We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Spot in Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
East Setauket NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Garden Spot in Del Mar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar is perfectly located - convenient to both San Diego and Los Angeles. It provides easy access to shopping and to great restaurants along the coast - Del Mar, Encinitas, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Carlsbad. It is also a reasonably short trip up to Temecula's fine wineries. The hotel is spacious and welcoming, with very comfortable rooms and uniformly friendly service from every member of the staff. The breakfast is a major plus. It is excellent and a real bargain. You will not find a better place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ebdb627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    249
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
292
216
63
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

If your looking for a clean, quiet, and professional place to enjoy a nightly stay, this is your place! Wonderful staff welcomes you with a SMILE and kills you with kindness. The breakfast selection is to die for! (Fresh Fruit and Eggs made to order!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hotel and the staff were great. Check in was easy and we were greeted by Kevin,the Manager of the Hotel. This made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great. The Saturday morning we were there, breakfast did not start to 7.30 am, but as my wife and myself were participating in a charity walk that morning, the cafe manager offered to cook us a meal at 6.30 am. It was not necessary, however the fact that he offered was exceptional service. I highly recommend this Hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Blokey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Blokey3,

Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and got to meet our wonderful GM Kevin! I'm also glad to hear that our kitchen staff was so eager to make sure you have breakfast. Charity walks do require quite a bit of energy and breakfast is always the best way to get the energy you need.

We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is my 10th time staying at this Hilton Garden Inn and for us traveling as a family with 2 small children, it can't get any better. You have free parking and quick access to your car from your room, which is always nice. The rooms have a fridge and a microwave which is also very convenient, plus the restaurant and bar on-site have really good meals at a decent price. The buffet breakfast in the morning for $10 a person is a bargain compared to other restaurants, and it is just downstairs, no major walking outdoors, nor need to jump on a car. Rooms are clean, a little outdated, but they have a 42" LCD, 2 phones, and a nice working desk. Some have a nice balcony but overall they are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank spideymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, I'm a fan of these three star style hotels, to me they offer great value for money versus the features. This was no different at the Hilton Garden Inn Del Mar.

The property was handily located for us as it wasn't in San Diego but got us close enough after our long and uneventful drive down from Vegas.

The interior is immaculately clean and the welcome warm, we had two separate bookings covering three nights, they were merged and we were in the same room for the duration of our stay within minutes (something Vegas strip hotels could learn a lot from in terms of efficiency).

The rooms were clean and well appointed, although the widely fabled adjustable bed didn't seem to be much different despite following the instructions to the letter.

The tv we had was on its way out with a green and red vertical line on the screen, but it was bearable given how
little we watched it.

Overall condition of the room and property were good, would highly recommend this as a base for a stay in the San Diego area, we were very sorry to leave such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

On the last night of a business + pleasure trip, I needed a place to crash and clean up after a long strenuous hike near San Jacinto Peak, so I asked Google. This hotel was wonderful, as was the staff. It's also very easy to get to. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much Neil S. for your wonderful review. San Jacinto is a rather difficult (albeit very enjoyable) hike and we are beyond pleased we were able to accommodate you and give you a place to relax and recharge. We are very proud of our hotel and our team and we are happy you had a chance to enjoy both. We can not wait to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a quick business trip. I was running late for an early morning meeting, but didn't want to skip breakfast. The staff member I approached didn't even blink and had exactly what I wanted for breakfast wrapped up and had me out the door in less than five minutes. It was really lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing