We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This could well be the best hotel that we have ever used. The rooms are top notch, the staff is well trained, and accommodating. The staff does not know how to use the word "no". We would stay at this facility any time we return to San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanianfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    113
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
477
628
32
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As others have noted this is a spectacular property. We had a lovely room with a terrace that lead right to the relaxation pool across from the spa. The spa was wonderful and I loved the free yoga classes. My only reasons for not giving this 5 stars are very minor: #1- I used up the fantastic body lotion after two days and house keeping did not replace it. I am sure I could have received a new supply if I'd asked but.... #2 at the pool the frozen drinks are not made with fresh fruit. Ok, so maybe I sound like a diva but if you are paying this much, these are little details that should not be missed. Otherwise the Grand Del Mar was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssphl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am from Beverly Hills and love the Peninsula Hotel for the service and food .... this hotel is one of the only hotels that I have stayed at that has high quality service and great tasting food. My husband and I stayed here for the July 4th week - and it was exactly what we needed: relaxation and luxury. The spa is great . . . the adult pool is peaceful and attendants are very attentive... the gym is nice too. If you happen to be here during the July 4th holiday- they have a very impressive fireworks display ... it also comes with a BBQ option .... that is something I wouldn't do again . . . too many people .... eat wherever you want (in the hotel or out) and just take the opportunity to watch the fireworks from one of the many balconies on the property. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the housekeeping service superb. Another pointer - the breakfast is the one meal that is not extraordinary . . . nothing to complain about -- but nothing spectacular. If you want a relaxing 5 star luxurious getaway - especially if you are from LA and just want to drive and spend a few days away from the city - try this resort. My husband LOVED the gold course here too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NICKIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
229 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow...I could probably write pages & pages about our unbelievable expe reinvent we just had the past 5 nights here, but I'll try to be brief (but I don't want to leave anything out!)

Before we came, concierage was so helpful lining up outside activities! Holly even arranged for us to have a courtesy car take us to lunch in La Jolla one day (parking would be difficult the July 4th weekend), get us fron lunch to our kayak outfitter & after our kayak (this is a service the hotel provides). It was so nice!

The resort is simply exquisite. This was definitely a splurge for us, but after staying here, not one regret! Worth every penny. The detailing in the decor not just in the main areas but in the guest rooms...crown moulding in the bathrooms, great lighting, heavy wooden doors, even decorative a/c vents! The beds were so comfortable. The balcony off our room was so nice. Complimentary water bottles every night in the room & at the valet. Flat screen TV centered in a decorative frame on the wall. Huge bathroom with huge tub (Bath salts replenished each day & rose petals!), large shower, Dressing area.

Service: staff is so friendly and they remember your name. Our driver (Kirk) who took us to La Jolla two days before saw my son & struck up a conversation him about basketball (what they talked about before). When we realized after the gift shop closed that we forgot my son's contact solution, she called for security to open the doors. When we realized the gift shop didn't have any, an employee gave us some of theirs. The pool service is great- place towels out for you, food is brought on bed trays to make eating & lounging easier.

The fitness room was impressive! Although I did not take a class, workout classes were available every day.every workout equipment you could want was in this facility (even bands, Pilates rings, bosu & stability balks).

Lots of different areas around the hotel to sit, relax, enjoy a drink. The lounges were beautiful...again, the detail in the decor. No expense was spared in building & furnishing this resort. Even the lounge chairs by the pool were high end.

Coffee is complimentary before 8am FYI in their cafe.

Must try the smoothies- I had one every day. And their ice cream...homemade!

And even though this resort has the high class appearance of an adult-only resort, it was very family friendly. We were there from July 4-9, so lots of families in the beginning of our stay.

They have fun activities for kids/families each day. We participated the the Glow in the Dark driving competition.

I'm a germaphobe & I'll say this is the first place I never worried about cleanliness in the room (bedding included).

We have stayed at alot of nice places, but this blew them all out of the water. We are forever spoiled!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bkdj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to spend a night here recently to celebrate our birthdays. From start to finish, I was thoroughly impressed by the standard of the service by all the staff who remembered our names and treated us like VIPs (thanks Brittany for organising everything so effectively in advance!)

We were delighted to find Prosecco and cake had been delivered for our birthdays when we got to the room. The room itself, a pool-side King room, is among the larger and most beautiful I have stayed in anywhere in the world, with an enormous bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Having access to the adult only pool from our patio was a plus and the poolside waiters looked after our every need (bringing around small snacks of fruit and smoothies regularly as well as setting up all the loungers/shade for us). The grounds are pretty and it's worth a walk around.

We ate at Addison, which has won various awards for being San Diego's top restaurant. The meal itself was delicious and the service impeccable but the restaurant was so large and there were so few diners inside that we felt a little bit as though we were eating in a big, empty hall (though we were there on a Wednesday so possibly a less busy day). I was very surprised (having not seen a menu or price list either on the website or in the restaurant itself) that the meal came to over $1000 (8 course tasting menu with wine matching) for two of us. This makes it more expensive to eat at than the double Michelin starred Le Gavroche in central London which is fully booked everyday three months in advance! Although more expensive than more acclaimed restaurants, we did have a great meal and great time.

Overall we had a great time and the Grand Del Mar deserves the highly rated reviews - come here and enjoy having your every need looked after!

Room Tip: We loved our poolside King room by the adults only pool- definitely worthwhile if you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just spent five wonderful days at this beautiful hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
We felt like we were in Italy as the hotel looks like a villa with beautiful grounds and gardens.
The staff could not have been more friendly and inviting. Our room was a very nice size and well appointed.
The restaurants were amazing as well and the best part was that we were able to bring our small puppy with us. They provide you with dog bowls and a bed.
We can't wait to return to the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hubby and I just spent three nights at the Grand Del Mar. I'm a tough critic and could not find fault anywhere with this experience. Bed- perfect. Food - perfect. Activities and amenities - perfect. Service with all the extras - past perfect. If you have the opportunity, stay here. And experience the Addison restaurant if you can afford - most expensive meal we have ever had!

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvtrvl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing