We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caring and compassionate during San Diego wildfires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Ranked #4 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Caring and compassionate during San Diego wildfires”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were evacuated from our home during the recent wildfires in the San Diego area. When I got to this Residence Inn, the staff was caring, compassionate and professional. They opened their arms to us, and our pets, making everything easy for us in a time of need. The Residence Inn was in great condition, clean and maintained, and I would highly recommend this location.

Thank you for helping my family in a time of need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Nick F,

I'm so glad you and your family were able to find safety from the recent fires at our hotel. I know it was extremely stressful for so many people. We estimate that over 100 displaced families found refuge at the Residence Inn Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch.

I hope you returned to your home unscathed.

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    117
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
185
57
21
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great community feel. Very clean rooms. We were very pleased. Marriott hotels are usually great. They had a good array of breakfast items and even hosted dinner on cinco de mayo. This included wine and beer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JeffStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
JeffStef,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate it.

I hope you enjoyed yourselves on Cinco de Mayo. Like every night, we tried to make it special for all of our guests.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in San Diego.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was in San Diego on business, and needed a place to stay where I could unwind. This was the place. Not only was the staff very friendly and the room very nice, but the breakfast was great, and the meet and greets in the afternoons were excellent as well with a fine selection of food and drinks to choose from. It's located ideally with lots of shopping and culinary choices within a mile of the property. At the end of a long day, this was definitely the place I could call "home away from home". I've already recommended my coworkers to choose this property when in town for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
dustyguitar,

"Home away from home" is exactly what we strive for here at the Residence Inn Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch and I'm so happy to hear we achieved that.

Our guests have come to love our complimentary full breakfast along with the hosted evening social with complimentary beer and wine.

Thank you for sharing your experience with your friends and co-workers, we truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had to evacuate because of the San Diego San Marcos Cocos fire. This required us to make a reservation as we were loading the car to evacuate. We were able to get the reservation and while it was before 4pm (normal checkin), the front desk staff was able to get us in a room that would accommodate us and our 2 cats early. Theresa at the front desk was great, as well as the other front desk staff, including head of housekeeping. We can't say enough good things about them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
David D,

I'm so glad we were able to help you and your family during this very stressful time. I hope that your home and your family are all safe and back home.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn in San Diego Rancho Bernardo for
three days as we were evacuated from our home in San Marcos.

I must tell you that everyone at this Marriott was working around the clock
to make everyone's stay as nice as possible. They extended the breakfast
hours as they were completely full and it was crowded at times. There was
never a lack of food or service. The staff who cleaned our room were
courteous and friendly and did such a great job. Everyone at the front desk
was very busy but did a good job.

One lady stood out; her name is JANICE. She was obviously new and I don't
think I have ever seen anyone try harder. She is a good problem solver and
understands priorities and does it with a smile and genuine caring. I
watched her while I was standing in line.

Winnie and family

Green Features: If you are a Marriott Rewards traveler be sure and let the front desk know this. You may need to remind them of your special privileges.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 773winnien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Winnie N,

First of all, I just want to say I hope everything is ok and that your home, family and friends are all safe. It's been a really bad week for all of us here in San Diego.

I'm so glad we were able to take care of not just you but also the over 100 guests that sought refuge at the Residence Inn by Marriott Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch. As you stated, it was a very busy week and our team worked around the clock to make sure everyone was taken care of.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your praise with the team, especially Janice.

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed here one night as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. We found this hotel to be terribly expensive compared to other hotels we had been staying in during our trip to California, yet offered considerably less in terms on amenities. The breakfast was poor quality and there was no bar in the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but we just couldn't help but feel we were being charged a lot of money for not very much.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and could hear a lot of traffic noise in my room - if you are also a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaR730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
AnnaR730,

I'm sorry you don't feel you received value for what you paid to stay at the Residence Inn Rancho Bernardo. We do strive to ensure we offer our guests all of the amenities they have come to expect from Residence Inn by Marriott which includes, complimentary breakfast, a complimentary evening social three times per week wich includes complimentary beer and wine, free internet, and free parking.

I do understand some guests would prefer a hotel that offers a bar on property and you're correct, we do not have one at our hotel. I'm not sure if you made your reservation on line or not but if you did, you would have noticed we do not list having a bar. The features and price of our hotel are listed for all to see so they can make sure they are making the right choice for their stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I really appreciated that the front desk staff offered a couple of options as to where I wanted to stay in the hotel. You rarely see that kind of generosity and I spend a LOT of time on the road. When we got to the second available unit, I fell in love with it immediately as it was set up like a real home.. a separate bedroom, a cute kitchen with breakfast bar, and a livingroom with a fireplace! I will definitely choose Residence Inn at Carmel Mtn Ranch the next time the opportunity arises. Thank you so much for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregM-Schmidt, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
KKMKS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

I'm so glad to hear you felt right at home the minute you walked into your room. This is exactly what we strive for.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in San Diego.

Sincerely,

Greg Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Address: 11002 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-4288
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#29 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo / Carmel Mountain Ranch Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing