We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Neighborhood Place”

Ponce's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #385 of 4,722 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fruitland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Local Neighborhood Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have had Mexican food in many places from Mexico to the Canadian border. The food here is some of the best I have tasted. My wife and I loved the chicken in her chimi and in my enchilada. Very flavorful and moist. My chile relleno was light, large, and stuffed with a huge helping of cheese. And the marguerita!!!
A large water glass of nearly straight tequila. The place is loud and you will have to wait to be seated probably every night of the week. But, once seated, the service is prompt and your food arrives before you have time to order a second beer. Every server that passes you table asks if you need anything. I liked this. Even Ponce, Jr., the owner stopped by and chatted for a few minutes even though he was very busy. Portions are huge. You won't leave hungry or dissatisfied. We are in San Diego for a week and plan to go back at least once more.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrettyGoodGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a favorite for over 30 years....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Coming from San Diego, I ate at Ponce's pretty much all of my adult life. Even when I lived in Ocean Beach, we'd drive all the way to Ponce's for dinner. Their guacamole enchiladas are always on my plate, as well as one other item. Margaritas are great, service is always good. It's very inexpensive for the amount you get. I don't live in SD anymore, but one thing guaranteed, I will always make a lunch or dinner date to Ponce's, at least once!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place has THE BEST Mexican food! Family owned and the staff is so friendly and totally remembers you if you are a regular! I used to live right around the corner and literally went there about 6 times a week! I LOVE the fresh guacamole, the burritos are amazing, and the taco is so yummy! The shredded chicken is amazing! :-)
Now I live close to Los Angeles and we STILL drive to San Diego just to get our Ponce's fix!!!!! Great place to meet friends, grab food, get take out to take home and freeze for later - a little loud inside, so not great for a date where you want to talk a lot - but FUN and casual and great prices!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camryontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“best sit down mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

this place is so great! amazing margaritas and combination plates!! worth the wait if there is one!!! great for lunch or dinner!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lilsnipper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food in San Diego!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Have been coming here for over 20 years...........by far the best mexican food i've ever had in all of san diego..........and the margaritas rock!.........especially if claire makes 'em...........go here folks, its worth it...................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponce's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ponce's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing