We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We still love it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
LilleHeidi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We still love it!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We first found the Beach Hut in 2011 when I think it was rated #3 on TA. So happy that Linda and Norm have since taken their rightful spot as the #1 B&B in San Diego. They are so warm and friendly and truly care about you having a wonderful time on your vacation. The room is so luxurious and stocked with more breakfast food than you could possibly eat! Also new since we last visited were beach chairs and a beach umbrella for your use. The bed is so comfortable, but if you require an extra soft pillow like we do, you might find the pillows too firm. (We always find hotel pillows too firm though, so we just travel with our own). Considering how close you are to the beach/bay (steps from the bay, 10 minute walk to Pacific Beach) and how luxurious the accommodations are, this is a great value!! We saw dumpy motels along the beach that cost more and we kept saying, "I'm so glad we are staying at the Beach Hut!" We have stayed in the Tuscan Room both times and are hooked. We love that we have our own private entry; it feels like our own private house on Sail Bay! You hear a little street noise in that room, so if you are very sensitive to that, you might want to stay in the Garden Room in the back of the house by the lovely pool. We like being in the front and the cars driving by don't bother us. We rented a tandem bike for a day and had a blast. Wish we would have rented it for all 4 days we were there. Great fun. Can't say enough about the Beach Hut. We love everything about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilleHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We still love having you as guests! Thanks for taking the time to tell everyone about your great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
361
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was nice staying at the Beach Hut for our anniversary. We enjoyed the quiet location, but also loved how close we were to everything. We started the weekend going to Point Loma to our favorite fish place. As it turns out, it is a favorite of Norm and Linda too. A quick ride brought us to the Beach Hut where Norm greeted us and showed us around. The room was lovely. That evening we went to see The Merchant of Venice at the Old Globe. Before hand we went to the Prado and got to enjoy watching a marine wedding! Again - not too far away. Saturday we went down and walked around Pacific Beach - and later went out sailing on the Stars and Stripes docked at Shelter Island. We then went back to the Beach Hut and walked around Mission Bay. Again - the location was perfect to get to where we wanted to go. The breakfast foods were yummy and convenient. When ever you want to eat, the food is available. It is nice that the beach towels and chairs are also available. We did not make it into the pool, but it looked inviting. We highly recommend the Beach Hut and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tuscan Room. It was very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see the quality soap/shampoo in the refillable dispensers.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We're happy to know that you had a truly 'Southern California Experience' here and found it so easy to get to all the attractions as well as being able to totally enjoy the beaches and boating activities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lit at night, the pool's dancing radiant reflections mesmerize. And there's a different view of beauty in each sitting area.I enjoy the freedom of having a snack and beverage whenever I feel like it; the room was well stocked with quality goods. Yummy muffins! I felt healed and rejunvenated following an East coast trip, then headed to the boardwalk before my flight home to Hawaii. Thanks for an excellent experience, all the way around. Mahalo and Aloha, Linda and Norm

Room Tip: I'd have to say, if there's an opening, grab it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Non-toxic pest control is impressive and hard to come by. From recycling to organic toiletries, Linda and Norm are on top of it. And wait until you feel there turkish spa towels. Beach Hut's front yard garden is a gem on Riviera Drive. See for yourself! Enjoy!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and recharging time here. Thank you for sharing your experience and enjoyment at the Beach Hut BB!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Beach Hut on June 20th 2013 for two nights. Norm and Linda were amazing hosts! From the moment we arrived they welcomed us graciously and for our entire stay they were there to make sure our stay was perfect and it was!!!! My daughter and I stayed in the Tuscan room and it was divine. It was decorated lovely and the room was immaculate. We loved the yummy selection of Trader Joe foods that Norm and Linda provided. One of our favorite things to do at the B&B was to eat our breakfast in the lovely garden. It was a beautiful start to our amazing days in beautiful San Diego!! Oh and let me mention the beds! Incredibly comfortable... we slept like babies! As you have read we had the best stay at the Beach Hut!!! We will definitely return. Hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your 'Mother/Daughter' experience here. We are so pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable time and we are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt we were at our home away from home. Linda and Norm made it so easy with the parking spot in the driveway, the beach chairs/umbrellas we could use anytime, beach towels provided, a place to store bikes for rental, and the backyard with firepit and pool were beautiful. We just wish we had more time to use them all!

Linda and Norm also know the best places to eat in San Diego, and were very helpful in giving us great recommendations for where to eat, sightsee or watch the sunset. They provided way more food than we could ever eat while there. There was a cute coffee shop that was walkable, as was the park where we watched the sunrise, and were able to do a morning workout. The neighborhood was very cute and safe, and close to the beach.

The room and bathroom were very clean, and we loved the fireplace in the bedroom. After here, we went to the Hotel Del Coronado where we got married later that week, and we would say the room at Beach Hut was cleaner and the experience more pleasant. We will definitely be back next time we're in San Diego!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and best wishes for a lifetime of happiness together! We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here so much. We look forward to offering you the same top level service the next time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely setting in impeccable condition with friendly discreet inn keepers. Charming people with great knowledge of the area.
The garden setting, lovingly cared for, is a wonderful contrast to the business of the Boardwalk or business areas.
The spa pool is a big bonus & the lighting very nice in the evenings.
This is our 4th stay both for business & pleasure. The well stocked & varied breakfast items are always top notch, especially the Morning Glory Muffins!
It is not a surprise that the Beach Hut B&B is an Award Winner as Best in San Diego!
Looking forward to our next stay- YAY!

Cheers from Johnson City TN couple who stayed 7 days

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1nicetriptoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your 'fourth stay' at our B & B. We are so happy to hear that you once again had a pleasant experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband I recently stay a week here while in San Diego for my daughter's wedding. I can't say enough about this bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Tuscan Room and my sister and mother stayed in the Garden Room. Norm and Linda went out of their way to get anything we needed. Such nice people! The garden cottage was so beautiful. A great place to sit and relax and enjoy all the flowers. I enjoyed my early morning walks on the Bay and Ocean. They had a reference book in each room with restaurants and places to see and go and directions. It was a big help to us since this was the first time we've been to California. Many thanks to Norm and Linda. We definately will be coming back to San Diego.

Room Tip: The Tuscan Room was by the road, but it was not noisy at all. This room was a little bigger than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We love morning walks along the Bay ourselves and we are delighted to hear that you had the same experience. Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our 'ideal location' and our B & B amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-6643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego
Beach Hut b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing