We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best B&B in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

The Beach Hut should be rated number 1 in San Diego! We had the most fantastic stay here. The Tuscan Room is beautiful and extremely comfortable. It has a big bed, wonderful shower, fluffy towels and great toiletries. Discovering what had been provided for us for breakfast over the 5 days was a treat - a great variety including fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, yoghurts and more. It was wonderful to be able to get up when we wanted - choose what we fancied that morning and take it all out on a tray with a hot cup of coffee to the garden, followed up with a dip in the pool. Linda and Norm have thought of absolutely everything. Whilst the B&B itself is beautifully presented - decorated with taste, incredibly clean, very well-tended flowers and garden - the real gems are Linda and Norm themselves. I lost my purse when out and about during our stay and Linda and Norm cut short an evening at the theatre to come home and tell us they'd received a call to say the purse had been found. They are such lovely people - couldn't be more friendly and helpful but strike just the right balance between seeing how you’re doing and giving you some privacy. We stayed at another B&B in San Diego during our stay and whilst we had a great time there it really couldn't hold a candle to the Beach Hut. We would definitely recommend this place; great location on Mission Bay, easy access to the centre of the city, good restaurants close by, private, quiet; a real delight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTowersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
360
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sussex England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I went to the beach house for 4 nights and wished i could of stayed for longer. Its in a lovely residential area near sea world and some great beaches and watersports. You need to have a car to drive to downtown etc but everything was easy to get to. There is also lots of shops bars and restaurants only about 10 minutes walk away. We stayed in the garden room and the quality of the room was brilliant. Also the pool area was great and we even used the bbq.

Norm abd Linda were very helpful and showed us how to get everywhere and even lent us an American mobile phone so we could make cheap local calls which was very kind of them.

It was a great place to stay to explore San Diego which is a really brilliant city. We wished we could of stayed for longer as San Diego is a brilliant place and the beach hut was an amazing B and B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe90sussex-england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
We thank you for your review and we are happy to hear how very much you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Perfect retreat after spending all day at the beach with our grandchildren, children and spouses. Sometimes you just need a little oasis to unwind. This was the perfect location. Linda and Norm were great hosts. Helpful, but not intrusive. Lovely bottle of wine was waiting for us on our arrival and it set the tone for the next three days. I like having breakfast in our room and the selection was wonderful. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgunning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
The humming birds, the soothing chimes. and the brilliant flowers await your return! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Beach Hut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittsburg, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our plan was to visit the local hot spots and rest our heads at the Beach Hut. We visited the San Diego Zoo the first day and checked into our room in the early eve. We were greeted by Linda who gave us a quick tour of the property and showed us around our room. We were very impressed by the obvious thought put into making our room a five star. The refrigerator & kitchen was stocked with everything you could want for a quick breakfast and the table had a bottle of wine and two glasses waiting for us. A nice touch!
We enjoyed a pizza delivered by a local cookery (which we found in the basket of brochures also in the room) with our wine. The next day we took off for Sea World and Seaport Village. Everything was so incredibly closeby. The next morning we were leaving for L.A. when Linda called us to say the room would not be occupied and we could prolong our stay for a few hours. We ventured out across the street to the beauiful beach and enjoyed a long walk in the sunshine. We were taken back by the surroundings and began planning our next trip....one that would be centered around the Beach Hut...with no side trips! It was a wonderful find and we plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
It makes my heart sing to read how much you enjoyed your stay! What's a trip to Southern California for, if you don't have the Beaches and the Attractions? I'm glad you found how easy it is to have both at the Beach Hut. We look forward to your next stay so that we can try once again to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed for three days at the Beach Hut B&B. Linda and Norm York were some of the most gracious hosts we've ever experienced. They have made this place a little paradise. The grounds are landscaped beautifully, hummingbirds feeding on plants, wonderful windchime calms you from the days sight seeing, and cooling off in their small swimming pool. The rooms are appointed very nicely, with partial kitchen. Granite countertops, microwave, small refrig stocked with fix it yourself breakfast items. Starbucks coffee and all the fixings, cereal, oatmeal, popcorn, coffee pot, all dishes, utensils and dining ware. Tile showers with the most luxurious organic shampoos and conditioners. Well, enough. We'll definitely recommend to everyone and we will certainly book here again. Linda and Norm were also some of the most friendly folks we've met also, helpful in everyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IraNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
We strive to offer a serene and comforting environment with superior customer care and we are happy to know that we are meeting our expectations. Thank you for joining us and expressing your fond memories of the Beach Hut. We are looking forward to offering you the same superior hospitality on your next vacation here in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I spent 4 nights a the Beach Hut B&B. Linda and Norm couldn't have been nicer. My flight arrived late and I didn't get to the B&B until nearly midnight, but they happily waited up for me, showed me where to park, and gave me the rundown on the ammenities at the property and in my room.

I stayed in the garden cottage, which is the perfect size for 1-2 travelers. It has a comfy bed, flat screen tv, big closet, kitchenette, table and chairs. You have your own private bathroom which for me, is a must (it has a shower only, no tub)

There is a small pool on the patio for use by guest of either room. It looked nice but I didn't use it (probably would have if it would have been hotter outside). They also provide beach towels which is handy. Also, there is free WiFi!

There is free parking provided, which is great as the neighborhood parking is hard to come by. Also if you are traveling solo and arrive back at the B&B late you park right near the entrance to your room. Speaking of the neighborhood, it is a beautiful, safe residential area, and the B&B is right across the street from a large bay with sandy beaches and a walking/bike path, and a short walk/drive to Mission Beach (which was amazing - clean, surf lessons, restaurants, and lots of Dolphin sightings!).

The property is secured and you are provided with a personal access code to get in and out as you please.

I had never stayed in a B&B before, but I liked that this one was somewhat self serve - the fridge is stocked with breakfast foods, fruit, juice, milk and there are also cereals provided in your room. So, you get to eat as you please (i.e. Breakfast for dinner if you like!). Linda and Norm were good about checking in to ensure I had everything I needed without being intrusive.

The location is great because you are literally less than 5 minutes from Sea World and situated between Torry Pines/La Jolla up north and Downtown San Diego, so it's very convenient.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for such a thorough review!! You have captured the essence of our B & B and given all of our views a wonderful opportunity to understand the uniqueness of the Beach Hut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I spend 3 nights at the Beach Hut over the 4th of July weekend. The Garden Cottage was lovely - immaculate, comfortable bed, great breakfast treats. In the mornings we walked across the street to Sail Bay for long walks on the promenade. The location was great - very close to downtown and other beaches. All the charm and comfort you want from a B&B, with beautiful garden and pool, easy parking, good breakfasts, quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBN_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We are so delighted that you were able to fully enjoy our unique location. As you noted, with Sail Bay across the street and the Pacific Ocean just beyond, the Beach Hut B & B is a beach lovers paradise and at the same time, a sightseers dream with it's central location for reaching all the major attractions in San Diego in just minutes! We look forward to seeing you again in the future for more fun at the Beach Hut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing