We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Grand Del Mar”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Fantastic property set in the hills and grove lands of Southern California. Outstanding golf resort. World Class Restaurant (Michelin Rated).
Impeccable guest service rivaling that of the "big names".

Very relaxing resort with a feel of Western European service and achitecture.
Very easy and fast access to the coast as well as San Diego.....also easy to Tijuana (although why you would care is beyond me.....:-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,508
    118
    39
    19
    14
See reviews for
486
655
35
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. The service is excellent from the time you check in to the time you leave, we did not experience any bad service while at the resort. This was the 2nd time we have stayed at the resort and stay here whenever we are in the area and would recommend this resort to everyone we know. The golf is great and all the restaurants we ate in were fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Relaxation Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golftraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

While visiting friends in San Diego in April, I spent a lovely afternoon at the Grand Del Mar (I did not stay overnight). We had lunch at the Club on the terrace. Food and service were excellent, and we had a lovely view onto the golf course and gardens. After lunch, my friend and I went on a trail ride through the hotel grounds. A very scenic experience as the trail meanders over ridges and through a valley. The hotel has just recently established a stable. Not having ridden for over 10 years I was a bit nervous. But Lacy and Jessica, who run the stables and escort the rides were both very capable, providing just the right mix of reassurance, encouragement and helpful hints. The horses were beautiful and well-mannered. The stables - a large loose box for each horse - and arena are also well set up. I would recommend this experience to any golf widow (or widower) staying at the hotel, or just passing through.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Myself and girlfriends stayed at the Grand Del Mar to celebrate birthdays. We had a fabulous time. In less than 24 hours we were immersed in luxury, relaxation and the best customer service I have experienced in a long time. The property is gorgeous, customer service is top notch, rooms are very comfortable and spacious, very relaxing atmosphere everywhere you walk. I can't say anything negative about this place..it is a wonderful escape. Although a little pricey, it is worth every penny. You will walk away relaxed and feel as though you spent a week at a spa. Best hotel I've stayed at in a very long time...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktbmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely place, surrounded by hills and golf courses. Feels so remote and relaxing. The hotel is first rate. There is a walking trail around the hotel which is awesome. This would make a fantastic venue for a small intimate wedding. Short distance away from the beach and eclectic restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Grand Del Mar is just a beautiful property. The walk to the room may be long, but the rooms are outstanding in their comfort, their size, and their amenities. Service by the attendants at the valet parking, the bell boys, the reception, the room service personnel, even the employees who you run into in the halways was uniformly pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crvcrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is hands down the best resort I have ever stayed at and I have been there twice. The level of customer service is extraordinary and I am in a service industry so I do recognize exceptional when I see it.

The setting alone is gorgeous but the interior of the hotel is just beautiful. I have read a few of the other recent reviews and note that perhaps I am not quite as particular as some reviewers but I must say I didn't experience a single negative experience at all. I find the room decor to be lovely. I did not use the pools although I sat poolside several times and did not see any "upkeep" issues at all.

I did not eat in the hotel restaurant on this trip although I did order in room service once and it was very good.

Really, the service is what makes the Del Mar so memorable. EVERY staff person greets you and makes eye contact. If someone is vacuuming a hallway and you approach, they stop, turn the vacuum off and wait until you pass by. It is unbelieveable really. I have been in some very classy resorts where the staff goes out of their way to avoid contact and in the restaurants will even vacuum around the patrons.

I did use the salon services on this trip and again- outstanding! It's a lovely setting with very professional staff.

My dream is to spend a week at the Del Mar. Someday.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing