We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Umi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi Sushi

Umi Sushi
Ranked #662 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tucson
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Yummy Umi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We passed this restaurant going to and from our hotel on Shelter Island and decided to give it a try. I had read some good reviews and they didn't lie!

We had a wonderful meal of albacore sushi, maguro, lobster roll and salmon skin roll. Everything was delicious and we'll go back next time we're in San Diego.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice spot for sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate here because it was close to hotel. Good atmosphere and service. Food was good. No complaints at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerryj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I go to this place every time I come to San Diego.
Straight from the airport.
You can't get a yelow tail shashimi like theirs on the east coast, and I go for my traditional double yellow tail shashimi order every time. They actually go out of their way to give you different cuts from diffreent parts of the fish when they detect someone who enjoys it.
My wife goes for their seafood salad, which is excellent, and their yammy crunches.
Everything priced for "normal people", but quality and generocity of portions are superior!
I did bring friends on several occasions, perhaps the place was a lesser hit with those of them who must have a super-contemporaty ambience, but at the end all of them loved Umi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge American Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The place is big and there is always room for everyone, the fish was fresh but the quality of the rolls didn't amaze whatsoever, they get destroyed as soon as you pick them with your chopsticks and there is simply too much rice. I wish I had tried a soup or something better to write a better review but sorry this place didn't live up for long for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“sushiiiii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

my favorite sushi place in San Diego, a big restaurant with no waiting list. is not one of those 50% discount places.... very good presentation. the only problem is, parking is always full, but theres street parking. thanks umi sushi!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yohan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Umi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing