We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Very Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I travel every week for work and this place has been home away from home. Staffs here are very nice and always welcoming. They always take care of my request very promptly and have made me very comfortable. The facility overall is good. the bistro restaurant is one of my places for hanging out. Very close to Delmar, La Jolla and torrey pines. I would recommend this place for travelers visiting San Diego

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Navyanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Desk Supervisor at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review! We truly appreciate you as our guest and are very happy to hear that you feel at home when you are staying with us. Thank you for being one of our most loyal guests, we are looking forward to seeing you soon on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    214
    34
    18
    4
See reviews for
257
184
50
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. Semi-secluded, quiet and convenient to local main road and interstate. Plenty of parking near front entrance. Very clean and comfortable. Exceptional staff at front desk and in restaurant. Breakfast was quite good. Attached spa with discounts and specials for hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family of 5 spent 11 wonderful days here with my father and his wife visiting from the UK. The staff could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. Front desk staff were efficient and helpful, restaurant staff bent over backwards to accommodate our food orders. Would stay here again in a heartbeat if in San Diego. I've stayed at Hilton Hotels all over the world, but this one takes some beating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Clean room and nice facility. Terrible WIFI coverage. Called the desk and they could care less. Ended up using my aircard. Hard to believe in this day and age that they don't care about business travelers need for reliable internet connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Skeptic966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconsistent Wi-Fi experience. I can assure you that our team truly does care and I apologize for the impression you received. I would be happy to hear any additional details to ensure we avoid this in the future. In addition, the property is currently undergoing an upgrade inspection to expand our Wi-Fi connection and bandwidth as I know how imperative this is for our business guests.

Kevin Escoto
858-720-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When in San Diego I usually stay at other Hilton/Doubletee hotels, but landed at this this one because everything else was booked. Not bad at all. We were there to see family and go to the races at Del Mar, and it was convenient to everything around there. No real restaurant or room service, but I guess that's what you get from a "garden" hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms. It was Labor Day weekend so they jacked-up the prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GoldenBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn Del Mar gets the details right. I got a warm, friendly greeting at reception. When I asked where the fitness center is, he didn't point; he walked me over there personally. Room service was speedy, warm and very reasonably priced. At breakfast in the morning, the buffet was great but instead of ignoring me, the service was super attentive and again friendly. These guys really seem to care about running a top flight operation and making guests happy. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir-Loin-of-Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stay at many Hilton Garden Inns around the country and this hotel is consistent with the quality I have come to expect. The staff is helpful and courteous, and the property was very nice. I was also very convenient to get to the Fairgrounds/Racetrack. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Del Mar area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MJBraukhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing