We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, one night stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed just one night with our two children. We found the hotel to be clean and well-appointed. It's a bit out of the way if you want to hit Ocean/Mission/Pacific beaches but it was a quick drive to Solana. The area is beautiful and being that it isn't too far from the freeway you really aren't too far out of the mix. If you are spending time around the University, etc., it's perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel during our two week vacation and really enjoyed the experience. All the hotel staff went the extra yard to exceed our expectations - we were really impressed. The hotel is extreemly clean and our rooms were very comfortable. It really isn't that far from from San Diego - but far enough to escape the noise and traffic congestion. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul_MH321LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I choose this hotel because it was convenient to the race track. Even with the horrible San Diego traffic it is still a short drive. The hotel is clean, modern, has all the emenities including restaurant, bar and spa. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this property. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and professional, the rooms were above average. If you are staying in northern San Diego, this is a great place.
The breakfast was great. Some of the best eggs benedict ever! We were warmly welcomed by staff at the front desk. In all of our encounters with employees of this hotel, a smile was on their face and they were sensitive to our requests

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this property. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and professional, the rooms were above average, but the property was too far away from the things I enjoy about San Diego. If you are staying in northern San Diego, this is a great place. The breakfast was pretty decent, and the property is pretty pristine. If we could just move it a little closer to San Diego proper...
One more thing: the staff at the hotel, reception, wait staff, were polite and nice. Thank you for being wonderful hosts for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience as our guest. I am very pleased that you felt welcomed by our "polite" and "professonal" team from our front desk to our Bistro servers. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you during your next trip to beautiful San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego. We were warmly welcomed by staff at the front desk. In all of our encounters with employees of this hotel, a smile was on their face and they were sensitive to our requests. Bill Songer, food and beverage manager, not only greeted us one evening, he remembered us and greeted us with a smile the next morning. Food was good in their restaurant, beds were comfortable, the room was very clean and I really liked the Keurig coffee maker in the room. The hotel is centrally located and in easy driving distance from Del Mar, Sea World and other attractions. It is close enough to the freeway for easy access, but far enough away that there is no freeway noise.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the 4th floor facing the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinlakesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I travel a lot for my job and see a lot of hotels. This one stands out as one of the best in terms of overall customer service, cleanliness and overall quality. The service at this hotel is better than most of the high-priced ones I've stayed at in larger cities. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jwpfeifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $115 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing