We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Secret in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Secret in San Diego”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Off the beaten path, this hotel is in a perfect location between La Jolla and Del Mar. Great front desk service.

Nice touch with the water, fruit, muffins and cookies laid out for all guest.

Gym is small but nice... elliptical, treadmill, free weights and bench. Everything you need just to "get a quick workout done."

Room was clean (and smelled great).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    251
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
293
220
65
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I consider myself a picky traveler and I spent quite a deal of time on TripAdvisor looking for the right hotel for my recent visit to the La Jolla area. Thanks to TripAdvisor's reviews, I found this wonderful hotel. It is very close to UC San Diego. I stayed at the hotel while my daughter was visiting the school. I did not put an early arrival request in my reservation, but I arrived very early (before 8:00 a.m.)...many hours before check-in, which I believe was about 3:00 p.m. I was prepared to have to kill time and come back, but luckily the hotel was able to accommodate my very early check-in and put me in a room right away and without charging me anything extra. The room itself was very nice, quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable and there were lots of pillows. There was a coffeemaker, small frig and microwave in the room. There is a grocery store only a few miles away, so I bought food and used the frig and microwave, which saved me money by not having to eat out at a restaurant for 4 meals.

I went down to the pool area, which is charming. It was clean and there were lots of new towels there. There's a small pool and jacuzzi and a few nice lounge chairs and a table and chairs. It's a nice place to sit and read. No one else was there when I went down, and I enjoyed the peace and quiet.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the La Jolla area, who wants a nice clean safe place to stay, without having to shell out the big bucks for a room. Many other hotels in the La Jolla area are $200+ a night. My room with my AAA discount was about $135 a night...with tax and all, it came to about $148.

The staff was kind, helpful and friendly. Parking is free. Overall, this is a great hotel and is well worth the money. I give it 5 stars and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Save money eating out by keeping food in the frig in the room and using the microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscreetTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Discreet Traveler, first allow me to thank you for taking the time to give us a five star rating, it truly is appreciated. I'm extremely glad that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you were able to enjoy our amenities, pool, and staff. We look forward to seeing you next time, and should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions please feel free to contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Glad we decided to stay here! Nice hotel, the beds are ok (not a big fan of this hotel chains beds so nothing not expected), good location, the restaurant/food was great and the staff is amazing! The people who worked there went above and beyond and were always super friendly and super helpful! I love great service and they definitely provided it. The spa is nice, too bad we weren't able to get in, all the appointments had been booked up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Sorrels13, I'm so glad and appreciative that you took the time to review your stay with us, and to provide us with a five star review. I'm happy you had a chance to dine with us and enjoyed the staff as well. I hope that next time you're able to enjoy our spa services. Should you need any assistance booking spa packages in the future or have any other comments or suggestions, please don't hesitate to contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great hotel, very friendly and very helpful. Great location to cruise around with everything within an easy drive. surrounding street traffic was not nearly as bad as expected. Easy to get anywhere you need to go. This place is excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visiting wanted a quiet place to stay tried and it was perfect. Great location tucked away in quiet residental area, yet close enough to everything you need. Cozy with friendly staff. Try it if you need getaway. Great value for area. Easy access to freeways. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Delbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how full service this hotel was from the staff to the amenities. It has a lovely, comfortable lobby complete with a lounging area and a fireplace. There are high ceiling with plenty of natural light. The hotel provided fruit infused water and cookies. It has a restaurant and bar area as well. The room and bathroom were a nice size. The shower had excellent water pressure. I was very happy with my hotel selection and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennlarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room was much quieter than I expected, perfect for napping children! The room was fairly spacious. The only complaint was that service was slow. We left the room at 9:00 am and returned at 1:30 pm and the room had still not been made up yet, even though housekeeping was right outside of our door when we left and saw us leave. The room was a little far away from Sea World (our primary reason for visiting) and most other things, but we were going for inexpensive over convenience. We drove, so being out of the way was somewhat annoying but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing