We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Secluded relaxing holiday”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and had one of the most relaxing holidays ever.

The hotel is situated away from other properties and upon arrival it feels like you are arriving in a private estate. The building is exquisite! Our rooms were facing the adult pool and it has a balcony facing the pool.
The room was very spacious, bathroom had 2 basins and there was a beautiful desk and 1 corner couch in the room. We had room service 2 nights and the server set our table up and delivered our dish as if it was in a restaurant.
The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. We spent nearly 2 days by the pool and the service was exceptional.
I also signed up for a hike Saturday morning, it was very relaxing and knowledgeable with a local guide.
The gym was also very extensive and clean.

We ate at the 2 restaurants in the hotel and the for was good but wasn't exceptional as such。
Overall it was one of the most amazing experience, we felt like it was home away from home, it was super relaxing and the service was faultless. Truely a place to come and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
481
643
34
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I live in San Diego, so go to The Grand Del Mar for events, parties and dinners with friends. Recently I attended an event in which a movie was screened (documentary called SOMM) and prior to the screening, both appetizers and various wines were served. It was a splendid event - each of The Grand Del Mar restaurants (Addison, Amaya, etc.) offered a delectable item (lamb, risotto, corn chowder with shrimp, kobe beef slider, salmon) with various wine purveyors. They also had a great cheese and charcuterie table. During the movie, they had tables with popcorn and candy. It was well executed and fun. The Grand Del Mar knows how to make events special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLindseySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel understands how to make customers feel appreciated and welcomed. Every staff member we encountered was willing to do just about anything you could possibly think of to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. They obviously put a high emphasis on customer service and it is worth every penny. Our stay felt like a true relaxing getaway. We will be back every year. The property is stunning and the rooms are beautiful. Thank you for an amazing experience, worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family just returned from The Grand Del Mar and cannot say enough how much we loved this property! It was calm and quiet and elegant! The hotel itself is stunning and the staff is absolutely perfection. If you pass staff in the hallways, they stop, move to the side, let you pass by and smile and say hello! Impeccable and classy! They make you feel special. The food at Amaya is so delicious we cannot wait to go back next year. Adan was our waiter and he was wonderful! The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy! It is a large resort so if you need a room close to the pools or tennis courts, request it ahead of time. We were at the far end of the hotel near the spa which made for quite a bit of trekking back and forth to far areas but other than that, we had a lovely time! (We didn't mind the exercise as well!) The only thing we wished was that we would have been able to use the spa sauna and showers without the extra daily fee. We have 2 daughters so it's nice to be able to go sit in the sauna and then shower and do makeup at the spa.
There were adorable cookies in our room upon arrival. The cappuccino machine in the room is a nice touch. The evening chocolates at turn down service were AMAZING! Oh and BRING YOUR GOLF CLUBS!!! The course is gorgeous! Love, love, love. Expensive but worth it. Glamorous and lovely. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to where you will be most of the time. Especially if you have bad knees or hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This truly is a beautiful hotel, very clean & the food was fantastic.. I wanted to surprise my husband for our 15th anniversary, so I booked the grand, made dinner reservations & asked the person in guest relations for my gift to my husband to set up the room with rosé buds, candles, wine & strawberries.. Yeh right.. When we got back from dinner nothing was set up, just a bottle of wine & our strawberries.. I spoke to them 2 weeks before, the week before, that morning & early that evening to remind them to set up the room..
Their response "yes of course"
They really messed that one up, my 15th anniversary!! Seriously, that really did suck.. Hopefully they won't screw up anyone else's anniversary.. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DMHCk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. Guest feedback is essential to our success, and we are committed to delivering Five-Star service. Our team reviewed the details of your concern, and I can assure you it will not occur again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

From the Guest Relations agent handling our details in advance all the way thru to Check Out, the experience at The Grand is truly Grand. The staff is fantastic, property gorgeous, dining superb, room luxurious, every aspect five star. Best of all is the top flight golf experience complete with fore caddie, best in the area for us. If you can swing it, spend some time at The Grand.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johndannermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband had a meeting at the hotel and I was so glad that I joined him on the trip. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are so clean and large. The food was terrific -- we went to the Addison restaurant which is the only five star in Southern California and it was amazing. The food was so rich and light at the same time and they have a 155 page wine list. I would put this on a "top" hotel list! We moved on to stay at a hotel in downtown San Diego and then the Hotel Del Coronado in the same week and if I could do it over, I would have turned the car around and gone back to the Grand Del Mar. The Del Mar is not as close to downtown San Diego but the area is lovely and there is no need to go off the property to eat, every hotel spot that served food that we tried was delicious.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have larger patio areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recent_TravelerCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing