We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crown Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Grand Del Mar and wow what a pleasure. The property is very new, about 5 years, but the quality architecture and decorating design give it an old villa feel. The staff is at your service, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are palatial well decorated and the attention to detail is spectacular. We would most certainly come again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a pool or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billandsheri523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    110
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
464
623
32
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This resort is all it was billed to be. 5 stars are not high enough. Staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. I was walked to the elevator to show me how to get around. The room was stunning in beauty, layout, comfort, and materials. Everything speaks of luxury and attention to detail. Bed is comfortable. Claw foot desk large enough to work with a comfortable desk chair. Wall paper, carpet, art work, even trim and frames are beautiful. The bathroom is pure luxury. Double sink with Marble set on a regal vanity. The shower is marble with a powerful stream. The tub is large and deep. The bathroom has mirrored windows that swing open to the bedroom. My room was on the first floor with doors that opened onto a patio with comfortable chairs outside of a water fountain pool. The landscaping is lush and perfectly manicured. The resort has a myriad of activities, some of which are free. The resort makes all efforts to inform guests of activities. The exercise room is outstanding. Wide variety of machines to support any workout program. Personal trainers are available. The spa is superb. Pools are incredible. Food and drinks outstanding. I can't say enough about this beautiful refuge from the everyday world. This is a 10 star resort. Simply the best place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king terrace room, 121, for 3 nights. Check-in was a breeze, luggage arrived within 5 minutes. Everyone was incredibly friendly and it seemed as if our enjoyment was their pleasure and responsibility. Amaya was great for both breakfast and lunch. The room was beautiful, reminded us of an Italian villa. Very comfortable bed, great shower, spectacular terrace. A great experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I could not find a fault with this property. The moment we were greeted by Valet parking we knew we were at a very special place. Check in at reception was superb, the bellboy (Shane) was full of enthusiasm and gave us a full list of things we could do while staying here. The rest of the staff we meet were outstanding and made us feel very special. For example, the service by the pool was excellent. The towel placed over the sunlounge with an extra towel to use as a pillow or to dry yourself with after a swim was laid out by the staff. Then a cold water was served, which was constantly refilled or replaced so it was not warm. Then a cool face washer would be offered, plus fresh fruit and sorbet. Food and drink was also available to purchase as well as sunblock and even sunglasses. The spa, shops, restaurants, bars and entertainment were all of high standard. What makes this property even better is the well-manicured 18 hole golf course with the swans near the 18th hole, as well as the tennis courts and pavilions.
Our room was furnished to perfection. It was absolutely beautiful. We appreciated that every little details of the hotel had not been overlooked. The food and wine serviced were of top quality.
After spending 5 hectic weeks travelling around the USA & Canada, we were so glad to have finished our holiday at such a wonderful resort. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed at many fine places during our travels and Grand Del Mar is up amongst the best.
Thank you to the wonderful staff (including housekeeping) and management who have done a fine job at making our few days there so memorable.

Room Tip: Personally any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have travelled a lot and after winding my way down from San Fran to San Diego, it was amazing to find such a high class hotel such as the Grand Del Mar, they didn't miss a beat, from check in, to room service, to dinners, they have covered everything that a guest wants and pays for. Can't wait to return and will recommend others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haggiseatr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for the second time during mid april. The service is comparable or better to the Peninsula in Beverly Hills, staff expertly trained,secluded in Del mar,food excellent,provided free shuttle service to local restaurants,yes is the only answer the concierge knows.Nothing better in this country that i have experienced.

Room Tip: top floor, face the adult pool or the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maven75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just LOVE the Grand!!! They define and redefine customer service to the highest level. We've been back every summer and it's so nice to see familiar faces who are consistently wonderful and accommodating. Front desk Abkar was so professional, accommodating and thoughtful. We decided to get a bigger room once we got to the hotel and it was a busy weekend and he someone worked his magic and arranged so we didnt' have to move between rooms during our stay. He also called to check on us through out our stay. I just can't say enough. Helio the bellman remembers our name like we're family. I know it's their job but they do it with grace. We absolutely love coming here and will be back year after year. Room service is always top notch and prompt. My toddler stuff was everywhere in the room each day and the maids always tidied up so nicely when we go back. They even lined up all his Disney cars and believe me he brought the whole cast! LOVE the Grand!!! I guess my only complaint is that the bed was a bit old. It's still very fluffy and comfy but the sides were starting to slant/sag a bit. Last time we stayed I requested a mattress change and it was done IMMEDIATELY with apologies. They know how to please guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxe888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing