We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the coziness & great Happy Hour menu/prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the coziness & great Happy Hour menu/prices”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beds were comfy, cozy hotel, clean, great friendly and helpful staff. Food was delicious and worth the money. Happy Hour menu 7 days a week from 4pm-7pm. Fresh cookies at the front desk, coffee, water and tea out for the taking.

Free Parking. Sitting area with fireplace.
Smaller but sufficient pool and jacuzzi.
Neutrogena bath products.
Mellow, nice decor, chill

24 hour fitness center. Spa, hair and nail salon connected to the hotel but suggest making reservations.

They had available a Continental Breakfast for $5.95. My aunt said it was an incredible plethura of food, fruits, etc.

They also have a full breakfast for $10.95

Mini fridges AND a microwave in each room!

We were here due to my dads hospital stay but the hotel was easy to get in and out of. Not a huge hotel where it takes ya 20 minutes to walk to your room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thanks so much for helping us spread the word about out hotel, and amenities. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while you are in San Diego.

Happy hour in our Bistro 39 bar is one of our signature amenities not only for the hotel guests but also for the local residents to enjoy. Along with the Serenity Spa and Salon on site they are all accessible to the public.

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you next time you are in San Diego.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    258
    47
    22
    8
See reviews for
309
232
68
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Nice place, great beds, quiet rooms, close to La Jolla and Del Mar. We tend to shy away from eating dinner at hotels, but had had a long day and decided to give it a try. The food was fresh and delicious! Our waiter was very good and the front desk staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for sharing your compliment with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am really excited that you had decided to stay and try our restaurant, Bistro 39. I am very proud to say that we have our own Executive Chef on site!

It is our goal to provide a great experience for our guests while staying in our hotel, and I am very pleased that we were able to do this for you.

Thanks again and please think of us on your next visit to San Diego.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Quiet hotel in a scenic neighborhood. Staff friendly and very helpful. More expensive than other HGI locations but I guess it's due to location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xanthoxylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff; it is our goal to provide our guests with friendliness and helpfulness while staying in our hotel.

I have to agree that the location determines the price. We have easy access to the major freeways and beaches in San Diego, yet it is still quiet and in a nice seculuded neighborhood.

Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have an office very near this hotel and I use it frequently. The staff always remembers me and while I'm usually a Marriott person, I prefer this Hilton over the Marriotts in the area.

The staff is always very kind and actually remember my name when I return.

Great service and I continue to use this hotel and will in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurTravelsGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is our goal to provide excellent customer service and to remember our guests’ names while they are staying on property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

On a recent trip to Del Mar for a vacation of horseracing, beaches, food and fun, we struck it rich staying at this hotel. From the moment we checked in, customer service at the front desk was extended throughout our stay. Each host/hostest went out of their way explaining directions to favorite beaches and restaurants. They even offered several options for our daily 5K run, providing us with maps showing us the course of our choice. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Parking was free and ample. WiFi was free and fast. Business center was free and modern in working condition. In addition each room had micro/fridge units to keep our snacks fresh. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!! The cost of the room was very reasonable allowing me to bet big on Zenyatta at the horsetrack!!! thanks

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superfectaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our team members.

Our staff tries to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are very delighted that you received that attention at our hotel.

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you when you are in San Diego again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the last four days of a pacific coast highway trip. I have to say that this hotel was wonderful. Very clean, nice and comfortable rooms. There were four of us in the room, two teenagers and we had enough room. The employees of this hotel are wonderful. They offered great advice for restaurants in the area and directions. Printed everything for us. There was always a very friendly greeting when entering or exiting the hotel. If visiting the San Diego area again I would definitely stay at this hote.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for sharing your compliments with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and the helpfulness of our team. We are very happy to read that your visit was enjoyable and that you plan to return. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn! Your review is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Hilton Garden Inns are usually better than average business hotels, and this one is no exception. Nice greeting upon entry and exit, nice clean quiet room and wi-fi that works. Happy camper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked our hotel amenities. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service and to satisfy guests’ need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing