We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You're Not a Guest, You're Family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You're Not a Guest, You're Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to San Diego for the first time for a wedding and we were not disappointed by all that this wonderful bed and breakfast had to offer. We stayed in the Garden Cottage and were greeted by Linda and Norm upon our arrival. We entered the property from the rear of the property as our cottage came with one parking space located in the back alleyway. When we opened the gate to the backyard, it was as if we had entered a completely different world, an oasis away from reality. The sound of the soothing fountain was welcoming after a cross country trek. The pride Linda and Norm take in their property could be seen not only from the backyard, but inside our cottage. It was a studio room with a mini kitchen, faux fireplace, climate control AC, and all the amenities you would need in a space probably no bigger than 500 square feet. The furnishings were a warm cherry mahagony. The simple human accessories were a great touch. The fully stocked mini fridge provided more than enough food and drinks for us. We were amazed at how this house had been decked out with so much care, it was as if they were furnishing it for family to stay. The bonus came as I opened the fridge to find that everything was brand new. All the packages of waffles, french toast, muffins, juices, eggs, cheese were brand new, never opened so you felt like they had purchased everything just for you. Even more personal was the fact that there was plenty of fresh fruit! I'm a huge fruit fan, so I was ecstatic to find that hidden gem! After a full debriefing from Linda and Norm on all that San Diego had to offer, we went ahead and ventured out on our own. The huge binder in the room containing all you've ever wanted to know about San Diego was also a very nice touch, especially to first timers like us! We provided them with a schedule of when we wanted a change of sheets, fresh towels, food refill, etc and it was different because we felt like we weren't pressured to "housekeeping" hours. We just let them know when we would not be in the room and voila! During our trip, Linda and Norm were always available to us. I even managed to peek into their kitchen from the patio and it looked like it could be a spread in Architectural Digest. It was apparent that they had set up the cottages so that it was warm, inviting, and more like a home than a hotel. The saddest part of our trip was leaving and coming home to the not so soft sheets I had at home! Luckily, we ordered two sets before we left! Coming from NY, the price of the sheets were comparable to what I would pay here so I did not hesitate at all! These sheets are nothing like you've ever felt....it's heavenly! While the weather wasn't always cooperative, I took full advantage of sitting in their backyard oasis in the mornings and hearing the birds with my coffee. It was a welcome escape from life in busy NYC! We would not hesitate to come back and stay here! I dont' think I can ever stay at another B&B again as I know it simply will never compare! If you want a more personal experience in San Diego, I highly recommend Beach Hut B&B, where all the attractions are no more than 20 mins away but you are realms away from reality!

Green Features: This B&B recycles and it's a refreshing and welcoming sight! All their lights are energy efficient and there are separate switches for each light, so you don't have to have all the lights on at all times.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyeung612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your taking so the time to give such a comprehensive review of our B & B. We are thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sweet dreams in those wonderful sheets!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
355
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend of sun, flowers and amazing hospitality. Our room was very comfortable and it was such a treat to have our own little fridge nicely stocked that we could open any time of the day and have a snack or cold drink. The grounds are amazing and full of colourful flowers with names that even Linda could not remember. We had a nice intro to the neighbourhood upon arrival and "the Binder" was a constant reference guide. Thanks for a great time and we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: We liked the garden room in the back.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling was a nice surprise and all of our bottles, plastics and paper were all looked after.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDoornberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed the garden flowers and the patio area. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

What can I say? My only complaint is that this is probably the last time we will be staying here. We have stayed here two years in a row in order to attend our son's races at the San Diego Crew Classic. It is a perfect spot for that event, as you can walk back and forth from the course in minutes. As always, Norm and Linda were the perfect hosts: gracious, welcoming and generally determined to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable and totally comfortable. I cannot say enough positive things about them. They even opened up their private kitchen to allow us a place to store mounds of food for our son's crew team (they burn 8000 calories a day, so do the math on the quantity). We actually took a few days before the races began and explored the neighborhood a bit. After looking around San Diego I can't imagine a better location. If you are ambitious you can easily walk to the main beaches west of here, or you can just stroll the sandy shores of Sail Bay. Plus in SD everything is always just a short drive away (I mean, this is So Cal, after all.....) Wonderful location, wonderful hosts, wonderful stay.....again. So, all around wonderful. :)

Room Tip: The room in front is bigger, but we like the cottage. Cozy and comfortable and you have the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thestanfordlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We so enjoyed hearing your enthusiasm as you returned from each Crew Race at Fiesta Bay in Mission Bay Park. Thank you for letting future guests know what a great location we have on Crown Point Peninsula with Fiesta Bay on one side, Sail Bay on the other and the Pacific Ocean just beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beach Hut is everything you might wish for in a B&B: comfortable private accommodations - fluffy towels, comfy sheets, clean, tidy, well-decorated and nearly perfect. The back yard is beautifully landscaped and very inviting. Owners Linda and Norm seem to have anticipated all of our needs. Centrally located to everything, yet off the main drag and only steps to the beach makes this place an attractive pick. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience at our B & B. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful place. We wish we could have stayed longer! Our hosts were great- very informative and genuinely interested in helping us have a nice time. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Shower was great and we had great selection of breakfast goods and snacks. The backyard is beautiful! You could sit there all day... The other thing I loved were the bed sheets- so comfortable and soft :) if you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful stay in San Diego-look no further- you've found your match!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadagurl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDhappycamper, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences at our B & B. It's so rewarding for us to hear that our efforts are appreciated and enjoyed. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you have many fond memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were very fortunate to be able to stay with Linda and Norm for a few days on the front end of a business trip earlier this month. We always try to find a special B&B when we can carve out a couple days to ourselves. The Beach Hut is the perfect home base to explore the San Diego area. Very comfortable rooms, lovely garden/patio, convent location.

Our weather was unusually cool, but the fire kept us comfortable long into the night.

This is the perfect B&B to enjoy the company of your spouse. Only two rooms. We essentially had all the privacy we desired to relax, AND the company of your hosts Linda and Norm when our schedules aligned.

This is the first time we've stayed at a B&B where we'd be on our own for breakfast. I was a bit apprehensive, and we had plans to find a nice restaurant to start our days. We found that we really enjoyed preparing our own breakfast with the ample selections provided in the room. Honestly, we're from the east coast, so it takes me a while to get on west cost time, and being able to eat in our room, on our schedule was a real plus for us. If that's not for you, there's lots of great places within a few minutes of the Beach Hut to start your day.

Both rooms are very comfortable. Stay in the Garden Cottage, set aside some time to relax in the garden and you will have no regrets.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Beach Hut, and look forward to our next visit.

Thanks again Linda and Norm for making our visit to San Diego one to remember.

George & Ann

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandAMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDhappycamper, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We feel so wonderful knowing that you had such an enjoyable time at our B & B and that you appreciated our "Morning Kitchen" arrangement. Our guests frequently tell us that they really like this novel approach because they can eat when they are ready to and set their own schedule. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being on the road 100 plus nights a year I have seen my share of hotel rooms and B&B's. Beach Hut B&B is very special. Linda and Norman were the best of hosts. The area is great, no street noise and everything was clean beyond compare. Loved the self-prepared breakfast available in your room, I am gluten-free and Norman then brings my favorite gluten-free breakfast , Vans Waffles, how sweet is that? Loved the linen, loved the gardens, I give this B&B my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrettte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Well, it certainly makes us feel good when a seasoned traveler has a 'Wonderful Experience' at the Beach Hut. We try to meet our guests dietary needs as best we can - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing