We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Extraordinary Dining Experience!!!”

Amarin Thai Restaurant
Ranked #888 of 4,722 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Dining Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were looking for a Thai restaurant for dinner and since reviews of previous restaurants have been our guide, we chose to follow the Trip Advisor’s choice.
The Amarin Thai Restaurant was ranked second of the Thai restaurants and # 202 of 2003 restaurants in San Diego by Trip Advisor. From Downtown San Diego it is easily accessible by cab or bus.

We were surprised by the line of people waiting for their table in this restaurant. It was a chilly night and so my wife and I cuddled together on the outside chairs waiting for our table for 20-30 minutes. Our patience was rewarded. We ordered a hot pot of vegetable Potak (hot and sour) soup and Tofu Tod (extra firm fried tofu with chili sauce) for starters. For our main entrée we ordered Panang Curry Tofu and a bottle of merlot. The food was just exquisitely prepared, temperature hot, spiced to perfection and just scrumptious. The servers dressed in traditional garb worked as a team to provide the most pleasant, friendly, attentive, efficient, and most professional service. The price of our dinner was most reasonable.

Overall, we had an extraordinary dining experience in this highly recommended Amarin Thai Restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Worthwhile to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We were taken to this place by my brother who had been there a few times and liked it. He is vegetarian. The food is pretty typical, good, but not amazing. They have a good vegetarian selection. In addition to the usual tofu substitution, they also have mock duck for a vege choice. I liked the decor and mood. It looks like they have quite an extensive wine selection. It is definitely not a dive. It's a decent place for a nice evening at Thai food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I went there several times and I really like their sitting on the side patio.. Is very comfy, romantic and cozy.. The food is good, big portions, affordable prices and service is great.. What else do you need?

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Thai, so yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Don't look any further this litltle hole in the wall is the best Thai restaurant in San Diego. This place is great for a casual bite with family and friends, the staff dressed up in their exotic outfits is delightful with their customers. Price is really affordable. The drunken noodles plates is pure perfection. You have the choice to order their spicy dishes on a 1 to 10 scale.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Thai Fried Rice but Unfriendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

"With great food comes great responsibility (of polite service)" - lost me as a customer because they don't fulfill the latter! For years, we have had Amarin's Thai fried rice but their service has been unfriendly and doesn't seem like they are getting any better....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bhavna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarin Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amarin Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing