We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and and I stayed for 2 days at the Beach Hut during our stay in late May. The location is excellent, right in the Mission Bay/Pacific Beach area. The home is in a quiet and safe neighborhood. Sail Bay is across the street and Seaworld is 5 minutes away. Norm and Linda are extremely friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants, given directions to area attractions and just visiting out by the pool. The property is beautiful and immaculately kept inside and out. Both suites are decorated beautifully and are quiet, and very comfortable. The Tuscan suite, at the front of the property, faces the street. It is slightly larger than the Garden suite. We preferred the Garden suite because it was toward the back of the property and opened out onto their beautifully landscaped patio and pool. They patio also had a great firepit area also. We parked free of charge in the back and had keypad entry to their front and back gates. The mini-kitchen was amply supplied with breakfast items (pancakes, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereals, milk, and coffee.) There is a minifridge, toaster, microwave, blender, dishes, glassware, and silverware. Both suites had flat screen TV's also and Wifi. I highly recommend staying here. I would stay here any day over all the hotels in the area that I researched. You will not be disappointed!!! Thanks Norm and Linda!! We will be back! The pictures on tripadvisor and Bedandbreakfast.com are exactly like it looks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience. We try to make all of our guests happy. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
365
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Westerly ri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Have you ever eaten at a restaurant where the food is so artfully presented you hesitate to begin eating because you don't won't to disturb its visual appeal? I had a similar experience when I walked onto the grounds and into my room at the Beach Hut. The grounds and my room were so beautifully and artistically arranged I halted because I didn't want my presence to interfere.

A deep toned wind chime greeted me as I first gazed at the beautifully landscaped grounds surrounding the small pool. Several sitting areas were arranged throughout the garden and I hesitated to sit in any because I didn't want to disturb the tranquility. The warm tones in my room had the desired effect of making me relax immediately. Attention to detail was evident throughout. Lighting, furniture, cabinetry, entertainment, and bathroom work to create a comfortable and welcoming environment.

And what about restaurant wait staff that makes you feel welcome yet doesn't intrude on your meal? Ever had service like that? If so you will recognize the subtle personal skills that your hosts will use to balance your privacy with your need for interaction and information. Linda not only pointed me to the best burger in town, but we shared lively discussions of art, music, dance, history, and books. We even laughed about our shared love of 'The IKEA shopping experience.'

And what about an eatery that is perfectly located so it is easy to get to and offers a host of nearby things to do following your meal? Well, outside the door and across the street of the Beach Hut lies Mission Bay and its wonderful bike path. I spent several afternoons cruising on a bike soaking up the relaxed vibe and the sunshine of San Diego at its best.

So, if you like a balance between beauty and comfort; privacy and stimulating conversation all across the street from the water surrounded by a walking and bike bath, The Beach Hut in Pacific Beach may just fit your tastes perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We thank you for your eloquent review of your stay at our B & B. Our goal is to at least meet and possibly exceed all of our guest's expectations. We are delighted to know that we achieved this goal for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We recently stayed with my sister and brother in law at the Beach Hut for Spring Break, booking both of its rooms. The Beach Hut is more like staying at home away from home (only cleaner than mine!) rather than a typical B&B. Each room has a well equipped fridge for breakfast and snacks and the rooms are beautifully appointed with table and chairs, electric fireplaces and the softest sheets ever! The outdoor area is relaxing and private and we really enjoyed sitting around the outdoor gas fireplace in the evening. It is less than a block's walk to Mission Bay and, despite some brisk weather, we enjoyed a stroll on the boardwalk, Linda and Norm could not be more welcoming and helpful. We've stayed at a lot of B&B's and I highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleymom1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We graciously thank you for your review. Our goal is to give our guests a wonderful and memorable experience and we are so happy to hear that your were so pleased with your stay. As you discovered, we have a great location for outdoor activities, relaxation and sightseeing opportunities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Beach Hut and loved every minute of it. It's a sweet and healing spot and Linda and Norm were absolutely great! It's a beautiful space and the yard is a haven in which you could relax for hours just reading or eating on the patio. The bay is a short walk (block or 2) and there is a long path to bike ride or run on. The beach is less than 2 miles away and the city a quick ride. It's the perfect getaway and place from which to explore San Diego! We loved it and we got engaged during this trip so it has special meaning to us. Linda and Norm were sweet and supportive hosts who gave us plenty of privacy. We'd return in a heartbeat.

Enjoy!
Michele and Dawn

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvictoria22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
You are our first guests to become engaged while visiting here -- Congratulations. We are so happy to hear that your stay was so very special for you. We are pleased that you fully enjoyed the miles of Boardwalks in both Mission Bay Park and the Pacific Shoreline. It's a great place for jogging, biking or just plane strolling to watch the spectacular sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This B&B was perfect for us -- we had just the right amount of privacy, the room was beautiful and Linda and Norm were such wonderful hosts. Unfortunately, it was cool and wet the days we were there, so we didn't have much opportunity to enjoy the beautifully landscaped yard and pool (next time!). The fridge and cupboards were fully stocked with delicious breakfast items which allowed us to have breakfast at our leisure while we got ready to go out and see the sights each day. The proximity to Sail Bay and Mission Beach was great - we did the 15-20 minute walk over to Mission Beach where we rented bikes and rode around for hours. The location was close to everything we wanted to see -- Old Town, shopping, Mission Beach. We already love visiting San Diego and now we have a great place to stay! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at the Beach Hut and we look forward to your return visit. You just can't beat being "At the beaches and in the Heart of San Diego", as we like to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We randomly chose this B&B and could not have been happier. Norm and Linda were just lovely, helpful, smart folks who know how to make you feel comfortable. The room was well-stocked with organic grains, fresh fruit, juice, and yogurts. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleep. The bathroom was modern and very clean. All in all we had a great time. In addition, it is a perfectly located. It is easy to get to most of what you would go to San Diego to do. Highly recommended, will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasAlbanyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for letting others know what a wonderful experience you had at our B & B. I'm glad you found sightseeing so easy because of our great location, now you know why we say: "Stay here to be at the Beaches and in the Heart of San Diego".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manti, Utah
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This B & B is the best bed and breakfast that I have been to. The owners were great to work with, the room was clean and updated, and it is in the perfect spot in town to reach all of the large attractions. They have done a great job with their home and would definitely go back only to them next time I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayManti_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so much - we strive to make it a very special experience for each and everyone of our Guests! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-6643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego
Beach Hut b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing