We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A slice of haven tucked away with spacious rooms, wonderful amenities, great food, and exceptionally clean rooms and well kept grounds. The staff was friendly and very helpful. This is a hotel for a romantic weekend or fun for the entire family. I'll definitely recommend this is friends and family.

Room Tip: A regular room overlooking pool area have wonderful balconies and are very large and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,427 - 1,433 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

A beautiful five-star resort. The room was beautiful with a unusual amount of attention to detail down to the NESPRESSO machine in the room. The resort has a wonderful old European feeling. Wonderful sitting and lounge areas - much like being at a large estate. The golf course is beautiful however it lacked the green coloring - waiting for spring colors!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband took me away for a night, escaping from our two boys and he picked the perfect place. I loved everything about The Grand Del Mar. The service is amazing, i love the decor, the bed was super comfy, the grounds are stunning....yes, we will me back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twoman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel, perfect location, very friendly staff... If you are looking for a family-friendly resort, this property had a ton of activities for all ages. Plus you just can't beat the beauty of San Diego!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked a day spa experience at this fabulous resort. From the minute you drive up it is hard to believe your are in the middle of a very suburban setting of San Diego. It is a very tranquil beautiful setting minutes away from the hustle and bustle of San Diego. Very posh and plush.European architechture. The Spa is beautifully appointed with marble and travertine throughout. Very nicely decorated changing area and dressing area with all you would need . Nice spa cuisine and teas. The lounge area is beautiful with a firelplace and wonderul luxurious daybeds and chaises. The therapists were top notch. I had a stone massage and it was heaven. The jacuzzi is inside and very spacious. Both wet and dry saunas available. After our treatments we had lunch at the restaurant Amaya which overlooks the pristine golf course. The food was delicious, as well as the service. It is very pricey but worth the luxury. We strolled around the property and it is immaculately kept. Was surprised to stumble on the hotels own church. A must for spa connoissuers. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great property, kind of expensive but still worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barking1RedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There is nothing quite like it I've ever seen: absolutely stunning.
I was there for a meeting/conference, which was ideal. But I want to go back with my wife.
This is truly an oasis of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,014 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 278 in San Diego
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $462 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing