We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I called the hotel and talked to the manager. I asked for the best rate possible. The rate quoted was different upon arrival. The explanation provided was the rate quoted was for an inferior room. Unacceptable,,,to me. I talked to the manager. He quoted me a rate on a room I had booked. When I got to the hotel I had a cheaper rate, but on a cheaper room. PLUS,, no parking!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelwMeissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Mr Meissner,

I am very familiar with your reservation and rate inquiries. You spoke directly to our revenue manager who offered you a discounted rate at your request which was honored at the time of your arrival. I personally checked you into your hotel room and upgraded you to a balcony room at no charge per your request. In addition, we awarded you extra Hilton Honors points at check out to ensure your satisfaction. My team and I strive to provide the best guest experience each day and I would hope to have honest reviews of our efforts, however it seems as if you have misrepresented the facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,036 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am a frequent stayer at this hotel. It's a great hotel in a nice area. The staff is very warm and friendly. Both the rooms and common areas are nice. There is a very good, reasonably priced restaurant on site which also has a very good happy hour Monday - Friday with great food and drink specials. There is also a great spa onsite that frequently runs specials and a deli as well. My experiences here are also ways good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Entire staff was friendly; just 7 minutes to Del Mar, where we were visiting family (could not find a room in Del Mar this weekend and were very pleased with this hotel and price). So appreciate the cleanliness and comfort. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat54SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Possibly the nicest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. The hotel room was very clean and nicely appointed. The location is conveniently located if you visit La Jolla or Coronado.

Hotel parking is free. Th Bistro 39 restaurant was vey good. There is also a very good deli attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We spend two nights at this cosey and nice hotel in March. It's perfet if you have to visit people in the Torrey hills area, but don't want to stay at their house. It's very clean with nice staff, great breakfast with reasonable hours and friendly servers, free parking, complementry internet, and rooms that are very spacious. I didn't get a chance to see if they had a pool or not, but the gym was nice and there was a spa right next door. Overall, holds up very well to what it's advertised at. Much cleaner and nicer than many "5 star" hotels including some Hilton hotels :). Would defensively recommend this place. The location is not the best if you don't have a car, but it's only 2 exits from Qualcomm campus and 10 minutes to la jolla.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelenthusiast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is great. It's a convenient location if, like me, you are visiting the nearby office park. It's in an upscale area that feels very safe at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We sayed at the Hilton Garden Inn back in August, 2012. If only this hotel could be on the beach!....because it is so close to being perfect for our family. The staff were so very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast as well as the manager's reception in the afternoon. With a family of five - the extra space in the room was much needed. We even did laundry in the laundry room.

Location is good - not too far outside of San Diego and a close drive to the beach. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyofFive08873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $107 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing