We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #15 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
staten island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very, Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the last four days of a pacific coast highway trip. I have to say that this hotel was wonderful. Very clean, nice and comfortable rooms. There were four of us in the room, two teenagers and we had enough room. The employees of this hotel are wonderful. They offered great advice for restaurants in the area and directions. Printed everything for us. There was always a very friendly greeting when entering or exiting the hotel. If visiting the San Diego area again I would definitely stay at this hote.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for sharing your compliments with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and the helpfulness of our team. We are very happy to read that your visit was enjoyable and that you plan to return. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn! Your review is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    249
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
292
216
63
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Hilton Garden Inns are usually better than average business hotels, and this one is no exception. Nice greeting upon entry and exit, nice clean quiet room and wi-fi that works. Happy camper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked our hotel amenities. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service and to satisfy guests’ need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

While visiting the San Diego area we had the great fortune of staying at a wonderful hotel in the upscale neighborhood of Del Mar. While not on the beach, this property offered everything we were looking for. Helpful friendly accomodating front desk staff, excellent food and service in the restaurant, and pristine spacious updated rooms with all amenities made our stay very memorable. I was able to take advantage of the "Happy Hour" at the spa which included a superb massage and a chance to relax in the beautiful Tuscan style lounge with a glass of wine. It was the perfect prelude to the rest of the evening. This is a full service spa with hair, nails, and skin care as well as different massage choices. The prices are very reasonable. There is an onsite deli with Peet's coffee and a servicable area with computers for guest use. The lobby is beautifully decorated with a fireplace and nice furnishings. Also on site are meeting rooms which would also be perfect for weddings and parties. My husband and I were pleased at the value we received and plan to stay here again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieAnn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was a very nice hotel with nice amenities. One thing that I remember the most is how quiet it was at night, save for a low humming sound of some sort, not sure. I didn't hear any banging or shouting or noise from other rooms around us and it was Memorial Day weekend! This was great after a long day at Sea World! The neighborhood was very clean, serene, and beautiful. There was a Vons just about 2 minutes away, around the neighborhood. Torrey Pines Beach was only 10 minutes away. Also, it was five minutes away from a Catholic Church and about 15 minutes away from Sea World. Inside, the hotel room had everything we needed, from the microwave to the mini fridge. The flat screen TV was adequate but I guess I'm spoiled by our bigger TV at home. I didn't bring my laptop but the room was equipped with free wi-fi connection. The bathroom was a nice size and clean. Overall, the room was comfortable. The fitness room was smaller than what I've seen in other hotels but I was able to get a quick workout on the smooth elliptical machine. You would have to get up early to get on one of the machines. We didn't use the heated pool or jacuzzi but they were available. Nice extras were cookies at the checkout desk and coffee in the mornings. I know this was a Hilton but I wish breakfast was included although $10.95 was a reasonable price. This was a very nice hotel that I would definitely go to again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azpinoyinmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thanks so much for helping us spread the word about our hotel, amenities, and neighborhood. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and could take advantage of the unique attractions nearby. We encourage you to become a Hilton Honors member so that you can have the options to get breakfast or bonus points at each of your stays.

Thank you very much once again, we look foward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn had a nice, easy check in and out. There are many ammenities on the hotel property includign a full spa, where i received a great haircut, a peet's coffee and an excellent bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your haircut. We are very proud of our Serenity Spa and Salon, NY Garden Deli & Cafe, Bistro 39 and the services that we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Nice hotel and bar/ resutrant. Staff is friedly and very helpful. Breakfast is expensive but there is a variety of fresh fruit. It would be nice if the bar stocked some local beers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Offices Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to San Diego. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are interested in staying here let us know ahead of time and we can look into stocking some local San Diego beers. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Don't be deceived by the street name, Ocean Bluff, the only views here are of highway 5. But the hotel is clean and quiet and convenient for UCSD and Scripps Clinic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager003, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing