We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Grand Del Mar is located in some foothills east of Del Mar, in a very upscale "toney" neighborhood. The grounds are immense and perfectly landscaped. Even the golf course has waterfalls, a stream, and colorful flowers everywhere. I love the fact that you can "self park" your car FOR NO CHARGE! What a wonderful option for those of us who are quite capable of walking to our car, and do not like paying $20.00-$35.00(Four Seasons, Vail)a day to park our car. Every hotel should have this option available, and not just tell visitors they have no choice. Hurrah for the Grand del Mar on this matter.

The lobby has various designs of marble flooring, classical furniture and wallhangings, and fresh flowers.The intercom system has nice Spanish music playing, even in the elevators! Right off of the lobby is a formal living area, library, and cocktail lounge. Stunning!

Check-in went smoothly, and I "held my breath" that our room would be in a good location.
When we walked in we were overwhelmed with the grandeur and opulence of the room. We have stayed in several Ritz Carlton's, some incredible hotels on 4 Hawaiian islands, as well as gorgeous properties in Mexico, and this one was the nicest by far. We lucked out for sure with a perfect location. Alot of grand hotels have fabulous grounds and commom areas, but the rooms are just regular- not this hotel!

The bathroom had a large marble tub, large shower, closeted toilet, two sinks with a television in between the mirrors, a chandalier, and pass-through space that can be opened/closed as desired, opening the bath area to the bedroom. Marble, marble everywhere- "Wow"! The closet is substantial, has a safe, and bath robes.

There was a mini-bar in the room hallway, but no microwave. The room was large, and the bed was extremely comfortable. My very favorite part was opening the sliding glass doors to find a large balcony" looking out" onto a huge courtyard, with a view of some plush homes on the hillside nearby. It was as if we were actually on the French Riviera. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and we couldn't have been happier. Instead of putting a tag on the doorknob for privacy or service needed, you punch a button that lights up in the hallway next to the door. Green light-room needs cleaning/ Red light-privacy please. Brillant idea!

Because we had eaten a late lunch before checking in, we decided to order room service for a change. It was tasty, delivered promptly on a cart with a white tablecloth and flowers, and just nice to enjoy our room that night. This was the only good food we had from the hotel.

The next morning, after getting espressos from the hotel coffee bar, we decided to "take a tour".The property is so large, that it took us about 2 hours just to walk around ! We kept saying "Wow" over and over. The golf course is right next door, and there are some privately owned Villa style homes adjacent to the main building.

If any of you are planning a very special wedding, I'd highly recommend the Grand del Mar!They have a quaint European style chapel right on the property, and many rooms to choose for a reception, not to mention the outside covered areas with fireplaces and firepits.. You will be "living like Royalty" !

There is an olympic size "adult's only" pool, which is next to the hotel spa. Servers bring out chair cushions, towels, and drinks/snacks.The family pool was in another area, and the children seemed to be having a great time. We stayed at the adult pool, then took a walk on the path that goes around the property-peaceful, quiet, and as if we were in Tuscany.

The only disappointing part of this visit was the food in the restaurants. We ate lunch at the golf club, sitting outside to enjoy the cool," sunshiny" day. Our cocktails were fine, but the fish tacos were terrible, and I mean awful ! There were 4 small uncooked white shells, with a few morsels of grilled fish on each, topped by some tasteless white cabbage. No pico de gallo, no sour cream, no guacamole, no red cabbage or special sauce, It was bland and tasteless. We were very disappointed.

That evening we ate at one of the hotel restaurants, and again were very disappointed in the food. It was nice sitting outside near a firepit, being able to gaze at the moon and stars, and smell the fresh air. However I could barely finish my dinner. To be honest, I don't even remember what I had, and my husband call tell you that I can verbally recite every superb meal I have ever had, even 20 years ago, in full detail. Both of us disappointed again. If we are in the area again we will definitely splurge (over $400.00 a night) for two nights and stay here again, but will go elsewhere for lunch and dinner. You may want to "check out" on the internet nearby places to eat that are good. The concierges were extremely friendly and efficient, but were hesitant to recommend nearby restaurants. Naturally the hotel wants visitors to stay there and eat at the hotel's restaurants.. Everything was expensive, and the food just wasn't worth the high price.

We "saved up" a few years ago to stay at the Highlands Inn in Carmel, which was romantic and unique, and now we also have special memories of this" splurge stay" at the Grand del Mar. Special place! Go for the ambiance, luxury and serenity, not for a gourmet food experience, and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor. The first floor is actually under the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geezerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

The GDM service is second to none. The attentive staff everywhere are friendly and eager to help with your stay. We stayed three nights and wanted to stay longer. The standard room with two queens was more than enough for our family of four, with two young daughters. A very relaxing place where every detail is taken care of. The cafe/store was a great place to pick up a small breakfast. The Amaya is an outstanding restaurant, great food, and the staff was amazing. The Friday/Saturday lounge singer was outstanding! The resort has great pools where the staff took great care of you. The location is perfect for a quick drive north to Carlsbad or south to San Diego. We will definitely return to the GDM. We've stayed at the Aviara before (which is excellent as well), but we like the GDM more (there's a more calm & relaxed feel to it, maybe because it didn't feel crowded). We've stayed at many five star places, but I would give more than five stars to the GDM for their service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I had never heard of this hotel before my husband had a meeting there. I was so shocked at how unbelievably fabulous it is. The service is amazing. The decor is beyond belief. They didn't miss a trick. Every detail is taken care of, down to the tassle on the key to the mini bar. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Everything about this hotel was absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnieszkateresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The grounds are lovely and the rooms so elegant that you could happily spend a rainy day inside. The only flaw that we found was not offering Big Ten football on the large TV's at the outside bar or golf course lounge, they did not subscribe to that network. Service is number one at the Grand Del Mar, the front of the house is most pleased to meet your requests with a smile and housekeeping is one of the best I have seen. Each day my tangled phone and computer electronic cords are neatly tied with a ribbon! The food is wonderful; do not miss their lobster bisque. We all have to decide how to spend our travel dollars, here is one resort that is worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The service at Grand Del Mar is impeccable - you will not find better. The grounds are beautiful, the food is great and the golf course is nice (the caddies will impress you with their knowledge of the local vegetation). The only downside that I can think of is that the hotel is about 15 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmc525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We've been coming to the Grand Del Mar every year when we visit San Diego. Each year, things get better. This year, they've added the horse stable and horse back riding lessons and trails...great for kids. The staff have always been top-notched. The service exemplary. Both restaurants on the property (Addisons and Amaya) are excellent. The Addisons is a little pricey though. Only one minor complaint, the kids thought that the pool is a little smallish and boring for such a high-end resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,096 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,087 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,222 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $432 - $1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing