We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liesure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liesure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Will not stay again. My son was sick and it was raining. I booked the room for 3 nights and left after 2 nights and got charged a $50.00 cancelation fee. If someone is sick and you have to check out early, it is not fair to be charged a $50 cancelation fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you James G for letting us know about your stay. Our deepest apologies that your son got sick during your trip. My apologies that you were unsatisfied with our early departure fee. I would love a chance to speak with you about your trip. Please feel free to call me at 858-720-9500 at your convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    249
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
292
216
63
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had an International Sales conference at this venue. Everyone who attend were happy with the accommodation, the meeting room and the helpful staff. Nothing was too much for any of the employees and made our stay very pleasant and ultimately successful, leaving a very positive impression. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a visit to UCSD, and it's conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood and a short drive to UCSD, to the mall, and restaurants. The room is spacious and clean, and the furnishing is quite new. There is plenty of parking. Their front desk staff is friendly, especially an Asian gentlemen who is very kind and patience, and accommodate us with a room to our liking. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was my first time visiting the San Diego area. This Hotel was a good choice as it close to the freeway and seemed to be in quite a nice neighborhood. The location provides a less expensive stay while going to see La Jolla cove. It does not take too long to drive to the mid-city area of San Diego from this location either. I would repeat this Hotel if I were to revisit as staying in downtown San Diego can get quite costly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BCvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much BCvacationer for the splendid review. We are always so happy to have guests visit us from out of the country and even more happy when they enjoy themselves. Downtown San Diego is beautiful and full of activities and because of that it can get a little expensive. Our proximity to La Jolla, Del Mar and San Diego make us perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We hope to see you again next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is lovely with nice rooms. The lobby is very nice with refreshments set out at all times. The front desk agents are very friendly. Our bar experience was excellent with great food, drinks, and service. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Excellent location, close to the interstate. About 3 miles to the beach. Other beach cities are easy to access from here. The room was spotless. Mini fridge. Front desk and housekeeping extremely pleasant. Just a great vibe with this property and of course free parking and internet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wmlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel was a great value for us. Our room was very clean and we had great service all the way around, from housekeeping and dining, to front desk check in. I would stay here again. Maybe caters more toward executive crowd as the pool is quite small. The hotel is a nice area. I would stay again, you are a little further out from the main San Diego attractions but that was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you Mike K for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your vacation was a successful one. Our apologies if the pool was not to the size you were looking for. Next time you are with us we would love to show you the pool at our sister property the Homewood Suites. It is larger and great for families, plus it is open to our Hilton Garden Inn guests. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing