We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The physical layout is spectacular, spacious and beautifully decorated. Rooms and bathrooms are huge with nice amenities including bath salts for the big soaking tub. Rose petals sprinkled around during turn down service..not sure I needed that. And for the coffee addicts, in room coffee makers while the lobby serves fresh brewed starting at 5:30 am.

Addisons is a 5 star restaurant equal to the best properties in New York.... but bring your wallet. Service was prompt and efficient without being haughty.

The golf, spa and health club facilities are at the same level of excellence.

My only complaint is the internet service. While wifi is free to guests, it is painfully slow and reminds me of Guatemala City. A hotel of this calibre should be capable of doing better.

While the price is not inconsequential, it provides good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    95
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
419
538
27
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is simply magnificient. The best hotel I've been so far.
Location is not so far from San Diego.
The hotel staff surprised us, always very smiling, simply impeccabled and wonderfully helpful.

Room Tip: Breakfast very good. Hotel grounds are very beautiful. Room and bathroom are perfect with all fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very beautiful hotel with a very nice staff. It was an amazing few nights. The people who worked there were very nice. The hotel is very large and quite amazing looking. The rooms are pretty and have an enormous bathroom. The golf course if very nice and the driving range was a lot of fun. The only bad part is the breakfast. The breakfast menu is very limited and the food isn't as good as you would think. But other than that the resort is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Refined excellence. Possibly the best hotel I will ever stay in. It's only 6 years old but has the character of one that is 60 years old. Sustained excellence of service. Very grand. Confident. Remarkable foyer. Great rooms. Elegant and charming.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leobarryyoustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from Thursday January 10th until Sunday January 13th with my husband and two of our four kids. It was a last minute getaway, and it worked out great because we got to take advantage of the "buy two nights get a third night free" special they were offering that weekend. Also, very nice to only have our 5 and 7 year olds with us, and leave the 2 and 3 year olds at home!

The location was fantastic and just what we needed. In the 3 days we were there we spent one at Disneyland (a bit over an hour away), one at Sea World (10 minutes) and one at the coast (5-10 minutes).

The Grand Del Mar, of course, lives up to its name. The architecture is absolutely stunning and not a detail was wasted in its design. The rooms are beautiful and well kept. The service is perhaps some of the best in the country, and I am basing this on the fact that we travel and stay in several high end hotels each year. Most importantly, the staff is friendly! I had the feeling that they all enjoyed being there and really wanted to make it a great experience for myself and my family.

Unfortunately, we were not around long enough to sample all the fantastic food offered at the hotel. The meals we did have at the hotel were very good. We ordered room service for breakfast. The only thing we were disappointed in was the pancakes, which had a strange aftertaste. We also ordered smoothies every day from the cafe on the main floor. We ate at Amaya for dinner as well. The Roasted Butternut Squash soup and the Shrimp Appetizer were very tasty. For dinner I had the Lobster and Crab Pappardelle, which was wonderful. My husband had the short rib, which he commented was 'melt in your mouth'.

It was too cold to swim, but we were able to explore the trails that surround the property. It was beautiful and we got some great pictures. We also had my kids stay in the explorers club for an hour or so each day so my husband and I could enjoy the spa and gym. The explorers club is a parents dream: a babysitting service that your kids will actually want to go to and not want to leave! They offer anything/ everything hour kids could desire from Xbox to wii to colored sand to pour into bottles, to air hockey. My kids had a blast and begged to stay!

Overall, we had a great stay. Short, but very enjoyable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newhampshire411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Grand. Worth every penny!
The people who work here know what they're doing and how it should be done. Combine that with great facilities (2 thumbs up for the explorer's club), wonderful spacious rooms and there is really no reason to look anywhere else when you're staying in the SD area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at other "five star hotels" and they do not compare to the Grand Del Mar!! This place does everything right! Guests are treated to world class service, the rooms are beautiful, the grounds gorgeous. I cannot say enough!
The minute you arrive at the pool, the attendants are at your side to set up chairs and provide towels and ice water. They periodically go around the pool offering frozen grapes or tiny smoothies to the guests. The pool, while not extremely large, was never overly crowded, and my daughter had great fun in it.
The food at Amaya was excellent and there is a small cafe on the grounds where we got a takeout breakfast each morning and ate it on our lovely balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scratchycat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,655 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130-4901 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing