We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harney Sushi

Harney Sushi
Ranked #81 of 4,698 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We showed up on a Friday night around 6:30 pm. A very busy time for dinner and the Hostess girl was soooo nice! we had little ones and she made sure we had a kid friendly table in a quiet spot. This place is so hip and fun and the food, drinks, and service was AMAZING!!! I wish i lived near here i would be a regular! Our server was soo nice and very helpful. I wish i remembered her name! You can't go wrong with this place.. Fresh fish and amazing speciality cocktails! I had the Thai Basil kiss martini and it was very tasty! Can't wait to go back on our next San Diego trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    47
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Old Town dining option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tried this spot while staying in Old Town San Diego last week. After a few days satisfying all our Mexican food needs, Sushi seemed a good option. This new to us restaurant was wonderful. We were glad to arrive early, as the place was packed and the wait as we left must have exceeded 30 minutes. Old Town is jammed w/tourists in summer months and weekends. This place also had a large contingent of locals. Be advised: it is a young, hip crowd and the music is loud (both the recorded stuff and from the DJ who started at about 8:00). We, being neither young, nor hip had our doubts initially. We were seated in a corner, by the DJ stand and while it WAS the only empty table, it did serve to get "Grandma and Grandpa" out of the way. The service and food were great. Inventive sushi, attractively served. Wait staff was attentive, efficient, friendly. Try the "Monkey Brains" an inelegant tag for mushroom caps stuffed w/tuna and 2 great dipping sauces. I suspect you could not go wrong w/any of their rolls. Albacore tuna belly was a special that night and compared favorably to tuna belly cut from my catch a couple years ago, while still on the fishing boat, returning to the dock at Point Loma, luscious. It's mentioned that prices are a bit high. I suspect the rents are as well, in one of the busiest areas of San Diego. We were just a bit North of $100.00, w/a nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc (wine list was small, as usual, Sake and Beers being the favored beverages).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family vacationed for one week in San Diego. We loved this place so much, we ate here twice during that week! The sushi was some of the best we have ever had! So fresh! We tried two rolls recommended by our servers--the Rolls Royce and the Crunchy Shrimp Roll. Both were phenomenal!!! Service was fantastic and everyone was so friendly! If you like sushi, this is the place to try--you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Locale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

You pay a little more then the more local sushi places but the food is excellent and the ambience and service is first class.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rts1234rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to enjoy some vegetarian fare and found This gem. I had a most enjoyable experience in every way. Everything wax top notch. You have to try the edamame with truffle oil!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harney Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Harney Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing