We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has its own magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth
1 review
“This place has its own magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

My daughter and I booked online from Australia based on the reviews and we were delighted when we arrived; our unit out the back was a little piece of magic, in a beautiful pool and garden setting. The furnishings were gorgeous and the food was plentiful. Norm and Linda were extremely helpful too in every way possible. We would definitely recommend it to anyone for a slice of quiet comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
359
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

I found this B&B using trip advisor. We were heading to a wedding being held at The Dana, which is just about a mile away (we walked from place to place easily).

The place has been recently renovated, and the work isn't quite done. However, this never disturbed the peaceful atmosphere. During the time of our stay, neither the owners or any other guests stayed overnight, meaning we had the tastefully decorated gardens, complete with a small inground pool, all to ourselves. The room itself was wonderfully appointed, with a compact dining table, a television that folded into the wall to be unobtrusive, a DVD player with some movies supplied, and a fridge stocked with food for breakfast/brunch/snacking. The bathroom was also well done, with a clean, comfortable shower. Another nice touch is the keyless locks - you are assigned a password that is simple to remember and voila! no wondering if you remembered to bring the keys with you.

Wireless internet is available - just ask Norm for the password.

Aside from the property itself, the Beach Hut is located very close to the water - it's a two minute walk to a path that takes you along the harbor. This made for a great place to go running each morning. Actually, while we were there the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon was taking place, and we were very close to mile 19. We spent a lovely morning walking to get some coffee and then cheering on the runners. Just perfect.

We've recommended this place to friends, and if we return to San Diego, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach Hut. Norm and Linda were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and accommodating. The bay was a short walk away, the ocean, about a mile and a half. Sea World, the Zoo and Balboa park were a short drive away.

You make your own breakfast whenever you like. The room was stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, milk, orange juice, yogurt, frozen waffles, French toast, and pancakes. There is a small coffee pot and microwave.

The bed was cozy, the street quiet, the hospitality warm. We enjoyed chatting with Linda by the pool. Overall, great place. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyqs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

we had the pleasure of staying at the Beach Hut for 4 nights and loved it. It is newly decorated, and the use of the space was very impressive. It was comfortable, private and quiet both inside and out-with the lovely patio area around the pool-and the location was ideal for everywhere we wanted to go. the bonus was the short walk to the boardwalk on the bay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!! Great room! Great experience! My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B in January 2009 and found the property to be a great value for the price. Our room was recently renovated and looked fantastic! Linda and Norm, our hosts, were able to answer our questions about the area, restocked breakfast items, etc.. but did so in an unobtrusive manner which allowed us to have the romantic weekend we wanted! The room had a flat screen TV, CD/radio, microwave and fridge with dishes and a great selection of breakfast foods to choose from -at ANY time of the day we chose to get up!
You can't beat the location -so close to the beach! We really loved the Beach Hut B&B and will be back!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Hut B&B in December for a romantic getaway and were very impressed. We were given a choice of two rooms, one in the front of the property with a fireplace, or one in the back. We chose the back room because it seemed more private and was surrounded by the pool and a nicely landscaped yard. The room had just been redone and it was very modern with marble countertops and shining appliances, but also very cozy and romantic as we had hoped. The fridge and cupboards were stocked with all kinds of breakfast foods - cereals, waffles, bagels, yogurts, etc - for us to enjoy at our leisure. The bed was comfortable and the TV was brand new. What more could we ask for?! We will stay there again when we need to get away.

  • Liked — location, decor, friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Hut in San Diego in October of 2007, which was prior to the renovations spoken about in other reviews. So, I guess you could say we stayed in the small cottage in back of the main house. For a single mom with a child, it was perfect. Having a full kitchen for our selves was a blessing. Although I missed having a bathtub, the shower was more than sufficient and I can live without my bathtub for a day! The owners were very pleasant and extremely accommodating to our needs. The fact that they give the guests the only designated parking space in an area where parking comes at a premium was just one more plus! We found the Beach Hut to be extremely well-located with easy access to all areas of San Diego County. We enjoyed our stay and would return in a heartbeat! Can't wait to see the new updated Beach Hut!

  • Liked — Well located, good value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyedSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing