We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in San Diego?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
420 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,091 helpful votes
“Best hotel in San Diego?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is talked about as being the best hotel in San Diego. I wouldn't describe it that way. Prior to this we stayed at Miami's brand new St Regis in Bal Harbour followed by the Beverly Hills Hotel in LA. The Grand Del Mar is streets ahead of both. I would describe this hotel as actually being one of the best hotels in the USA. I gather it is privately owned. All I can say is that the owners clearly know exactly what they want and how to get it. Their hotel is extraordinary. We are on day 2 of a 4 night visit staying on the first floor. My family love this hotel. I particularly appreciate the exceptional attention to detail. Restaurant Amaya food is the best we've had in the last 20 days during which we've been in the USA. We wished we had stuck to Amaya instead of going to Prada tonight, which looked good with ok service but food awful. In particular, I highly appreciate the oversized and very well spaced out dining tables at Amaya.....as well as the service. Also, the concierge team are co-ordinated exceptionally well. Everything is perfection. Quite honestly, I'm stunned. I try to discover hotels of this quality but rarely manage it as so few exist. The property is exquisite and brilliantly managed......with many exceptional staff all over the place. For instance bar manager Humberto is an absolute gem. Housekeeping is nothing short of best ever. This hotel is up there with hotels such as Sandy Lane in Barbados and Coworth Park in Ascot (the UK's best country house hotel). The owners clearly have made a huge effort and spared no expense to make every inch of the hotel into total perfection. They should be very proud of their creation. This is one of the best hotels in the USA.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    105
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
446
596
29
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just came back from spending a few days at the Grand Del Mar. The hotel is very luxuarious and the rooms were awesome, very spacious with large a bathroom and the bed was most comfortable. We ate dinner twice at Amaya, its not the 5 star restaurant on the property but both the service and the food was excellent. We went for Golf and and course was very fun to play yet challenging especially the greens. Having the forecaddie included was helpful as well. Service everywhere on the property was excellent. Definitly worth a visiit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd4usc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've been fortunate to come here a few times. Each time is just as good as the last. We have 2 small kids. This resort is great for families. The 3 salt water pools are great. There is even a little sand area and fire pits through out. There is an "adult" only pool but it's hidden away. Must be very nice. The rooms are plush and maintained nicely. There was plenty of space and if your lucky enough to get a room on the 1st floor then your room opens out into a nice courtyard. The service is excellent. When you walk in the halls, the staff will stop and step aside to greet you and let you pass. There much to explore in the resort. Hiking, which we haven't done yet. Pony rides were great and arranged during our stay. The explorers club was nice, with video games galore and art projects. Played frisbee in the atrium by the restaurant. On one stay we had dinner in the courtyard and the fire pit was lit. They had brought smores for us to do fireside. The Amaya had a nice breakfast buffet and the menu was nice as well. Nice view of the courtyard. A popular site for wedding ceremonies. Will be coming back again and again.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms open out to courtyard, some even have fire pits in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed 4 great days and nights at the Grand Del Mar. I thought the service was perfect. The hotel is beautiful. The hotel has a good gym, outdoor pool, and golf course on site. We were pleasantly surprised when the hotel accommodated our group's request for a place to watch college football. Club M provided the perfect location to watch the Tide crumble. Aside from that pedestrian pursuit, the hotel is a luxury resort in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgreene73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

So many positive review for this resort... I went in with high expectations but was pleasantly surprised that it exceeded it. Service was so receptive. Even the house keeping staff and the engineers that past by the halls were extremely friendly. Resort was beautiful. Pool area and the hiking was superb. Each room was tastefully decorated neo classic. The restaurants on the property was superb with Addison being way over the top in food and service. If you're an avid golfer, this is it. If you just want a place to escape this is it. I can't help but to make comparisons with my recent experiences at the st Regis and Mandarin Oriental. They were so bland compared to the GDM. Thanks so much for wonderful 3 day stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love this place. It's our 4th time here, we have been here every thanksgiving in the past 3 years. It's a really special place here, amazing, amazing, amazing service and care. Even if they mess up, which rarley happens they will know how to make you feel better. The staff is super helpful and nice, spa is UNBELIVBLE and my kids loves the kids club here. I have only good things to say.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danahelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I attended a two and a half day business meeting at the Grand Del Mar, but slept at the L'Auberge Del Mar, from Nov 13 - 16, 2012. I've already reviewed the L'Auberge. I can't speak to the rooms at the Grand Del Mar, but very well traveled Fortune 500 CEOs who attended the meeting said they were "over the top" in size and appointments. The GDM is inland, so it doesn't have that beach feel to it. In fact, although at first site it looks like a typical southern California resort with stucco and terracota mexican architecture, its stylings are much more Mediterranean/European. The food and service were outstanding. The on property restaurant, Addison, is phenomenal as is the resort's wine list. The golf course is very well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Av8Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130-4901 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing