to try some things I had never done before. Second tip: they have a car service to get you around but it helps to reserve with that early. I know it will not seem like it when they serve you, but there are other guests also requesting the car service.

Final tip: if you plan to have both a massage and a surfing lesson during your trip, schedule the massage after the surfing lesson, not the other way around.

As I said at the beginning, this was a dream trip.

Room Tip: Get a Terrace Room
See more room tips
Green Features: When you check-in the ask if you want to participate in their "green" program and explain what differences in room housekeeping that entails. Participate! You will not notice any reduction in service or cleanliness.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing