We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent business hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

check in clerk gave me an awesome service and also made a call back to the room to check everything was good in the room. I would probalbly pay $125 a night for the room and not the typical $140-$158 range they have

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ggovatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    255
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
304
229
68
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is located at the quiet, and peaceful neighborhood, yet it is still close to the downtown San Diego (a short drive). Everything inside the hotel is well kept, clean and organized.
Staffs are welcoming and helpful. And room rates are very reasonable, nowhere near the expensive downtown area hotels. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be back every time I come to visit San Diego area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kocho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, close to UCSD, beaches and downtown. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable beds with nice bedding. All rooms offer Keurig coffee makers with a variety of flavors. (This was awesome)! The staff is friendly. This Hilton has a restaurant and bar. The quality of the food was wonderful. The hotel has a nice ambience and feel. I would recommend this location!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Desk Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a great and detailed review of our property! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a delicious meal at Bistro 39 during your stay, and that you were happy with the Keurig coffee machines in your room. We look forward to have you back as our guest on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Was only here for one night for a wedding nearby. The hotel was nice and tucked away in a fairly quiet area just off the freeway. When I entered the lobby in the evening, there were several people at the hotel's in-house restaurant (seemed pretty busy and quite popular place to catch a bite). unfortunately i did not try out the restaurant.

the room was nice, clean and had all the amenities (include kuerig coffee - that was xtra nice). the mattress did seem quite worn though and might need flipping or replacing soon, the middle was entirely compressed down (it felt like i was sleeping in a bowl. if i turned to one side, i would automatically roll back to the middle). also, since i booked thru expedia, the front desk would NOT allow me to use my hilton honors points to purchase breakfast or any other hilton services with my hilton honors points.

so, in summary, nice property located in a good area. in-house restaurant seemed like a pretty popular and the room on ok, but the bed and strict rules on usage of hilton points kind of irked me. I might probably try again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CB90502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Desk Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I do apologize for any discomfort you experienced as it is our intention to make every guest comfortable. We do have Garden Sleep System beds in all rooms which allow you to adjust the firmness of the bed to your optimal comfort.
We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton and thank you for being a member of HHonors. Unfortunately we are not capable to offer breakfast or other services to be purchased with points, regardless of what method was used to make the reservation, I apologize for any misunderstanding and hope you had the chance to enjoy breakfast at Bistro 39.
Thanks again for sharing your experience. I look forward to have you as our guest on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Of course this is a chain hotel and I wouldn't want to spend here an extended holiday, but for the one night we were staying it was perfect. Very friendly and quick staff, incredible prices compared to other places in the area, easy access to the freeway for downtown San Diego or to head up north, excellent proximity to the upscale seaside of Del Mar, La Jolla or to the beautiful Torrey Pines State Reserve with its fantastic beach. If we were to return to the area for the same purpose we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chilango2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Desk Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time you spent with us, and look forward to have you as our guest during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our company holds meetings for some combination of our executive team, board of directors, and management about 6 times per year -- every couple of months. We have these meetings all over the country, and of the more than one dozen that I have arranged, this was by far the best from all considerable angles. The planning process was handled very effectively, efficiently and courteously from start to finish. The accommodations and associated pricing was better than I've found in many other, much less desirable, areas -- and by a wide margin. The staff was very flexible and brought a high level of personalized customer service to all the proceedings. Great service and provision from a Hilton Branded Facility is certainly no surprise, but this group went above and beyond, and at prices that would be fantastic for any place at any time of year, let alone the beautiful area of Del Mar the last week of summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9DP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okawville Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a large group staying here for a wedding reception that was held at another location. We found the hotel to be clean, and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. One of the best things for groups is they have a shuttle van that will take you anywhere within 5 miles. We were able to get to the beach near downtown Del Mar and several of the restaurants in this range. The front desk even lent us beach towels to take to the beach. The concierge was able to give us a print out of tourist ideas and driving directions. In the evening our group enjoyed gathering at the inside bar and also around the outside fire pit and relaxed outdoor sitting area. The kids enjoyed the pool. It was a great choice for our large group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoIlliniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,330 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#21 of 278 in San Diego
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing