We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11002 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-4288   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #5 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay anywhere else !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

You won't find a better place to stay than this Residence Inn. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast has everything you could want to eat and we really enjoyed the delicious BBQ they served on a night we were there. The pool is sparkling and the kids enjoyed the basketball court. Everyone is so friendly, make sure you say hello to Hetal after Theresa checks you in. We won't stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Janet U,

I see you got know a couple of our employees and experienced the amazing service we provide everyday to our guests.

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our evening BBQ and the sport court.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    102
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
158
45
19
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Excellent facility. Kind and accomodating staff always helpful and responsive to customer needs. Great location, comfortable rooms which is important to the business traveler. No complaints I have absolutely no reason to stay anywhere else. Thanks Hetal for your continuous outstanding leadership at this facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bob U,

Thank you so much for your strong endorsement of our hotel.

We are very proud of our staff and our property and I'm so glad to hear you feel it's your home away from home.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I greatly enjoyed my stay here. The location is outstanding and the people are top notch. In particular, Theresa is one of the nicest hospitality representatives I have encountered, and she made me feel very welcome and appreciated for choosing their establishment. When on business travel, I usually like to check in quickly but this time I found myself chatting about my family vacation to Hawaii a few weeks back and headed up to my room with a big smile on my face. That was the direct result of exceptional hospitality, and I will be back. Also worth noting is that the complimentary happy hour includes a very fine ale that I have not seen offered at any other RI. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
robert S,

Yes, Theresa is an outstanding associate and we are very lucky to have her and the rest of our staff represent our hotel. We get so many great compliments about everyone at our Front Desk and Gatehouse, it really makes my job a lot easier.

I love that ale as well, it's one of my favorites. We actually buy it from a local brewery as we try and incorporate some local offerings in our evening social. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting you the next time you're in San Diego.

Siincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I asked my company to change my reservation at a previous hotel to be moved to this hotel. Even though this hotel was 15 minutes further out than the previous hotel, I didn't care! I'm usually very happy to stay in Residence Inns...this one did not disappoint!!! Room was very clean and modern, good television channels (yes, that matters! HAHA!!) The surrounding area was great also! I actually use the kitchen at Residence Inns, so I was very happy to find a Sprouts grocery store across the street. There are also MANY restaurants around in walking distance! The front desk staff also provided a list of places to eat/shop/have fun at in the area. I also thought that was a plus! You don't have to Google it, it's already done for you. The staff was really nice, breakfast was great, rooms cleaned well daily. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N_THE_AIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
N_The_Air,

Thank you for insisting your company move you from your original hotel to our property. It sounds like even though we are a little further away, our property is well worth the extra few minutes in commute.

I couldn't agree more, our location is absolutely perfect with several restaurants, shops and grocery stores right within walking distance.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Location was very convenient to the Wild Animal Park. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was energizing. Staff was very attentive. Breakfast crew very efficient at keeping food out. Simple check in and check out.

Room Tip: Elevator toward the main lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: Promoted green handling of linens and very resource friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Randell G,

I have never been to the Safari Park but it's on my list of things to do, especially since it's so conveniently locate to our hotel.

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and all of its amenities.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Thanks to Dhel for all of her gracious help! She was great & helped us a number of times! Good kitchen staff too. Had a great stay & will definitely return! Can't wait to come back. Nice rooms, great pool, good grocery & other stores nearby. Convenient! Great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
GRT 88,

Thank you for your very kind words about Dhel and the rest of our staff. It's such a pleasure to come to work everyday and work with these associates and to meet guests such as yourself.

I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very up to date and modern. Conveniently located to theaters, dining and shopping. The staff are very professional and helpful. The facilities are the best I have stayed at in San Diego. All shopping, dining etc. are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Very respectful of the environment. they seem to have conservation in mind.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
George K,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Address: 11002 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-4288
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo / Carmel Mountain Ranch Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing