We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfection!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best service, food, rooms and property. If you want to relax and be treated like royalty, then look no further. I've stayed at Shutters on the beach, Wynn, The Plaza, Mandarin Oriental and The Grand Del Mar beats them all!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edlesbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    95
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
403
514
28
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Husband and I enjoyed our Anniversary at this wonderful property. The Spa was amazing, I had a facial and a massage and both treatments left me profoundly relaxed. Had a couple minor issues... I was supposed to have lunch by the pool between appointments. I had selected a lounge chair and relaxed by the pool before my first treatment. I told the pool attendant I would soon disappear into the Spa and return in an hour for lunch. When I came back out, my chair had been given to another guest. All chairs were full so I ate my lunch in the Spa instead. Also, my esthetician recommended a mask and said she would leave the info for me with the Spa desk. When I completed treatment and went to check out and possibly purchase the mask, there were no notes for me. Lastly, my husband had arrived looking for me while I was finishing my last treatment. One of the Spa gals said she would give me the message to meet him at the pool however, they failed to pass that on. Minor issues but they add up to support a 4 star rating rather than 5. The golf package I booked for our stay included an upgraded room upon arrival. For some reason that didn't happen automatically. The room we were given was beautiful however one of the sinks was dirty (hair and grit) and the balcony had cobwebs. Unbeknownst to me, my husband had called the concierge before our arrival to inquire about Champagne in our room for our Anniversary celebration. He was disappointed to find the Champagne was not in our room when we arrived. It turns out it was complimentary due to our celebration so it's hard to complain but we sure would have preferred not to have to chase it down. My husband went to reception to ask about the upgrade and champagne and was told the new room would be ready and waiting with our luggage and champagne upon our return form our trip to the beach. When we got back, the luggage hadn't been moved and the champagne was still not in our room. Turns out it was in the old room and moved over eventually. It was accompanied by a delicious chocolate cake and once we finally got it, it was a great treat. The concierge can set up "beach service" for you which means they take you to the Del Mar beach with chairs, towels, umbrellas and water. Wonderful way to go to the beach! We also had car service to take and pick us up from dinner. Beautiful facilities, great golf, we will be back and hopefully next time I can give 5 stars - I really really wanted to!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I stayed four nights in this hotel. As a local suggested..it feels as if a Las Vegas hotel got dropped in north SD. Not a lot right there, so really meant as a full service resort and that succeeds. A bit of a rabbit warren and gaudy Italianate designs.
Other than that, the service was outstanding. From the valet, to the front desk, to the restaurants, to room service and housekeeping...we could not have asked for more.
Really like the service, but the location is just OK. I have to admit that I like the ocean when in SD, or some other services/character around me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There is not a nicer hotel or experience than this one. From the moment we drove up to the moment we drove away it was pristine and blew us away. The staff is amazing and the attention to detail is phenomenal. You must have dinner at Addison. This was my husband's 50th birthday and were treated like royalty the entire time. The luxury and appointments of the resort and grounds exceeded our expectations. The food was sublime. We stayed in a suite and I highly recommend it. The spa was the nicest I've ever been in, and we have traveled a great deal. The spa treatments exceeded our expectations as well.
We truly had a magical weekend. Our trip coordinator after I made reservations helped me make excursion plans and everything went off without a hitch. They truly know what they're doing and are very good at it.

Room Tip: The suite was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belovedswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a very grand hotel but my concerns are the size (way too big) and lack of service.

On the size front, the hotel is so large that I literally go lost on three occasions trying to find my room. It's like being in one of those huge Vegas hotels

On the service front, let me be clear that I'm not one of those whiny folks that needs to be attended to all the time. From the car valet to getting a few towels at the pool for my kids everything took way long - like 15 minutes. To top it off my kids pancakes arrived at breakfast burned. If you are going to position yourself as a high end resort you have to provide a base level of service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional personalized service, and we apologize this was not your experience during every aspect of your stay at The Grand Del Mar. Your concerns have been shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to better demonstrate Five-Star service to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar Executive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

WE took our family to this exquiste resort this Summer to celebrate a special anniversary.
There are absolutely no complaints!
The service is 5 star, as well as the room accomodations (even Nespresso coffee makers in each room.)
The food is beyond good!
The grounds are lovely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely amazing hotel and one of my best stays ever. My room was on the 3rd level, around the corner of the business centre. Very convenient as it was just a minute walk from the main lobby/reception. Room was very tastefully done up. I was impressed to find 2 pairs of good quality bedroom slippers. I am a frequent traveller and I have observed that this is not a commodity in even major hotel chains in the US that travellers like myself really appreciate. The care in making thoughtful arrangements in even the smallest details make the entire experience really memorable. The chambermaid tied pretty gold ribbons to my laptop cables which I was impressed. Balcony view was excellent, overlooking some hills and cottages. Great facilities (swimming pools, gym, tennis court). Great service mostly (except maybe the bartenders at the lobby bar who looked inexperienced and unfriendly). Food was okay, nothing to shout about but not bad. I can go on raving but in short, this is absolutely an amazing place. I came from halfway across the globe and I would come back again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoey169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,595 reviews
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing