We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A beautiful hotel, but guest relations really messed up my 15th anniversary!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel, but guest relations really messed up my 15th anniversary!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This truly is a beautiful hotel, very clean & the food was fantastic.. I wanted to surprise my husband for our 15th anniversary, so I booked the grand, made dinner reservations & asked the person in guest relations for my gift to my husband to set up the room with rosé buds, candles, wine & strawberries.. Yeh right.. When we got back from dinner nothing was set up, just a bottle of wine & our strawberries.. I spoke to them 2 weeks before, the week before, that morning & early that evening to remind them to set up the room..
Their response "yes of course"
They really messed that one up, my 15th anniversary!! Seriously, that really did suck.. Hopefully they won't screw up anyone else's anniversary.. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DMHCk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. Guest feedback is essential to our success, and we are committed to delivering Five-Star service. Our team reviewed the details of your concern, and I can assure you it will not occur again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    95
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
419
538
27
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

From the Guest Relations agent handling our details in advance all the way thru to Check Out, the experience at The Grand is truly Grand. The staff is fantastic, property gorgeous, dining superb, room luxurious, every aspect five star. Best of all is the top flight golf experience complete with fore caddie, best in the area for us. If you can swing it, spend some time at The Grand.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johndannermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband had a meeting at the hotel and I was so glad that I joined him on the trip. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are so clean and large. The food was terrific -- we went to the Addison restaurant which is the only five star in Southern California and it was amazing. The food was so rich and light at the same time and they have a 155 page wine list. I would put this on a "top" hotel list! We moved on to stay at a hotel in downtown San Diego and then the Hotel Del Coronado in the same week and if I could do it over, I would have turned the car around and gone back to the Grand Del Mar. The Del Mar is not as close to downtown San Diego but the area is lovely and there is no need to go off the property to eat, every hotel spot that served food that we tried was delicious.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have larger patio areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Recent_TravelerCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is simply amazing. Their attention to detail and customer service is comparable only to the One and Only Resorts. And the property is huge; expansive. Room service was exceptional. Obviously the chefs are top notch and in-room dining is available 24 hrs. We were looking for a summer golf excursion where the temps were not burning hot. San Diego weather is just perfect. The highest temp was 72º during the day. Great golf course and fore caddies come with the green fee. La Jolla is right up Interstate 5 and Torrey Pines is right around the corner from there. We are definitely going back again. We stayed in a Prado Suite. They have two entrances and two full baths with gold trim. Opulent would be the word to best describe the Grand Del Mar. If you dont' want to rent a car, they will drive you anywhere you'd like to go. We went in June and most days were overcast. May and June you get what the locals call the "May haze" and the "June gloom". So our next visit will probably be during July-Aug. We were told high temps may reach 80º during those months; maybe. The golf course is challenging but I was able to shoot 83 with the assistance of our caddy. lol

Room Tip: The Prado Suite is just right for two people. You each get a full bath. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjack1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While the decor might not be exactly my style I could not find anything to complain about in this hotel. From the minute I checked in the staff were friendly and helpful. My room was large and airy with direct access to the adult pool. The bathroom was large with a small dressing room and I have never seen such a bath tub!
The breakfast buffet was extensive varied. I was in the hotel for a two day meeting, the meeting services were superb. On the final night I ate in the Amaya restaurant and again I could find nothing to fault it.

I was able to avail of the spa when I arrived and I don't think I have ever been so relaxed after a massage.

But of course service like this comes at a price!

PS I have never been so tempted to steal a bathrobe (I didn't!), they were incredible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful location and grounds so well maintained and great for a stroll around. So many seating areas around the walkways that you can stop take a rest and take in the view. Rooms are huge and bathrooms just as big. All have balconies which is lovely to have a sit out when you get back before dinner. Service is phenomenal nothing is a problem. Greeted with scented cool face towels and fresh lemonade. A cafe is on site which is very useful if you want a light snack for breakfast or a sandwich to take out with you. Tea and coffee is complimentary before 8 too always good in my book. We did the hike on Saturday morning to the canyon which is definitely worth doing and I took advantage of complimentary yoga classes too. Relaxation pool is bliss and apart from the usual iced water you receive smoothies through the day and even suntan lotion

Room Tip: All good! We had a fairway view but having walked around the property all look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Grand Del Mar and wow what a pleasure. The property is very new, about 5 years, but the quality architecture and decorating design give it an old villa feel. The staff is at your service, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are palatial well decorated and the attention to detail is spectacular. We would most certainly come again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a pool or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billandsheri523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,654 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130-4901 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing