We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$119
View deal
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Algotels
$114
View deal
Hotels.com$119
Vio.com$119
Lol.travel$138
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveler rating
510
333
236
130
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
510
333
236
130
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business trip hotel restaurant balboa park valet parking old town freeway downtown uber zoo sd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Very clean facility and rooms. Elevators constantly had problems. Staff were either amazing or didn't care. Breakfast was average quality but overpriced. The bar was great and bartenders were great. Parking is pretty expensive. Almost $30 a night.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Companion05336286959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khalat T, Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Hello Companion05336286959,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I'm so sorry you experienced issues with the elevators over your stay. We are currently in the process of modernizing our elevators to alleviate any issues with in the future. I hope you will consider staying with us again on your future trips to San Diego.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

This is a weird review. Everything that could go wrong, went wrong. BUT... BUT... the staff did absolutely EVERYTHING correct to try their best to make it right and that's why I gave it 4 stars. I will attribute it to the hotel going through renovations, or perhaps human error why we didn't get our king room when we had it booked as such. But they tried their best to make it all right. I do recommend to anyone booking here to demand an even numbered room so you get the mountain/pool side of the hotel and not the freeway side because that freeway is loud! Would I stay here again? Perhaps, mostly because of the staff and not so much the property. Great job guys! Very professional.

Room tip: Choose an even numbered room
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreekGuy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khalat T, Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Hello GreekGuy9999,

I truly appreciate the kind words about the team. We take pride in providing every guest with the service you expect from a Hilton property. I apologize for the initial hiccups but am so glad the team was able to turn things around for you. We will have a even numbered room set aside for your next stay.

Thank you,
-K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

I'll preface by saying we had no problem going out for fine dining and spending upwards of $500. That said, being hit up for another $27 per night when parking was a complete non-issue isn't very distinguished conduct by a "better" hotel. We stayed three nights and every night, parking was readily available. We paid for parking during our stays in Pasadena and in San Fran$ico, but parking availability was definitely limited. My cousin in SD rode with us for two of the days of our stay, parking his car on the vast parking lot, with nary a problem (ie. no pass). I should have said we arrived by Uber... Even though it's just $27, I hate feeling taken advantage of with BS charges.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank AaronDial
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khalat T, Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Hello AaronDial,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. While i understand that paying for parking isn't the highlight of anyone's trips, it is unfortunately standard in cities like San Diego, San Francisco and New York. Hotels in the downtown area of San Diego regularly charge upwards of $50 per night. I'm sorry this put a damper on your experience at the hotel. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We spent four nights in Room 1109 for a charity conference that took place at the hotel and the Scottish Rite Conference Center about a mile away. (It is possible to walk to the Scottish Rite hall, or to the Westfield mall across the highway. There are timed pedestrian signals where you need them, although both walks are substantial.) We ate at King's FishHouse and Gordon Biersch Brewery in that mall. I also saw a Hooters. There were a gas station, a Wendy's, and a Denny's right next to the Hilton.

Although check in time is 4 PM (!!), they gave us a room at 3:30, which was an upgrade to deluxe king from standard king room. The hotel has modern rooms, but the in-room coffee is drip rather than pods. The hotel was clean and well-kept. Our bathroom (with a sliding door) had a big shower stall, which worked well. The shower door could have been better-adjusted to seal more tightly. Free internet was slow but usable. Our bed was firm and comfortable. We had an empty mini-refrigerator. While we could hear guest noise while walking down the hall, our room was quiet inside. There was just a very faint hint of the ten-lane interstate under our sealed windows.

A first for me, both the ceiling light just inside the room, and the bathroom lights had tree-hugging occupancy sensors to turn them on and off automatically. You have to figure out that the push-button there is to turn the light persistently "off" in case you get up at night.

This hotel is well located for highway and airport access. I-8 was under our window, and I-5 and CA 163 are very close. We rented a car at SAN for the entire stay. Our longest drive was to Flower Fields in Carlsbad. Traffic on the highways was always awful. The left turn into the hotel is easy to make, but it's a steep ramp that you need to slow down for.

For all of our four nights, only one (later, two) of the three elevators was working. Other guests told us they had had to use the service elevator (which starts at floor 2, not 1) when all three guest elevators were broken. We saw the Thyssenkrupp trade van in the driveway every day. Elevators were crowded and slow. This was a big minus, and the reason I chose Average instead of Very Good overall.

The breakfast room is very attractive but not large enough for the peak meal hour, with lean (but cheerful) staffing. Breakfast buffets are $13 Continental and $18 for full buffet. A la carte is available, as is room service. The buffets are standard Hilton, satisfactory but not luxurious. The waffle irons must be in the a la carte kitchen! There is no free coffee in the lobby. Parking (choice of valet or self-) is NOT free, with gate operation using your room key card. Happy hour at the bar is a good deal. The ONLY guest microwave is the one in the 7-11 type alcove-shop in the lobby-not in your room. Our room had Fiji Water liters for $6. (We drink tap water.)

This happened to be a cold and damp week in San Diego. Even the hotel hallways were cold, and we certainly didn't want to use the pool. Our room thermostat worked fine, and the ventilating machinery was quieter than at many hotels. The charity banquet food in a ballroom was satisfactory but not luxurious or festive. Our group was small enough that I believe they skipped paying for a microphone at the front of the banquet! That kept down the speeches, anyway.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khalat T, Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Hello obsoperator,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a thorough review. We hope you enjoyed your time here and hope you will consider staying with us on your future travels to San Diego.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

We had a great time, clean rooms, great room service, friendly staff and I don't know what else to say. Never had any issues with anything.Will return soon because of all the things mentioned above and their great service.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Flyer635397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khalat T, Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Hello Flyer635397,

Thank you for the kind words! We take pride in providing every guest with an unforgettable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,
-K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews