We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We travel from Northern Ireland every year and to be honest we haven't been that impressed with B & B in the States. So booking the Beach Hut was a risk but we were NOT DISAPPOINTED!!! Wow - its looks like its photos was the first impression. And it just got better - quiet, peaceful, well stocked with food and drinks, lovely hosts Linda and Norm who helped with all our questions and best of all sandy beaches within 5 mins walk. Ok its' not in the heart of San Diego (about 15/20 mins if you can get parked that is) but it's just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
361
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had an incredible week in August staying in the Garden Cottage! First things first, we already know we will return again soon! Norm and Linda were incredibly gracious and attentive hosts! We were down for a week of rest and relaxation from our hectic work worlds, our only hope was to find a place that was walking distance to the beach and boardwalk and quiet and relaxing when we just wanted to read and recoup. The Beach Hut was perfect on all fronts! The thing we really loved about this place is they have thought of everything, and even with that understood they are right their asking if you need anything additional, but never intrusive. Others have written about this on Trip Advisor but we want to add our two cents as well having stayed at a number of B&Bs around the world, we loved the stocked Trader Joe's kitchen full of goodies verses making a set breakfast time each day like your more traditional B&Bs. So when we were not enjoying a quick dip in our always private pool or enjoying the sun with a book we could walk just a few feet past the front gate and be down to the water and on the boardwalk. The location is simply perfect...10 minutes from the airport, easy access back to the freeways to take in San Diego and a short drive to all the cool little beach communities going north. One more item that is a must to share a bit about is the bed; this bed was simply amazing we slept so well, and with the room dark we slept in every day, not always thinking we would! The bed's linens were fabulous and we laughed with Linda that we had packed them up and were planning to take them home with us! In summary, if you are looking for a spot to enjoy San Diego for a relaxing vacation or perhaps a business trip away from the typical hotel chains and you are fortunate enough to find availability at the Beach Hut B&B treat yourself to this hidden gem! Please feel free to contact us with any questions as we know and appreciate the power of a personal recommendation and would absolutely love to support these wonderful folks and their B&B that they have clearly put so much thought and effort into making such a great spot for all of us that are lucky enough to enjoy it! Rob & Teresa

Room Tip: Select either room when available...LOL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmirMcLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

my wife and i were looking for a place to stay here for a vacation without the kids. this bed and breakfast was one of the greatest places i have stayed at. affordable and the employees were so nice. an experience that i loved and i would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our stay with Linda and Norm was a much anticpated treat after a stresful real estate convention our first 4 days of vacation. We were warmly greeted and briefed on local restaurants and places to see and enjoy - we first chose the adjoining pool to our "Garden Room". It was gorgeous and inviting. We walked to the Bay and enjoyed renting a raft boat to relax and enjoy the beautiful day. The best breakfast place is the Eggery just about a mile away. The strawberry crepes were to die for. The parking was perfect as we had one dedicated spot safely tucked away in the alley with a lighted entrance to the "garden area" and our room. I loved the decor - looked like it had just had a makeover with modern colors and amenities. Only thing that would have made it absolutely "perfect" would have been a gourmet breakfast cooked for us ! But the fresh fruit and juices were nice too. Would visit again FOR SURE !! Thanks!

Room Tip: Best room in my opinion is the "Garden" which has more privacy and adjoins the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I were looking for an affordable, private, and quaint honeymoon in San Diego. We found it at the Beach Hut B&B.
Linda and Norm were very communicative before we booked our reservation and worked with us on our payment. They were great resources for information on San Diego and the surrounding areas.
The location was wonderful- across the street from Mission Bay and a short drive from the beach, parks, or Sea World.
We enjoyed a very relaxing honeymoon in the Tuscan Room and loved having our own parking place, wifi, refrigerator, kitchenette and room that we knew was safe.
The only recommendations I would make: the website really needs to be updated with better and more pictures. Linda so graciously sent me more pictures when I requested them before booking. Also I would have liked to know a time that Linda and Norm would come re-stock the fridge and refresh the towels so that we could leave for a good amount of time. (one night we went for a quick bite to eat and came back to them cleaning our room- we had left it kind of messy and I wish we had known so that we could clean it! I guess it was more embarrassing for me than anything!)

Everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonPerekotiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Norm and Linda were super-gracious! The room was very luxuriously appointed. We loved it's quick two block walk to the beautiful bay and boardwalk. Linda was very helpful in pointing us to good places to see. The main problem we had with the sleeping part was the pillows were very hard. Otherwise, very comfy room!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurselady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co Down, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This small B&B is just what the doctor ordered! My and I stayed here for 6 nights and were absolutely delighted. The accommodation was first class, very comfortable and with everything you would want. The location is very convenient to most activities in San Diego (but the road system is such that a SatNav is an advantage!) Linda and Norm's hospitality was tested when a blackout hit S California; salad, cold meats, cheese, wine and good conversation saved the evening from disaster. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Well, we certainly had a special night with that black out of Southern California. We were able to turn lemons into lemonade as they say, and make a perfect night out of it though. Thank you for sharing your experience at our B & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-6643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego
Beach Hut b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing